Contest: Your favorite season/ Harmattan is my favorite! See why 🌼🌼

in RECREATIVE STEEM2 years ago

20220622_021607.jpg

20220516_232701.jpg

Our dear friend @graceleon have organised a beautiful contest for us to participate. This time she invites us to talk about our favorite season which know everyone has.
In the contest sh has highlighted the following points for us to write on:

Tell us what is your favorite season of the year; why do you like this season; what do you usually do in this period that makes it more special and interesting for you.
If you like to write prose, poems... I invite you to dedicate some artistic lines to your favorite season of the year.

So please continue your reading as i about to share with you what is my favorite season and why love it. You will also get to see the little poem I dedicated to my favorite weather just by continuing your reading.

🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼

The climate of my country Nigeria is characterized into two seasons – which are the Wet and Dry. The wet season is normally from April to October while the dry season is from November to March.

Interestingly the favorite season for me is what many here do not like, the HARMATTAN. Many dread this period because of the dryness it brings to the skin and the cold. But I tell you that this season is my favorite and you will soon find out why.

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErY8DjSrdjXxPT1ZT7zLSSCpKp2PLxx3jk1fqPmHVAUMEjDSysiuSTo12ZkCV53HVwLN3xDmJufXzQgA1zA5XDRtXRMF2YHX934J.jpg

The harmattan season in Nigeria

The harmattan is a period in the dry season when the weather becomes cold and airy. This is a period of the year where we expect dryness and cold. It is between the months of November to early mid February, it is mostly intense in the mid December to mid January.
During the time of the harmattan, what happens is that the winds blow from the Sahara desert over the west African subregion away to the Atlantic ocean. This action cause low temperatures, there is also dryness and dust.
During this time, the fogs always cover the trees and the plants especially in the morning.

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErPTuUsq8wBgHw6GRAr3n2tKKU9riuqujerWEnj3531Aw7ci5A6BsProcXKTzDoJcVy6cszYMjxK2vBxpdtDkAHZewgSKYmdkwok.jpg

It is mostly cold in the mornings and evenings and dusty in the afternoon.
The harmattan only takes place in west African countries which includes Nigeria.

why do you like this season; what do you usually do in this period that makes it more special and interesting for you

Why I love the harmattan season

I love the harmattan season because if the feeling I get during that time and also the activities it allows me to do.

  • The cold

The season provides calmness in the mornings and cool sleep in the night.
Waking up in the cold every morning and having a very hot meal is part of what makes the weather appealing to me.

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErM1ho1NGSQFd15fLuurajFqh45yLFdya9EzuvX3tCKytMNchweYB7A3cgvV1nTJC9JuFoLTRcf9GXwaPM1QQN2cZyyncaTg521t.jpg

The most special among the meals is the yam pepper soup which I enjoy so much during the harmattan cold in the morning.
That meal prepares us for the rest of the day

  • The late nights

During the harmattan period, the nights are usually longer than the day, so most times we stay up late laying late night games with relatives and friends. Sometimes we light the fire to feel warmth from the cold.

  • The adventures

Since it is the vacation period, the harmattan season allows us to travel to the village and meet our relatives and spend the cold days with them. There we live more natural, we make meals with the firewood that we gather by ourselves.

  • The African cherry

Also there is a very special fruit that only sprouts during the harmattan. When we start seing the fruit, African cherry,it is evidence of early harmattan.

I love the harmattan season because I get to enjoy this fruit, it is usually milky am gummy in inside

  • The foggy weather

I also like the sight of the foggy weather during this season. It's very refreshing for me and I also love walking into the fog and enjoying the appearance.

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErGcHnaZZ2N14EAepJKwjSvVZNwq9WJnzTRSgm4K6pbgFTPG6iZcKPNpMcAm9xGtUi33DcL4BLee9KK6CJVayTAjrRrETJtGAZGA.jpg

The fogs keep fading as the day brightens more, so I always take the opportunity in the morning to enjoy it.

If you like to write prose, poems... I invite you to dedicate some artistic lines to your favorite season of the year.


🌼🌼

My sweet Harmattan

How I eagerly await you
How I long to sink inside the fog that refreshes everyday
You wake me up every morning with the sound of your gossiping wind
You wake me up with cold and chills
you cover my way with fogs

Oh sweet harmattan

Do not delay to come
You make the street cry of dusts in the afternoon and you proceed to refresh in the night with your lovely cold
You're good every morning and night
Nothing can compare to you

Dear sweet harmattan

You bring extended families together
During the mornings and during the nights you make them sit together
We enjoy your company each time you wake us up to meet you
You will forever be close to the heart of this young Nigerian
Do come with your cool and refreshing wind
Oh Harmattan!

🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼🌼

Thank you @graceleon for this contest, I enjoyed participating in it. It was nice sharing my favorite weather with you and doing some creative writing about it.

Being that I love the contest so much, I'll like to willingly invite my friends to also participate:

Here below you can find the link to the contest:

Contest: Your favorite season/☃️🌈☀️🌦️❄️🌎🍁🌲🌳🌞/ Concurso: Tu estación preferida

I hope to see your entries soon 🤗

20220516_232701.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...

Hola amiga @madilyn02. Me encantó tu publicación. Aprendí mucho sobre tu país ya que no sabía que a esta estación le llamaban así. Además desconocía de esta fruta que abunda en esta estación. Te felicito. Muy bella tu poesía. Saludos

 2 years ago 

Thank you beautiful friend, glad you discovered something from my post.
The harmattan is a very pleasant season, though many do not like it because of the dust and cold.

 2 years ago (edited)

Holaaa amiga @madelyn02 grandiosa participación, me encanta mucho más saber que te guste el clima frío como a mi, me encantó tu prosa muchas suerte en el concurso.

 2 years ago 

Thank you my friend, I'm glad we have the same like 😊. Greetings!

I enjoyed reading your post, keep it up and thanks for sharing your favorite season with us

 2 years ago 

Thank you too for your support. I'm glad you enjoyed my post

Waw! You have given enough reasons why hamattan has been your favourite season, what a nice entry friend and i wish you all the best.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your good wishes. I wish you the same

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39