SHC Daily Contest: My Favourite Fruit - Watermelon

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago (edited)

images (7).jpeg
Source

Hello awesome steemians. I'm glad to be participating in this contest.
I'll be sharing with us today my favourite fruit and its health and nutritional benefits.
My favourite fruit is watermelon (also known as citrullus lanatus). The fruit has a stripped outer surface while the inner part is red with little black seeds. It is made up of 92% water. It contains magnesium, carbohydrate, vatamin A and C, dietary fibers. Watermelon has several health benefits, including lower blood pressure, improved insulin sensitivity, and reduced muscle soreness.
There are several ways to enjoy this fruit. It can be eaten fresh, chilled or frozen or it could even be made into smothies.
I usually like mine cold. That way, I consume alot of it at a time.
Watermelon despite its sweet nature is low in calories and fiber and consists mostly of water and simple sugars.

One cup (154 grams) of watermelon has many other nutrients as well, including these vitamins and minerals:

Vitamin C: 21% of the Reference Daily Intake (RDI)
Vitamin A: 18% of the RDI
Potassium: 5% of the RDI
Magnesium: 4% of the RDI
Vitamins B1, B5 and B6: 3% of the RDI
Source
Health Benefits of Watermelon

  1. It helps keep the body hydrated: Drinking water is an important way to keep your body hydrated. But most times, people find it hard to just gulp down water but eating foods that have a high water content can also help. Interestingly, watermelon is 92% water. What’s more, a high water content is one of the reasons why fruits and vegetables help you feel full. The combination of water and fiber means you’re eating a good volume of food without a lot of calories.

  2. Watermelon contains various vitamins and nutrients that are very essential to the body like Vitamin C which is an anti-oxidant. Research has also shown that watermelon contains anti-cancer properties and is also good for the heart.

  3. Watermelon also contains Vitamins A and C which are important for skin and hair health.

  4. Watermelon can Improve Digestion: Watermelon contains lots of water and a small amount of fiber — both of which are important for healthy digestion. Fiber can provide bulk for your stool, while water helps keep your digestive tract moving efficiently. Eating water-rich and fiber-rich fruits and vegetables, including watermelon, can be very helpful for promoting normal bowel movements. Last year when I suffered haemarrhoid, the doctor recommended I consume alot of vegetables andfruits rich in fibre and water especially watermelon. I guess that contributes to my love for it since then.

These and more contribute to my love for watermelon which makes it my favourite fruit and the best part is that it doesn't have an overdose. You can consume any quantity anywhere and anytime.

Thanks for reading my post.

I invite @beewrites @gabikay and @ eliany to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

Water melon has always been my best fruit

I hope it still is?

My favourite fruit also.

My favorite also,
You made a nice point there.

Thanks for reading through.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for participating in the daily contest # 6 :)

I'm glad to and thanks for recognising my entry.

Well done @gracieux. I do enjoy watermelons too amongst other fruits. I like their colors and the fact that it melts in the mouth.

My name is Ola. I want to invite you to a contest https://steemit.com/hive-170327/@supo1/steem-inspiration-contest-or-or-the-unforgettable-day
You can also join the telegram channel https://t.me/steeminspiration

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51