You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SEC-S14/W4 - Sustainable Animal Productivity and Environmental Footprint Towards Global Food Security.

in Steem of Animals9 months ago

Agriculture is a wonder but malpractices tend to cause hazards in our farmlands and also reduce output of products. It is true crops and animals products are witnessing serious hike in prices. In my country people attribute the rise in prices to the war in Ukraine since importation prices of fertilizer has increased. So many other things have caused the rise in prices.

I asked her whether she remembered the time that vegetable lorries would unload heaps of cucumbers and pumpkins in front of my grandparent's house in my village back when I was little

This is true bro, vegetables have now become as expensive as luxurious goods. I can remember when I could buy vegetables for 400 FRS in a bag and my family will eat for two days but now at 2000 FRS I can't even get half of the same bag and we can't eat for a day. Things are just so crazy now.

We really need to revamp the agricultural sector especially by promoting our local farmers as we can't make these new changes without them. Those strategies you've proposed are really good and worth adopting.

Thanks for sharing with us and good luck in the contest

Sort:  
 9 months ago 

Looks like we're in the same boat! I'm thinking we should explore the concept of homegrown vegetables more, relying less on the market. If we can manage to produce even a meal or two from our garden, it could change the game for the big farmers. Right now they are controlling the market price. When they see the opportunity and the demand they make sudden price changes hiding their real stocks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64