SEC - S18W5 : "One year with the Steem of Animals community-Towards a Better Life"

in Steem of Animals14 days ago (edited)

1000195691.jpg

It feels good to be here guys! What up with y'all. Trust your having a great time making your entry in this engagement contest. Out of the topics for this week this particular one is one that captured my attention and I couldn't but look in this direction for the week. I really do hope you find this entry of mine interesting even as I take you on this ride.

Introduction

Animals are lovely creatures especially the ones that we refer to as pet. There are some other that we keep around us because of their domestic nature. Personally I love animal and I deal with them. For sometime now I've been under studying these lovely creatures i.e fowl (hen and cocks) goats etc.

My focus would be on my goats today. Trust me I've fallen in love with these creatures and I believe it mutual, they also have this soft spot for me...wait a minute, is the term shepherd also used for goats? Lol...well if yes, then I would say I am that good shepherd for these goats.

1000042660.jpg
Image from gallery:Goats having a good time

Although the truth is that, these creatures are stubborn but at the same time they can be loving when you have spent so much time familiarizing yourself with them. This is exactly my experience here. They hear me when I call and tease them when they break out of their pen...lols.

Of course they love to do that a lot, goat hates to be confined, once you have them enclosed, they always want to find a way out by all means, no matter how much you satisfy them and that's because it just in their nature. So we have different breed of these goat but they are all the dwarf kind of but amongst them all are the hairy goat which I love so much.
The reason is not far fetched, they are hairy and cute and of course they seem to be more stubborn than other lols.

1000053036.jpg
Image from gallery: One of our cute hairy goats

Now to the sad part of my story...well I just need to tell this part of the story. Still feels fresh in my head how we had one of my favorite slaughtered in the farm. Sighs!. Well money was needed and it needed to bail us out from the need.

I got a call on one fateful day to weigh some of the male goats in the farm which included this my favourite. I knew something was up, it was about to be sold but little did I know that we were to do the slaughtering for those who would be buying...

1000053037.jpg1000053038.jpg
Image from gallery:The weighing process**

Well the instruction has been given by the buyer on how he wants it... I would have loved that they be taken off site, far from our reach and view and then do to it whatever the want to but no...they wanted us to slaughter it before delivery.
How do we do this! I mean a goat I wake up to feed and familiarize myself with everyday...a goat I watch as it scales the pen and give me a hard time taming pinning down and so on....Hmmmm...we had to do it.

Trust me it took more than just a strong mind to do this...the goat thought it was like before when we had to hold it and then release it again as usual or tie it to a stake, this time it was held to be slaughtered. I watched it as life ebbed out of it...it was actually the end for it and since we couldn't deliver it the way it is, we had to also do the roasting to take off the fur and of course we had to light it up.

1000058768.jpg1000058767.jpg
1000058766.jpg
image from gallery: The roasting

We were on this for half an hour before we eventually finished this, well we also butchered it and packed, ready for delivery. It was all over but the thought of loosing this beautiful goat lingered.
It's such a tragic one here but then we moved regardless. We keep and raised them for meat but the bond we create between their tender age and maturity is something to really melt the heart at their exit.

My Two cents for Steem for Animal

You guys are doing a great job in this community, and I commend your effort. Well my little advice will be that we have a project that would allow professional Vet Doctors have an interactive and consultation sessions with steemians whose pet might need medical attention and care.I believe it would help strengthen the vision of the community.

Thanks you so much for your time...I really do hope I've not gotten you very emotional with this entry of mine...am sorry, it is what it. Just before I drop my pen, let me invite @josepha @waqarahmadshah @sur-riti to this contest. I hope they all find it interesting. Gracias!


Regards
@lhorgic❤️


Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Thank you @lhorgic for inviting me to this competition. If in the end we have to kill animals and eat their meat, then it is not right to try to be friendly with them. We should just be raised from a purely business point of view.

Actually the middle article made me emotional.
It also does not seem right to display pictures of animals being slaughtered on this platform. I think you should remove these pictures from here.

Thank you again.

 13 days ago 

Thanks for your thoughtful comment...well I think it quite difficult to raise these animal without some form of affection...but all the same i get your point and as touching your view about the blood, i have taken down the image. Thanks once again friend.

TEAM 7
Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator09.

Curated by : @mvchacin

 13 days ago 

Thanks for the support, it's much appreciated.

Loading...

Your story about your favorite goat is touching. It's clear you treat them with respect and care, even during tough decisions. Your suggestion for the community is also thoughtful and could benefit many pet owners

 12 days ago 

This is really sad, watching your favorite animal get killed is an unforgettable experience. In this case, people would say “don’t mix business with pleasure or emotion”. I know it is not in your control to either attach with the animals or not but it is really painful seeing this part. Thank you for sharing your touching story. Many success in the contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42