I was a Genesis guy, not SNES... how about you?

in Steem Gaming3 years ago

The late 80's and early 90's were a pretty exciting time in gaming. I say this because home consoles were getting a lot better and I think for me this was most evident when Sega started to actually become a player in the market and Atari was fading away and dying a slow death. Sure Sega has the Master System but in the United States you'd be hard pressed to find anyone that actually owned one - everyone had an NES though.

Sega was able to capture a much larger slice of the market share by doing just one thing correctly: They were the first team to enter the 16-bit arena. They were all alone in this world for more than 2 years actually and I can only pretend to understand why that might have been: Did they not have the technology? Did Nintendo believe that the NES could compete with the Genesis on its own? I don't know why but from August of 1989 to August of 1991 if you wanted a next gen system, you had to buy a Sega Genesis.


src

My family ended up getting one of these things back at Christmas in 1990 - a full year and a few months since the release date. I was young, didn't have a job, and my parents were not the type of people to dole out money for video-games or really anything else for that matter. So when the opportunity arose for "Santa" to bring me one, I jumped at the opportunity. I'm pretty sure I didn't get many other gifts that year.


maxresdefault.jpg
src

When the system was launched, a mere 8 games launched with it and of course Altered Beast was packed in with the system and even though that games looks completely silly by today's standards, it was pretty damn revolutionary as far as graphics were concerned and the game TALKED. This was the first home console that I recall where words appeared verbally in a game that actually sounded real.

The other games at launch were pretty great as well (for the time) and my favorite of the bunch was Thunder Force 2 which I think is a great game even to this day. I would love to find out that someone did a remake with modern graphics and sound.

There were less than 20 games available by the end of the release year and had it not been for my friend in the neighborhood whose parents bought him just about anything he wanted, I probably would never have played them. Hell, it probably took me a while to even know the Genesis existed since there was no internet at the time (well, none that was used in any sort of widespread way.)

By the time Nintendo joined the 16-bit console war in 1991 Sega already had a massive head start of them. I once again found myself in a gaming pickle because even though I did have a job at this point in my life, I was already a bit "bunkered down" as far as the Genesis was concerned so I didn't want to dish out the $200 or so in order to get one.

Once again though, I found myself with a rich neighbor who got everything and the SNES was one of those things. I wouldn't end up having one myself until at least 1995 and at that point were were just a few years away from Playstation.

I will admit that the games that appear on both Genesis and SNES - most of them are better on the SNES and there are some very good hardware reasons why that was the case. I think that when something comes out 2 years later it is pretty understandable that it is going to be technologically better and the SNES was that. There are very few games that are on both systems that are actually better on the Genesis and the few times this happened it was because of gameplay mechanics, never because of graphics. The SNES was simply a superior machine as far as processing power was concerned so the Genesis never stood a chance.

A few standout titles that really did it for me on the Genesis are as follows

  • Phantasy Star 2
  • Phantasy Star 3
  • Gaiares
  • Herzog Zwei
  • Sword of Vermillion


genesis_phantasystariii.jpg
src
All things considered, I still think this is one of the best RPG's ever made

It was mostly timing and lack of money that made me a Genesis guy, there is no denying that the SNES was a superior machine. Strangely enough, it was the Genesis that brought Sega to the forefront of home gaming and for a little while there it appeared as though they were actually going to take over. However, it was that same arrogance that would be their downfall. They prolonged the life of the Genesis for too long and by the time the next gen systems were being released Sega just started to fall apart as a company. You may recall that Atari had done exactly the same thing years before. Bad management is to blame I suppose.

So if you were old enough to be around during this time, which team were you on? I was team Genesis!

Sort:  

I always wanted a Sega MegaDrive so when I got a Master System, I must admit to being a little disappointed. I've still got it and it still works - Alex the Kidd, Lemmings, the original Sonic the Hedgehog, some football game from Euro '92. Mortal Kombat, Bubble Bobble to name a few. I can still remember some of the death moves on Mortal Kombat!

My brother got a SNES to compliment my Master System so I'm firmly on team SNES. Sadly, this one's long gone now but I still fondly remember Super Mario World.

Super Mario World was a pretty exceptional game, that's for sure. I don't think that Genesis had anything to compare with that. Sonic was their guy and I guess that game was pretty great. I have gone back to play classic Sonic with the PS4 upgrade version of it and it just isn't fun. I think I wore it out back in the day :)

I have gone back to play classic Sonic with the PS4 upgrade version of it and it just isn't fun

Do you think that's because of the "upgrade" or had your memory tricked you into remembering it being better than it was? I wonder if revisiting games that I know I loved will ever be as good, much like a great ex-player returning to my club can only taint the great memories I have.

Having said that, Settlers II has never let me down!

I'm not gonna lie, I don't think I ever knew anyone who owned a genesis when I was a kid. Everyone either had a SNES, or just had parents that thought video games were the devil and that their children would start sucking dick for mountain dew and doritos if they let them play those pesky vidja games.

I ended up on team Genesis by default because I didn't make enough money to have both and I already had the Genesis. I remember going over to a friend's house to play SNES and felt as though it was a better system in many ways (most ways). I ended up getting one later in life to play Final Fantasy and Mana games though and those games are still great.

Video games are the Debil!

I wish I would have played some of the better SNES games like Final Fantasy. Instead, I spent my time playing Godzilla: Monster Wars (low key, that shit slapped though) and the Addams family game. I think at some point I also had Mortal Kombat II, but I legit think those are the only games I was ever given for that console 🤔

Jaja how I remember that game cover altered bests I use to play it a lot with my cousin. Well I had both of them a few years later after they came out I had the sega cd unit and was almost futuristic for me at that time jajaja. I love both but sega was great and is a sad thing it fall and never raise. Now u remember the console Jaguar? Jaja someone please 🤣 XD

The Jaguar isn't something people talk about very often but what an exceptionally flawed system that was. It was ill-conceived from the start and despite claiming that it was the most powerful system, and it actually was a pretty great system, the games always sucked on it because apparently the hardware was extremely difficult to program for. Atari also failed to get very many decent 3rd part developers on board and this meant that the big players in the industry weren't even making games of it. Combine this with the fact that the original launch was a disaster, with stores frequently running out of units and you have a totally botched system launch. I wanted one, but couldn't get one... then by the time they were available word had already spread that the system sucked and nobody wanted to buy it.

i was a snes guy for the my dad cause i really want a Genesis ( i love sonic ) but my little bro wants a snes for mario. xd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95