Update #72: Writing Expedition ✍️, Have Fun while Writing! Choose From Varieties Of Topics

in Steem Kids & Parents6 days ago

INTRODUCTION

Screenshot_20240807-082025_1.jpg

Hello my fellow steemians, I am here to write on my little farm which I have.

my farm is filled with three different plants which I do benefit from. the plants are all seasonal crops. there are cassava, maize, and water leaves which are beneficial to life.
I will be talking about all the plant and nutritional benefits.

I did this my farm because the way this economy is treating us Nigeria do that I can use and manage.

WATER LEAVES

Screenshot_20240807-082034_1.jpg

Water leaves (Talinum triangulare) are a tropical leafy green vegetable which grows in watery environments.

  • Growth:

Planting: Water leaf seeds are usually planted in well-draining soil with little shade.
Germination: Seeds comes out, and seedlings emerge, building their first set of leaves.
Growth stage: The plant grows to like 1-2 feet tall,
Maturation: Leaves are plucked when tender and young.

  • planted for:

Food:
- I do use it to prepare my soup, salad and stew at home to make my food look fresh.

Nutritional value:
-They are rich in vitamins A, C, and K
-They are good source of calcium, iron, and potassium

Corn

IMG_20240806_102730_401.jpg

Corn (Zea mays) is an annual crop which grows in well-drained soil and full sun.

  • Growth:

Planting: Corn seeds are grown in late spring or early summer, about 1 inch deep and also 6-8 inches apart.
Germination: Seeds grow out, and seedlings emerge, bringing out their first set of leaves.
Growth stage: The plant grows to like 6 feet tall, bringing:

  • Stems
  • Leaves
  • Ears (containing kernels)
  • Roots
  • planted for:

For my feeding:

  • I can buy a little pear from the market to use it and enjoy my corn when it is ripe.
  • I can grind it then soak it for some time so as to use and make pap and enjoy my self with the use of some beverages.

Animal feed:
- I can make use of the leave to feed my neighbor goat
- I can boil my corn and feed my cat af home.

Corn is an incredibly versatile crop, providing food, feed, and industrial products, making it a vital crop for many communities worldwide.

| Cassava

Screenshot_20240807-082055_2.jpg

Cassava (Manihot esculenta) is a tropical root crop which grows in a well-drained soil and a lot of sun.

  • Growth process:

  • Planting*: Cassava stem are being cured and are planted in the ground, mainly in the rainy season.
    Germination: The cuttings grow, and the cassava plant grows to like 2-3 feet tall.
    Root development: The cassava plant brings tubers, which their growth is done underground, normally 6-12 months after their planting.
    Maturation: The cassava tubers get mature, and the plant brings leaves and stems.

*planted for:

Food: I planted it for food provision which I can;
- Boiled, and eat it as a side dish when mature
- turned it into flour for baking purpose
- Used to cook my soups and stews

  • I can use it to make garri because now garri 6 cups is now 1000 naria

Cassava is an incredibly beneficial crop, which provides food, feed, and industrial products, making it a important crop for many communities in the world.

CONCLUSION

I will love to invite some of my friends to join me in planting.
@samuelnkenta
@toflex
@wisdom123

Sort:  

💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ This is a manual curation from the @tipu Curation Project.

@tipu curate

Loading...
 6 days ago (edited)

Hi @vikkybaby I totally agree with you that cassava are planted and also cultivated mainly in the dry season.

Better leave can also serve as food when consumed as soup and salad. It has great nutritional value. Keep up with the quality content and best of luck in the contest.

This is really good and amazing how cassava grows, I really enjoyed and love reading your post. Success

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61008.54
ETH 2713.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44