Weekly Drawing Contest 07 | Drawing your favorite musical instrument - Obodom

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year (edited)
Published on 13 September 2023

Lumii_20230913_090158169.jpg


Kpoom...kpoom…kpoom…kpoom…kpoom…
What you just heard was the sound of a percussion instrument or membranophone known as obodom (wooden drum). It is a popular native drum used mostly among the indigenous people of Akwa abasi Ibom state.

Obodom serves several purposes.

  1. It is used as a communicative tool. Each rhythm conveys different messages, announces events or signals emergencies.
  2. It is used for entertainment. It accompanies dance performances and other forms of celebrations.
  3. It is used for Ibibio cultural rituals and traditional ceremonies like weddings, funerals, birth, etc.
  4. Experts use it to narrate folk stories as well.
  5. Obodom is used for spiritual practices like communing with the ancestors, ushering a soul to the land of the dead or invoking the spirit of the Ekpe masquerade.

Obodom comes in various sizes, shapes and materials, but mostly skin and wood. I will go ahead to show you how I sketched this favourite musical instrument of mine — the obodom.

Supplies
  • Two pieces of A4 paper
  • 2B pencil
  • Eraser
  • Scissors
  • Paper Glue
Steps
1. I began by sketching the round top, also known as the skin or drumhead. Drummers apply force to this area either through the use of their bare hands or special sticks. Each stroke gives the "kpoom" sound.Lumii_20230912_194116074.jpg
2. Next, I drew the body of the first layer of the drum — the first shell (made from wood). It looks round as a bowl here.Lumii_20230912_194537580.jpg
3. Oops! That wasn't right. So I modified the shape to look more like a cone. I made it narrower towards the middle and added the bottom cone, strings to the top layer and beads. Viola! Our drum is almost ready.Lumii_20230912_201838999.jpg
4. I got another A4 paper and traced the shape of the second drum. This is the typical drum you can find in the Ibibioland.Lumii_20230913_074759368.jpg
5. To beautify the top, I added strings with beads. These beads make a rattling sound which adds melody to each beat.Lumii_20230913_081006476.jpg
6. Finally, I cut out the second drawing and glued it to the first paper, creating two drums. You can even beat it now. Haha!Lumii_20230913_081900290.jpg
Final look
Lumii_20230913_095956820.jpg
Our drums are now ready for the next festival!
Muse
Lumii_20230913_105123111.jpgLumii_20230913_104836844.jpg
LinkLink

I'm inviting @yhudy @ahbaz @chiomzy810 @emily08 @pandora2010 @megareigns and @jasminemary to join @m-fdo's contest.

Sort:  
 last year 
 last year 

Thank you for the invite. Your drawing looks mesmerising. It was creative of you to attach that drum. What is this kind of art called? Or is it a real-life drawing?🤣 By the way, let me get my hands busy. Your drawing has inspired me to come up with something. Watch my space.🙂

You are a good artist friend which i must say. Thanks for inviting me, and good luck to you.

 last year 

Thank you for the kind words, Jasminemary!

Loading...

Friend you are full with creativity . I like your drawing. Good luck to you and thanks for inviting me.

 last year 

Thank you.
I feel heavenly.
The next contest will soon.
I hope to see your entry by then. Good luck!

 last year 

Infact, I am just quite as suprise as one could be considering how hard this could be for me to put up.
How you manage to have each edges and curves makes me marvel.
Such beautiful piece.

It's so true, the Ibibio and the Annang use this for ceremonies and other outdoor occasions, the sound of it resonates our true tradition .

I love your choice of instrument.

 last year 

Thank you for the kind words, Megareigns.
I am beginning to wonder if I have underestimated my talent for so long. I'm glad that the years of practice were well spent.

Thank for the invite bbygal
You draw very well unlike me that doesn't know how to hold pencil left alone drawing 😂.

 last year (edited)

Thank you, Emily.
With constant practice you will get better.
The next contest would begin soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41