MY ENTRY: STEEMKIDS COMMUNITY WORD DEFINITION CONTEST SERIES WK #8|| WHAT DOES "KID" MEAN TO YOU?|| 20% TO @STEEMKIDSS|| POWERED UP 100% OF LAST WEEK'S EARNING TO HIT 62+ STEEMS TODAY

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago

Hello friends,
Welcome to my blog. For this contest, we are required to define the word "kid" and as a Grammarian, I will give you a background knowledge of this word as no knowledge is wasted.

So recently, in one of my courses at school titled "History of The English Language", I learnt that the English language descends from the Indo-European language family and was greatly influenced by Old Norse — a language of the Scandinavians. This is how we got Old English which later metamorphosed into Modern English (the one we speak today). With this little background knowledge, you will understand what I will be driving at in the very first question for this contest.

20211031_202847_0000.png

What does "kid" mean to you?

Etymologically, the word "Kid" is derived from an Old Norse word "kith" or "kið" which denotes a young goat. With language change, the word acquired other denotative and connotative meanings which were either positive or pejorative based on its usage.

I understand this word based on its three universal meanings:

  • A young goat
  • A young antelope
  • A young child between the ages of 8-12.

The context in which it is used helps me denote what the speaker means. However, it is usually used to refer to a young person.

Who is a kid and how do you treat them?

In this context, a kid refers to a child or young person. They are mostly naive, innocent and very sensitive. Thus, just like an egg, they deserve to be treated with special care to avoid permanent damage.

Have you seen them before and where?

Young children or kids can be seen in almost any place in the world. They are like seeds and without them, human society will inevitably go into extinction.

0001-11199018490_20211031_182136_0000.png

What makes them happy and what makes them angry?

They always want to be loved and treated with respect irrespective of their age or gender. When adults flaunt this, they end up hurting their feelings. They also love being supported to do the things they love like in the image above.

What type of food do kids in your locality like most?

I have observed that most kids love snacking. This explains why their backpacks are always filled with snacks like cheese balls, peanuts, juice alongside foods especially noodles. Most Nigerian kids love Indomie with egg, rice with stew and fried chicken. I loved this as a kid too.

IMG_20211031_154712.jpg

How do you discipline kids and how do they respond to it.

I rarely beat because I don't believe that using a cane changes a child instead I speak to them. I usually observe what works best for each child. For some, I deprive them of the things they give much attention to example games, cartoons etc. When it seems unbearable I opt for a time-out. I have one at home who hugs me whenever she is scolded. This is her way of showing full remorse and I don't hesitate to pick her up then place her on my laps while I admonish her to always be a good girl. Giving her reasons why I didn't want her to do what she did. It has worked since she was too young to understand a word.

How funny, annoying and exciting can they get in different situations.
Emy once used my brother's traditional walking stick to walk around the house like an old woman. She was only a year then and I can't stop laughing at how she tried to mimic the aged.

IMG_20210809_115015.jpg

If you are a kid, tell us what makes you a child, what you like most and what you dislike. What type of discipline do you prefer. How funny are you? how silly are you?

I was once a kid and I loved the way I was brought up by my father. Since I have mostly been surrounded by kids on various occasions, I practice the same on my siblings and the kids around me.

  • I advocate little to zero beatings.
  • More encouraging words and praises to kids.
  • More gifts from uncles and aunties to them. This made my kid days fun. My parents are still saving "my own" money (if you know what I mean😉). It seems as if there has been a decline in generosity to kids.

Hurray! I hit 62+ steems today after powering up 11.606 steems.

0001-11198493825_20211031_180852_0000.png

I also powered up over 100% of my earning last month!
Screenshot_20211031-001459.png

Screenshot_20211031-182457.png

DETAILSAMOUNT
Total earnings5.405 steems
Total powered up13 steems
% power up100+%

Thank you for reading through.

20211031_172712.png

20% of this post goes to @steemkidss

Cc:
@steemkidss
@ngoenyi
@mariajruizb

20211031_172712.png

This is my introduction post here

Sort:  

Felicidades mi bella, gracias por regalarnos esta hermosa publicación. Te mando un abrazote.

 3 years ago 

Thank you🤗

 3 years ago 

Hello dear, thank you for taking part in this contest. You have explained what a child is. And your powerup of 100%+ of your total liquid earnings in SBD is quite commendable. I wish you success in your contest entry

 3 years ago 

I hope to be a dolphin like you too 🙈

Querida excelente me gusto mucho tu publicación aprendí muy bien lo que es o significa la palabra niño.. Exito

 3 years ago 

I am happy this post was beneficial to you. Thank you for reading through. 🤗

 3 years ago 

You made a nice entry, I wish you success in the contest

 3 years ago 

I hope that I had impacted you with more knowledge.
Thank you for visiting my blog 😊

 3 years ago 

You have explained what kids are,I enjoyed going through your write up, keep it up. I wish you all best in this contest.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for the encouragement. This is greatly appreciated.

 3 years ago 

You are welcome

 3 years ago 

Well-scripted. As a child, I hate to be beaten or punished badly. I prefer your disciplinary measures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55