FAVORITE SUBJECT IN SCHOOL @ukpono

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

Hello there,
It is my pleasure to share another of my personal experience with you. Special thanks to @steemkidss for organizing this contest.

My Favorite Subject In School

You would agree with me that there is always one subject that every child would prefer to the others throughout his or her years of study. I did have mine and it was English language.

0001-5331025288_20210804_061918_0000.png

The desire to speak grammatically correct sentences was so high in me that I usually spent hours reading novels and articles online just to build my vocabulary. This is because I believe that words are the most powerful way of communicating one's thoughts.

My dream to have a good command of the English language came to actualization as my teachers contributed immensely to my growth and I became better at it with each passing day. Both teachers in my primary and secondary school took it upon themselves to establish English clubs for interested pupils and students. In my primary school days, the teacher handling the subject ensured that she organized public speaking competitions among the students. By so doing, we were able to participate in the various essay competitions organized within the state.

Unlike the others, I was always very attentive in this particular class. I never had a favorite teacher, however, I considered English language as the simplest subject any pupil or student in the primary and secondary school can have good grades in—so it seems. As long as English was concerned, I considered the C–grade a fail grade. Most times, I do wonder why anyone would hate or in worse cases, fail English language as this unique subject is not just a subject but also a way of life for those living in Nigeria.

What We Need To Know About Language Acquisition And Learning

Noam Avram Chomsky posits that every child is born with an innate ability to learn and acquire language. Chomsky's universal grammar (UG) theory suggests that from birth, the human brain is already encoded with the basic structures of language which he refers to as faculty of language (FL). Linguists believe that children can be fluent in more than 2 languages. A child's level of proficiency in his or her mother tongue (L1) or second languages (L2) is determined by certain factors such as

  • The pedagogical approaches
  • The age of the child
  • Aptitude or level of intelligence of a child — this is because children learn at a different pace.
  • And finally, the child's attitude to learning that particular language or level of disposition.

Students or pupils learning English can only be better if these factors are considered. As an English teacher, my duty will be to apply the best and most effective pedagogy and my students can only be better if they possess the right attitudes and aptitudes.

My Invites

@cryptavo769
@jessicacmf
@anyereigns04
@emyekanem

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Hello @ukpono thank you so much for joining in this contest, and for sharing your favorite subject with us here. Please continue sharing your quality contents here. And you can support us by joining our curation trail, note no there's no harm in doing that just follow this link
https://steemit.com/hive-139765/@steemkidss/join-our-curation-trail-how-or-or-delegate-to-us-or-or-help-us-grow-our-steem-power thank you

 3 years ago 

I've been struggling with this for the past few days. I have finally figured out my challenge.

 3 years ago 

I'm a bit confused here @meuhva. Please can I understand why you gave me a downvote. It could help me become better.

Hello @ukpono, you've got such a nice write-up here about your favorite subject. Keep it up.

 3 years ago 

I appreciate your time and encouragement. Thank you, dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58