Tuesday Daily Dynamics/Art & Music - Photography – How to take the correct selfie

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)



Image Source

I know I normally write and share tips about photography on Saturdays but seeing that photography is one of the topics on today’s agenda of Art/Music I could not resist writing about it.

Taking a selfie is nothing else but ART.

I have seen so many post with selfies in the last few months that I could not help but to come to the conclusion that Steemians love their selfies. I suppose it should be like that if you consider tags like #thediarygame, verification, entries for competitions etc. where selfies are required.

But before we get to those tips a bit of history:

YEAR
INFORMATION
1839
The first known selfie was taken by Robert Cornelius of himself
1966
Buzz and not Buzz from Toy Story but Buzz Aldrin took the first selfie in space
2002
Nathan Hope, an Australian man, used the words “sorry about the focus, it was a selfie”. This was the first time the word selfie was published and after he a bit to much to drink on his 21st birthday
2014
The word selfie is taken up in the Oxford Dictionary and was also the word of the year. I’m pretty sure it will also be the word of the decade
2014
On 21 June the first “National Selfie Day” was celebrated
2022
It is estimated that 92 million selfies will be taken this year. That is more than 252,054 selfies per day

It is estimate that the average smartphone user will take more than 450 selfies this year!



Image Source

There are literally hundreds of tips on the internet on how to take the perfect selfie not only articles but also videos.

What I have shared with you in my previous posts about what is needed to take a good photo is also applicable to selfies. The most important factor is again COMPOSITION

My 5 tips on taking the correct selfie;

  1. On top of my list is angles!
    Keep your smartphone at the right angle. We don’t want to look into your nostrils. Hold your smartphone slightly to the top and a bit to the side. You can also hold your smartphone a bit closer to make sure that you are the focus subject or zoom in slightly while you are holding your smartphone not too close.

    Turn your face and shoulders slightly down to one side, your chin a bitty down and look up into the camera.

  2. That “Rule of two thirds” is still applicable.
    Try not to put your face in the center of the frame. The top left or top right corner is where it should be.

  3. Lighting and background for me goes hand in hand.
    Find the best natural light and that will be outside. The best time of the day to shoot any photo is that hour after sunrise and the hour before the sun set.

    When you are inside a building take the selfie near a window while you are facing the window. The soft glow of a light can make your selfie beautiful but it must light up your face therefor the light must never be behind you.

    As a selfie is all about you make sure that the background is not too busy or even more interesting than you. A pile of dirty dishes, a messy room or excited friends is a no no!

    Crop the photo so that you can be the center subject and not your friends waving in the back. Be careful when you do crop as you don’t want to make your nose the focus subject.

  4. Make it interesting
    We see the same type of selfie over and over. Be different! I know you can think out of the box! Use your arms and hands to create a line or frame. Use different poses like leaning against a tree, riding on a swing or going up an elevator.

    This might also be the time that you put that selfie stick to the test.

  5. You!
    The selfie is all about you therefor smile, take your best side and enjoy it. A selfie with a slightly open mouth looks much better than one with a close mouth. If your eyes are your best feature focus on it. Use the portrait mode on you smartphone if it is available.
    Display what makes you YOU!

  6. Kids, let your selfie not only be a form of ART but also MUSIC to our eyes!



    Image Source

    #Club100
    10% to Steemkidss

Sort:  
Loading...

Hola que buen post para hablar de fotografía hay que hablar de selfies desarrollaste un buen tema, te soy sincera acá es que aprendía a tomarme selfies por que no soy de las que me voy a tomar una foto, steemit me ha enseñado hasta eso jejejeje, saludos

 2 years ago 

I must admit… I don’t like taking selfies😊
Not even for the Steemit platform.
Thank you for your support 🌼

 2 years ago 

I love this tips you share with us because I like taking selfie 🤳 and I want it to be nice so thank you.

 2 years ago 

I’m glad I can help you to take that perfect selfie.
Now you must just practice and practice.
You can! 😊

Now we often also children who do selfie

 2 years ago 

Kids love selfies! 😊
Thank you for reading my post

 2 years ago 

Nice tips for taking selfie 🤳🤳
I had no more idea how took selfie good tip it will help out to me

 2 years ago 

I'm glad that you could learn something from it.
Thank you for always stopping by and leaving replies. I appreciated it!

Hi, dear!
This post has been published in the latest edition of Steemit Wonder Women Magazine.
🥳🥳🥳

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much! It is appreciated!

 2 years ago 

Greetings friend! What a good post where you give us great recommendations to capture the best Selfies.

I think that the ones I always consider the most are the angle (because the camera sometimes distorts our face. And everyone knows their best angle) and the light with the background (nothing better than a properly lit photo, with a nice background)

Many successes For you, a hug from Venezuela.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for the beautiful reply!
It make we happy when I read that my article can be of use to others.
A warm hug from South Africa!

 2 years ago 

I love taking selfies and these Tips have greatly helped me.
My selfies will be more presentable I guess
Thanks for sharing

 2 years ago 

I’ll be on the lookout for them! 👀
Thank you for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84