SEC-S11W1:"The most embarrassing moment of my life as a kid or parent

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year



Designed with Canva

Embarrassment... that awkward feeling you get deep down in your stomach when you know that; Oh no, that was not good!

If you ask me, there can only be one hand, okay, maybe two hands, of people on earth who have never been embarrassed in their lives.

👉🏻Embarrassment happens when your mom calls you to recite your poem or sing a song in front of her friends.

👉🏻Embarrassment happens when your teacher asks you a question and you don’t have a clue what she is talking about because you were daydreaming.

👉🏻Embarrassment happens when your snore wakes you up when you are in church.

These are moments when we feel the world can swallow us, but looking back at a later stage, they are moments that bring a smile to your face.

Have I ever been embarrassed?

Oh YES!
I am human and I have definitely experienced that awkward moment plenty of times in my life.

When I looked at the brief for the contest, it came to light that this contest is not about those lighter moments in life when your daughter tells a friend’s mother that her mother doesn’t like blondes, and here she stands in front of as blonde as can be.

No, this contest has a deeper meaning for the word " embarrassing." Maybe as deep as having your name in the local newspaper?

As many of you know by now, I was a restaurant owner. What I did not tell you was that although our town was in the country, we had one of the best universities in South Africa in our town, North-West University, or Pukke as we called it.

These students were like my own children. I gave them work, I listened to their complaints, I put a plaster on their sores, and I helped them with their study work. I was their mother away from home. I took my duty very seriously as for me it was in our restaurant that they would get their first lesson in life. As for my own children, they were part of the waitering team.

They also knew me well. When we work, we work, and when we play, we play. Believe me, when you have a franchise restaurant in a busy shopping center, you work most of the time.

I am a perfectionist when it comes to my work, and that is how I was at the restaurant. I was not a chef, and I hated working front of house with the clients. I was good at working out menus, food costs, hunting for bargains, and yes, also working with the waiters. I was responsible for their shifts, staff meetings, sales, etc.

One of the things I cannot handle in a restaurant is when the condiments are dirty.

This was something the waiters were well aware of. It was their duty at the beginning and end of their shifts to make sure the restaurant was neat, the salad bar at the entrance looked good, and yes, the condiments were clean.

One afternoon, I decided to do some inspections. I walk straight to the condiments and start opening bottles after bottles. Tomato sauce, Worcestershire Sauce, mustard, salad dressing… they were all dirty. I put my arm out, and with one movement, I swept all the bottles with their contents onto the floor. "Now I’ve made sure that you will never forget to clean the condiments."

As I looked up I saw their faces. They were not staring at me, but at the door. I slowly turned around, and there it was a client who just walked in, standing there with tomato sauce all over his face, his jacket, his pants, and his shoes. One of the tomato sauce bottles burst and splattered its contents as it hit the floor directly at him.

Best of all, I knew exactly who this man was. The editor of our local newspaper. I got that awkward feeling in my stomach, and I’m sure I must have said, "Oh no, that was not good!"

I prayed for the earth to swallow me at the moment, but it did not happen. I was left facing him with a red face. I was so embarrassed.

I suppose I don’t have to tell you that the story landed in the newspaper. At least people were talking for months about the restaurant with the "cleanest condiments" in town.

Do you think I deserved the embarrassment, or someone else?

Nah, the shame was on me and nobody else. I should have thought twice before sweeping those bottles off the counter.
On the other hand, why must one always keep asking? Why can't people listen and do what is asked of them? All I wanted to do was teach them a valuable lesson.

I’m changing my mind, the shame was on all of us. The waiters for not cleaning the condiments and me for sweeping them off the counter.

One thing I can tell you is that you can go to my daughter's house now and you will not find any dirty condiments.

What have I done to avoid such a scenario from reoccurring?

Well, to start, from then on, I made sure that the door of the restaurant was locked when I performed inspections.

We had a check list for what needed to be cleaned and checked. I made sure that "clean condiments" was the first item and in bold.

Lastly, I moved the condiments to the back of the counter just to make sure they are out of my reach.

What I have learned is that no matter how big or small our embarrassing moments are, you can learn from all of them.

Note:
All images are my own

I invite: @fadlymatch @nexcis @waqarahmadshah

CC: @max-pro @shabbir86



Account summary:
Club100
Transfer to vesting: 2,034.177 STEEM
Normal transfer: 41 STEEM (Contest prizes and charity)

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.


Vote here

Sort:  
 last year (edited)

I can't agree less that it was an embarrassment for sure especially to a client. You may be wondering; what's would he think of me? How will he rate my action? Sometimes the things we see may stir us to do certain things that barely cross my mind. My mum detests seeing things of this nature. Dirty things for sure makes her skin crawl. I love reading your post, not just about your narration but about the way you explained what embarrassment is in a deeper sense. I also participated.
https://steemit.com/hive-139765/@bossj23/sec-s11w1-the-most-embarrassing-moment-of-my-life-as-a-kid-or-parent

 last year 

Thanks for the visit and the engagement.
Moments like these later in life become moments that you treasure... but not at the time they happen. (•ิ‿•ิ)
It is good to know that there is someone else who can relate to my story, your mother. You can tell her that dirty things also make my skin crawl.
Thanks for your engagement and for sending me the link to your post.

 last year 

Anger doesn't work out what is good. It is good that you were angry at them not keeping the condiments clean, but trying to get at them landed you in an embarrassing moment that you can hardly forget. They were also humans and as those under you, you will have to keep repeating yourself before they get used to it. Even at that, most of them will do because they will say that it is not their father's restaurant or perhaps, they will think since it's not their own, they will not be affected. But in the long run, it affects them.

I have experienced this type of embarrassing moment when I was also an accountant in a fast food. But that will be a story for another day.

On the other hand, why must one always keep asking? Why can't people listen and do what is asked of them?

Hahah, there is no perfect situation that will give birth to this. They will also misbehave and you will have to get angry and make them do it either willingly or forcefully. Whichever method that works best.

I feel pity for the client. It's just one of those things. He was at the right place but at the wrong time.

Thank you for boldly sharing this moment. Success to you

 last year 

He was at the right place, but at the wrong time

He is now a good friend of mine. I sent your comment to him, and he just burst out laughing.
Funny now, but not funny way back.
You are right, people don't care about your things but only their own. This is the bottom line of so many stories.
Thanks for the visit and the engagement. 🎕

Girlfriend I read the condiments story very carefully and didn't think you had completely showered the local news director. I can imagine him bathed in sauce from head to toe. poor thing! hehehe. I imagine you remember it today and laugh, but not at the time.
Thanks for inviting me to the contest. I wish you a happy day away from embarrassing moments.

 last year 

Haha! Now I can laugh but not way back then.
It is still a family joke, "Do not allow Pat near the condiments" (•ิ‿•ิ)
Thank you for the kind wish. A happy day to you also.
Your visit is appreciated!🎕

 last year 

Sometimes is good not to put too much emphasis on what has already happened and you were a little bit nervous because of the work level the newspaper man held but thank goodness the whole situation ended there but at least people were talking for months about your restaurant with the "cleanest condiments" in town.It's good to hear that and finally goodluck with this contest😉

Best regards,
@crowd1.

 last year 

Like they say, "Any publicity is good publicity" At least I can vow for that. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Thank you for the visit and the engagement. It is appreciated.

Here, I present to you my most embarrassing moment on Steemit.

https://steemit.com/hive-170554/@waqarahmadshah/ryiqpf

 last year 

@patjewell 🌹🌹🌹🌹
It is truly a shame that no white person likes black or no black person does not like white. It is amazing and shameful and all are equal as children of Adam. Ways made different you have entered a great contest and I pray this is your number one post and thank you so much for mentioning me.

 last year 

It is truly a shame that no white person likes black or no black person does not like white.

I've got no idea what on earth you are referring to!
I for sure did not write anything like this in my post.

 last year (edited)
 last year 

Please share the link to the tweet

 last year 

Done!

Dear Friend:
You explained very well about embarrassment but really this act was very embarrassing because of your mistake the tomato sauce spilled and then it had a big impact on your restaurant but because this act was not done on purpose It was a mistake, but it's also great that you felt ashamed of your mistake.

Best wishes

 last year 

Indeed, I not only felt embarrassed but also ashamed, but then again, in the end, the publicity did as well, and till today, that man is one of my best friends.
Thanks for the visit and the engagement!

Your post is very well presented. We have times when we find ourselves in embarrassing situations. Of course I feel ashamed at the time, but later it helps to gain a lesson. I am always inspired by your posts. Best wishes to you.

 last year 

Thank you for the visit and the engagement.
It is appreciated!

Welcome 🫣

Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06. for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @harferri

 last year 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67714.75
ETH 2616.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69