SEC | S11W4-""""more freedom""""

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year



Designed with canva

You think of the color blue, and you think of freedom. The blue of the sky and the blue of the ocean are free to go where they want to go.
When you are an American citizen, there are three colors that represent freedom: blue, red, and white, which are also the colors in the American flag.

For me, freedom is when you can do whatever you want to do as long as you respect the rights of others. It might be true that blue, red, and white represent freedom for Americans, but this is only true until these colors of the law start flashing behind you. Then there is no more freedom. Is this maybe why we are scared to give our children freedom?

Freedom is important, but freedom must be controlled!

My understanding of freedom as a parent

Gone are the days that the kids could play cricket in the streets or walk to the nearest café to buy bread and milk. Well, that is the case in my beloved country, South Africa. You don’t know when the next car will stop and grab your child for child trafficking. You also don’t know when a stray bullet from gang violence will pierce the heart of your child. It was on the news today that the second quarter police report showed that 1,188 women and children were killed.

Unfortunately, these are the circumstances in which the children of today are growing up.

Freedom as a parent is one of the most difficult things. You know that by allowing your kids freedom, you allow them to become their own little personalities. You know that it is important that they make their own choices, take responsibility for their actions, and solve their own problems. The golden question is, where do you draw the line?

I had my two children at a young age. Yes, at the time, I was disappointed. Later on, I counted it as a blessing. I was a very strict but fair parent. My kids were not allowed to sleep out by friends, but my door always stood open for their friends. Being restaurant owners, they also had plenty of "brothers and sisters" who helped looking after them.

Then the Lord blessed me with two stepchildren, one age 8 and the other only a couple of days old. My parenthood started all over again, and this time it was so much different than with my children. The eldest, a girl, only had one thing in mind, and that was to study. She always wanted to be the top academic student in her grade, if not in the school. Now that she is 20 years old, it is still the same. All she wants to do is study. We never had a problem with her wanting more freedom.

"I want to be prepared for the future therefore, I want to have more freedom."
This is what my stepson told me not too long ago. This is the era he is growing up in.

My child, you don’t need freedom to prepare you for life; you need wisdom.

As a parent it is important to find the right balance between protection and freedom.

What I can do to grant more freedom to my stepson

It is important for my stepson to experience freedom, which I know too well. What I also know is that he is going to test me many times. One valuable lesson I have learned is that, as parents, we always need to be one step ahead of our children.
There are a few things that I can do from my side to allow my stepson to have more freedom.

  • I have to give my stepson more lean way. Trial and error is the best way to learn.
  • I have to be less strict. This I can only do if I trust my parental instincts.
  • I have to let go. I must allow him to make mistakes so he can learn.
  • I must let go of my fear. I am a terrible stepmother when it comes to this. I am so afraid that something will happen to him. It is so much more difficult when you have to take care of someone else’s child. The fear of something happening when he is with you is huge.
  • I have to have more faith. As a parent I must remember that I am doing it for him and not for myself; therefore, I have to put my faith in him and our Almighty Father.
  • I must allow him to make mistakes. It is only through his mistakes that he will learn.
  • I must give him more responsibilities through which he can learn so that one day he is capable of doing it himself. It is only since about two months ago that I have allowed him to go into the supermarket by himself to buy bread and milk.
  • I have to learn to set freedom with boundaries.
  • I have to allow him to experience. It is only through what he experience that he will learn.
  • I have to give my son the benefit of the doubt that he will make the most of his freedom in a good way.
  • I have to set a limit and draw a line where freedom will end.
  • Lastly, I have to control what I am saying. It is not always easy. So often I will send him back in the morning to go put on a jersey. I should leave him, and if he gets cold, so be it. He won’t make the same mistake tomorrow.

I’ve learned through taking part in this contest that I am not only a stepmother but a darn good stepmother, but it is time to let go. All the training I’ve given, the endless lessons, and the precautions I’ve taken are now shifting onto him. I have to allow him to become a man.
No more driving to school to take him a book or task he forgot at home. This all comes with freedom.

Advantages and disadvantages of freedom

Life will not be life if there are not advantages and disadvantages. The same with freedom.

Advantages and disadvantages of freedom to parents
AdvantagesDisadvantages
Protect your childKid may never learn
Control over your childLimit the kid’s experience
Supervising and direct your childDon’t allow the child to be independent
Can bring you closer to your childCan lead to being disappointed
Advantages and disadvantages of freedom both to kids
AdvantagesDisadvantages
Opportunity to make their own choicesThe wrong choice can have serious consequences
Opportunity to experienceMight experience with the wrong things, like drugs
Opportunity to learnHard learning can break a child
Can give a child confidenceIt might lead to being overconfident

What can cause one to lose the freedom he or she has?

I cannot help but smile. I always packed my stepson’s lunch with a packet of chips, a small chocolate bar, juice, and some cold meat or cheese. Every afternoon, I have to tell him to take out his lunch box.

A few mornings ago, he told me that his lunch box was boring. My response, sure from now on I will buy the things for your lunch box, and you can pack it each morning yourself. Guess what? He packed it the first morning and never again. These days, he goes to school without his lunch box, and the fridge stays full.

I think it is important that we give our kids trial runs, and if they fail, they will lose the freedom to do it.
Our stepson knows that if he goes to the movies, we will drop him at the entrance and pick him up there again. He has to message us when the movie is over and meet us there at the time we tell him to. If he fails, he will not go to the movies with his friends again.

He also knows that we believe in him, but if he breaks our trust, his freedom will be taken away.

Why is freedom necessary?

One of the biggest gifts of life is to learn, to experience, and to grow up.
We teach our kids from a young age how to make coffee, how to set a table, etc. We set them up for success. It is when we allow them to have freedom that they can put what they’ve learned into practice.

Kids will feel that we trust them if we allow them freedom with boundaries.

Parents, it is hard to let go, but we have to. Let your children know that you believe in them and let that flag fly no matter if it is blue, red, or white!



Image Source

I invite: @kouba01 @alejos7ven @waqarahmadshah

@radleking @fadlymatch @shabbir86 @max-pro @crowd1 @moyeon @robin42, thank you for the invitations.

Account summary:
Club100
Transfer to vesting: 1,993.177 STEEM
Normal transfer: 37 STEEM (Contest prizes and charity)

This is me

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.


Vote here

Sort:  
 last year 

You have created another quality content ma, I love all what you said because they are 100% true.

Your stepson really needs freedom so that he can make mistakes and also learn from them.

The Americans made a very wise decision in adding red, blue and white colors in their flag because it's meanings we all great.

I wish you good luck in this contest and I thank you for your supports in my posts so far.

 last year 

I think the key point here is to build and strong communication between childrens and parents. Fear always will be, it is something normal cause you have more experience than your sons and you know how the world is, but your sons are growing and they also need to acquire some experience.

Having a communication and a relationship where both parts trust together could help. If something happens to the son he will be happy to tal with the parents and they will can intervene if it's necessary

Thanks for the invitation I’ll join tomorrow

 last year 

You've nailed it! Communication is so important in our daily lives. Not only as children but also as adults. As with this contest, communication is a key component when we are given some freedom.
I'm looking forward to your post.
PS: Thanks for the visit and the comment. It is appreciated.

My child, you don’t need freedom to prepare you for life; you need wisdom.

You don't get one without the other...!

 last year 

My stepson would LOVE to have you in his corner. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Always ready ;-)) Seriously: academic knowledge, theoretical reflections - no thing. Suffice yourself. In order to gain practical and thus real wisdom, you have to live. And not in a cage or on a long leash....

 last year 

Okay, I am not going to read this comment to him. Your application post was enough.
He will just tell me.. "I told you so" (•ิ‿•ิ)

 last year 

grafik.png

 last year 

Haha! You made my day!
Now he has two Steemians in his corner!

Vryheid kom wanneer ek mondig is...

 last year 

Tot dan, noem dit "self-indiensneming."
;-)

 last year 

Kostelik! (•ิ‿•ิ)

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags. Curated by: @chant

 last year 
 last year (edited)

@patjewell
Of course, freedom is a great blessing, but sometimes it has bad effects on children. If too much freedom is given, children sometimes become spoiled. Always giving good reward indeed you have chosen the best post always keep climbing the ladder of advancement great lady. Thanks for mention me
🌹🌹

 last year 

It is for me to say thank you for the visit and the great comment! ☕

 last year 

Thank you for publishing an article in the Steem Kids & Parent community today. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
#burnsteem25
#clubClub100
Grade10/10
Review Date18/08/2023

MODs Comment/Recommendation: You're absolutely right ma'am our freedom is bound and we should let our kids know this, and they should use their freedom to benefit others. I love the way you're training your stepson, yes I concur with you you're the best for him. Success

Remember to always share your post on Twitter. This POST LINK is a guide to that effect.

 last year 

Thank you for the great verification.
I am sure my stepson is not going to agree with you that I am the best for him. He thinks I am too strict BUT, he still loves me. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 last year 

Indeed I definitely agree with you that as a parent it is very important to find the right path between protection and freedom

And it is always very important to be one step ahead of our kids and also at the same time get to build a strong between them

Your entry is Nicely written and I wish you the very best of luck in the challenge

 last year 

Awh thank you for repaying the visit! This is what Steemit is all about, us supporting each other.
Your kind words are appreciated.

It is not easy to be a parent, but it is definitely very rewarding. Best of all, today you might be doing something wrong, but tomorrow you will get it right, as we also learn from our mistakes. The same is applicable to the freedom we allow our children.

 last year 

Yes indeed being a parent is always very rewarding but still it isn't easy

I absolutely love the way you've tackled the concept of freedom in your post. You've broken down the advantages and disadvantages of freedom brilliantly. It's a reminder that every coin has two sides. After reading your post, it's evident you're not just a stepmother, but a caring and considerate one. Thanks for inviting me here. I wish you the very best in this contest! 😊

 last year 

Awh! Thank you for your kind words and good wish!
Parenthood... I hope you are learning from all the tips you are getting. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Yes, I am learning. 😃

Hola amiga que triste que en tu pais suceda esto con el trafico de niños y la libertad de ellos debe ser estricta bajo la atencion de padres hasta que se puedan valer por si mismos.

Has tenido buena direccion para tus hijos y hijastros los cuales cosecharas buen fruto.

Te deseo exito
Un gusto leerte.
Abrazos

 last year 

Yip, it is indeed a sad situation in my country. I must tell you that there are places, like in the country side, where it is different. But overall, you have to watch your children these days. The latest is also the hijacking of children.

As parents, we can only give our best and leave the rest in God's hands.

Thank you for the visit and the great comment. It is appreciated. 🎕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62070.52
ETH 2422.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64