#3 Saturday Daily Dynamics/Photography – Black and white photos tells the best story

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)




"Black and white are the colors of photography. To me, they symbolize the alternatives of hope and despair to which mankind is forever subjected.” – Robert Frank

Hello kids!

Last time I told you all about shooting those perfect photos and we took a closer look at composition. I trust that you’ve all been practicing.

Today we are going to take a closer look at shooting black and white photos. No, you are not old if you like these photos. Remember I told you to be different? Well, with black and white photos you will for sure be different.

The history of black and white photos

A French scientist, Joseph Nicéphore, captured the first image way back in 1826 and called it “View from the Window at Le Gras”. Not only was it the first known photo ever taken, it was also a black and white and it changed the world forever. This image was captured on a pewter plate. It took a lot of sunshine and eight hours to process the image.

Shooting black and white photos are by far the most difficult photos to take as you have no colour to work with. I can however ensure you that it is one of the most rewarding photo shoots you can do.
In my viewpoint black and white photos are stories made out of magic. It is those fairy tales that you dream about.

Let’s see if can get it right.

Take a look at the following photo and tell me the story that you can see.

No, you are no allowed to peep at my story.(•ิ‿•ิ)


882.jpg

Once upon a time there lived a happy family in a far away country.

One day Daddy, Mommy and Baby decided to have a picnic outside on the grass. They decided to take a nap. Baby was so tired that she fell asleep on top of Daddy and Mommy. Her little hand was nestled into Mommy’s hair while she was holding tight onto Daddy’s arm.

Daddy and Mommy could feel the love for their little baby daughter and all that they could do was to stare happily into each other’s eyes. “Mommy, our little girl is so precious. I love you two.” Daddy whispered.

Daddy, Mommy and Baby lived happily ever after.

I’m sure your story is far better than mine.

Let’s look at some tips for shooting black and white photos

📷 Use the rule of 3rds I’ve told you about
📷 Focus on the artistic side of the photo you want to take
📷 Look for unusual textures that you can use
📷 Play around with lines and shapes
📷 Look for contrasting areas, black and white, shadow and light and lastly foreground and background
📷 Using of frames are also very important when taking these photos
📷 If you are shooting portraits looks for those facial expressions loaded with emotions

Most importantly thing, keep practicing!



#Club100
10% to Steemkidss

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I was going through my photo album last night , i was just laughing all through at both my funny little face and how odd the colour was 😃, maybe many people didnt know that in future, we were going to have clolour photos..., well it was a nice experience , black and white pictures are great though.

I could still remember our black and white tv, pictures were printed in black and white and they look good, i look at some of the pictures i have in black and white, they look ancient to me lols but they are wonderful memories.

Very comprehensive, i like your work, the constant posting of photography in the dynamic here, it's awesome , educative and encouraging to both old and new users.

Your constant reading and comments on folks posts is a true lifestyle of a steemian and worth emulating.

Please keep it up , you are beign noticed by many and its good because you are noticed with good deeds.

I Hope the wether in south Africa today is good?
I have read alot of articles on South African flood which happen recently, though not here in the steemit blog, i wonder why no south African would write about that here😊.

Well, i feel so sorry for all the victims of this natural disaster, i hope you and family are in a safe zone ?

 2 years ago 

What a great reply!!! You've put a huge smile on my face!
My profile pic is actually one of those golden oldies of myself, my dad and my brother in his pram. Till today these are still the best photos!

Thank you for your beautiful, uplifting and encouraging words. You've made me feel special today. ♡

As for the floods, I have mentioned it in one or two of my posts. I've also shared a video but mostly my support came from my Africa #SteemWomenClub Group on Whatsapp. They've been super supportive!
It is terrible to see the devastating results of the floods. So much water and yet after nearly two weeks not a drop to drink!
Luckily we stay inland and although we had a lot of rain and some minor floods it doesn't compare close to what they've experienced on the Eastern coast of South Africa.

Thank you for always supporting my posts!
Have a awesome weekend!

 2 years ago 

I'm glad to know that i have put a smile on your face...😊, we all deserve that right..?

Oh, thats interesting to know, "Black and white will Never fade away😊.

Again, i'm sorry for all the disaster. I hope everything gets better soon.

Great to know that you and your family are safe..

 2 years ago 

Indeed we deserve those smiles! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Hey Dear @patjewell💫

Wao Wonderful photography and an amazing post.This post is really very good.Thanks for sharing with us.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for stopping by my blog, enjoying my post and the compliments! ☕️

 2 years ago 

Very nice photographers you shared in post some time la k and white photos looks really cool 😎😎 as compared to coloued picture .

Evaluationresults
DelegationYes
Steemexclusiveyes
Plagiarismno
Voting botno
Club status100
Curation trailYes

Thank you for being part of steemkids community and for sharing your publication

 2 years ago 

Thank you! Now you should go and try it :-)
You will be amazed at what you can actually do.

 2 years ago 

😃😃 sure dear

 2 years ago 

While growing up as a child, I was used to the black and white photos being hung at my dad's living room and if you got one for yourself it shows you're of age as my form two teachers who always teases us.

Black and White was a good combination and not just of art but of our race too.
We unique in our differences because it's what makes a whole.
Thanks for including this little story too !

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! I've never looked at black and white photos and compared them to race. To think, like you've said, to enable us to have that perfect photo we must have both. Well done girl!

 2 years ago 

Thanks my dearest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43