Bullies In Your Locality, How Can The Kids Win Over Them – Peer pressure!

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago


Image Source

You asked for my input… well, here it is!

SWEETHEART --> DAREDEVIL --> COWARD

Hard to believe but this has been the meaning of the word “bully” over the years. How did it start from being a sweetheart to a coward? I can just shake my head as it is hard to believe that the meaning of a word can change like this.

My own kids are parents themselves therefor I asked my stepson about his opinion on bullying. He is twelve year old boy, very talented and who, I believe, is growing up in a stable and very religious family.

I could believe what he told me. In fact, I was shocked.

Q: Have you been bullied before
A: Yes, often.

Q: By whom?
A: My friends.

Q: Where did it happen?
A: At school and also after school.

Q: Why did they bully you?
A: I didn’t want to do what they wanted me to do.

Q: Does bullying happen often?
A: All most everyday one of us are bullied.

Q: Why did you not tell us about it?
A: I am scared that you will phone his parents he will bully me more and tell everybody in the school.

From his answers on all the questions I asked and what we discussed I can agree with my fellow Steemians that there are indeed four types of bullying;

  1. Physically – to break someone’s things or to physically hit someone
  2. Verbally – calling a person by a bad name and saying ugly things
  3. Socially – to spread untrue rumours and to tell others not to play with that person
  4. Cyber – using the internet, social media and mobile phone to bad mouth a person

For me it was also a case that bullying and peer pressure goes hand in hand. Kids choose not to do what their friends want them to do, putting pressure on themselves.


Image Source

Q: What do you think is peer pressure?
A: It is when your friends want you to do something and you don’t want to do.

Q: Do you think peer pressure can be good for you?
A: Nope!

It is important that the kids must understand what peer pressure is.

  • It is the direct or indirect impact that others of your age, friends, family members and communities can have on your life
  • Peer pressure plays a huge influence in how you act and what you believe
  • Peer pressure can be positive. This when you have friends who support you and who cares for you
  • Peer pressure can be negative. This is when you have bad friends who doesn’t support nor care for you. They normal pressure you to do bad things to fit in
  • If you can handle peer pressure most like the bullying will stop
  • Friends can make you or break you!

Q: What do you want me to tell you more about? How can I help you?
A: Tell what I must do. I’m not sure what is right when my friends ask me to do things that I don’t want to do.

Here follows my advice to him;

How to handle being bullied

🔹 Ignore he/her/ them
🔹 Walk away
🔹 Don’t fight back
🔹 Be prepared
🔹 Stay in a group
🔹 Don’t show that you are scared
🔹 Write down when, what and how
🔹 TELL SOMEONE!

How to handle peer pressure

🔸 Just say… NO!
🔸 Make a joke. My mom has eyes in the back of her head, she will know
🔸 Give a reason why you think it is a bad plan
🔸 Find an excuse
🔸 Make a different suggestion
🔸 Repeat yourself if necessary
🔸 Tell your friends that it is something that you are not interested in

Just when I thought we were finished for the day he asked me;
“How do I say no?”

The best way I could tell him was to give him a few examples on how he can say no.

  • “Not today, maybe another day”
  • “I cannot do it, my dad will kill me”
  • “I don’t feel like it”
  • ”I’m not going to do it and you are not going to change my mind”
  • “You know I don’t do things like that”

I've come to the conclusion that being a child in today’s environment is not easy.

Kids, love your parents, respect your parents and share with them when things are not going right!


Image Source

#Club100
10% to Steemkidss

Sort:  

We can't underestimate the case of bullying in children, this case is very influential in self-development in children, if you see bullying, let's prevent it together, very useful content.
greetings
@kenalofficial

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading my post.
Bullying is so sad but a reality we have to face.
We can only love our children, watch over them and pray for them 🙏

 2 years ago 

What an Amazing entry! I'm glad you join this contest truly Bullying goes hand in hand with peer pressure. An amazing tips you gives our kids, the first step to stop bullying is to speak up! And for peer pressure they need to stand for the right, not following after the crowd yes that majority is doing a particular thing doesn't makes it right. Keep it up ma'am.

 2 years ago 

Thank you my sister for the beautiful words.
I’m not entering the competition as I don’t have social media links. This is just my opinion on the subject and if I can reach one child I will be more than happy. Kids are so precious and need our love and 🤗

 2 years ago 

You're absolutely right children are precious gift from almighty God.

 2 years ago 

I can imagine what dear stepson had to pass through in the hands of those bullies. It's just everywhere and they are not tiring out. Therefore, we just need to build the kids to be able to win over them. Hopefully they can really win over them. Thank you for your usually display of knowledge. I appreciate

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading my post.
What warms my heart is that Divan came home on Friday wearing a “buddy badge”.
He was chosen by his classmates to be their buddy to report bullying to.
He will be okay 😊

 2 years ago 

That's great 😃😃, they will turn to be his friends not instead of bullying him

Great post as always! It's true that kids need to stand up to peer pressure and all the strategies you have shared are practical. Thank you for sharing your post with us, it has added to my knowledge of how to avoid bully and to resist peer pressure. I will surely apply them 😊

 2 years ago 

You are always so kind!! Kindness goes a long way!
Have a wonderful week🌼

 2 years ago 

Excelente post nutrido de información importante y sobre todo salida de la conciencia propia y el amor a los demás gracias por compartir 🥰

 2 years ago 

Awh! Thank you for your kind words 🌼

 2 years ago 

Nice write-up

 2 years ago 

Thank you Grace!
I'm glad you liked it. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

What a beautifully written post ❤️❤️
The solution you shared in post is very practical and help ful for those who suffered from bullies.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading my post and your great reply.
Hopefully it is helpful to others also (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

I missed out responding to this post yesterday 🥺
My network was a huge of disruptions. I could read the post but couldn't respond to any post here In steemit and neither could I make a post.

Thank you for this EDUCATIVE post. I have used some of your questions to help get different opinions from my boys and i'm so overwhelmed with their responses
♥️♥️♥️♥️Cameroon

 2 years ago 

Hola, disfruté mucho al leer tu post...

 2 years ago 

I’m glad you enjoyed my post.
Thank you for reading it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56