My first experience running 10km in the Bring it on. walk-run Uyo 2023||Attended A Burial too

in Steem Kids & Parents9 months ago (edited)

Picsart_23-12-30_21-41-28-104.jpg

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

I never knew I had such strength and energy to run. I have been running but not this long and far.

We had choices to make from the options below

5km, 10km and 15km as stated on the registration form we were given to fill out. I stared at everyone present to see what they are filling out. Some filled out 15km, some 10km and some 5km. I looked at myself and I was just not sure about what to choose. The distance is not clear to me. I have been hearing about kilometers but have not taken time to check out how far or close it is.

I said to myself, I will not choose the longest nor the shortest. Come what may, at least I can try and be at the middle. No matter the distance, I will push myself to the finishing line twice.

Well, that was my feelings. I was talking to myself while filling the form.

What am I talking about? You may want to know. It was long advertised by my coach that there is going to be a fitness program by all the fitness coaches in my city of residence. I was encouraged to join by my coach and the assistant coach, @beefit. I accepted to be there. I was told the location (shelter Afrique field)

I don't know the field but I know the estate.

Screenshot_20231230-204004.jpg

screenshot from one of the coaches from his Facebook page

It was advertised and aired even on a television station. And then the day arrived. I got ready by 5:40am and left my house. I got there by 6:15am to meet them still registering participants. I was given my own form to fill out.

I then chose how many kilometers that I can try out. I was given my number tag to pin on my body

IMG_20231230_071229_468.jpgready to move

After that, there was stretches by the coaches and announcement of the rules of the game by the organizer, Hon. Imoh Imoh-Ita

IMG_20231230_072218_156.jpgthe organizer

News reporters from different stations were present to cover the event including the well known NTA (National Television Authority) among others.

IMG_20231230_072245_175.jpga commissioner in the state being interviewed

One interesting thing about this event is that anyone can do it. Lime the name implies, it is walk and run. Run at your pace and walk at your pace. Choose how many kilometers to cover. It wasn't a competition rather, the coaches were there to motivate us.

The areas to cover were marked out starting from the starting point to the finishing point as indicated on the banner below

IMG_20231230_070028_142.jpgIMG_20231230_063652_843.jpg

Participants were of different ages and abilities. Just join and try to finish no matter how long it takes you.

Before long, we were taken to the starting point. We have the cue for those who will just walk and those who will run. I join those that will run and we began the journey. Remember the color of your number tag is according to how many kilometers you have chosen to run. Mine was blue because I chose to run 10km. And in am number 265.

As we began, some ran fast, other jogged while others just walked. It doesn't matter how you do it, just start

Well, I took off. I ran, jogged, walked. Mehn, the distance wasn't here oooo. When completed 1km, I was like, wow, the distance is far ooo. Can I really make it? Well, I saw others pushing and I continued. And there were those who were stationed at each of the kilometers to cheers us up, give up bottled water if we care for any, cameras everywhere. Some even used drone to cover from above.

We have the ambulances and the medical team in case. The force men were also following to end that we were safe. I have never seen anything like it nor taken part in it before. I sometimes watch them on the television but not with much interest.

But it was fun anyways. But it wasn't easy at the same time but I am such a person that is consistent in what I do. I am resilient too. I don't give up easily. I kept moving, I kept running, I covered the first round who was 5km. I then started the second round. By this time, a lot of people refused to go again. It seemed as if 8 should stop but no, I filled it out and I had to complete it. I moved, I ran, I walked. The strategy I used this second time was, I ran to cover the first kilometer, I then walked to cover the second, I ran again for the third kilometer, Walked for the 4th and ran for the final kilometer to the finishing point. That was when I had to rest.

My legs ached, pains but I was given my certificate of completion and victory, along with my medal

IMG_20231230_091746_290.jpgmy certificate
IMG_20231230_093036_534.jpgmy selfie with my medal and certificate

However, those who were able to complete the 15km were given special honor of announcing their names on the stage. They went up to rec their own certificate and medals

IMG_20231230_092538_154.jpgsee them on the stage. 15km runners

There were still others. They were announced as they complete theirs.

After that, we did stretches again and other programs continued while I, our coach and member left because we wanted to attend the burial of the mother of one of our fitness members at another local government. We needed to leave as soon as possible to be able to get there and return

IMG_20231230_100756_543.jpgthe 3 of us as we were about to leave

At the Burial

I was personally invited to this burial apart from her invitation to us as a fitness group and so, I had to be there

Screenshot_20231230-213049.jpgscreenshot from the WhatsApp chat with her

I rushed home, freshened up and got to the designated place where we converged and took off. We were able to get there early, sat down and then after a while, we meet with our friend, gave our comfort to her and took pictures with her

IMG_20231230_135517_314.jpgmy selfie with her and others
IMG_20231230_125030_524.jpglying in state while the burial program lasted
IMG_20231230_135519_900.jpgmy selfie with the bereaved
IMG_20231230_135903_243.jpgthe program of event
IMG_20231230_141422_326.jpgmy food

She entertained us with food and drinks and then we left by 4pm to our houses.

Conclusion

Today was great! Filled with new experience, fun, excitement, pain all over my body at the moment. I just have to rest and sleep if it comes. Thank you all for reading through

we invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here

Best regards

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Sort:  

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲 at 35%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for @null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

Team Burn (1).png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

 9 months ago 

Thank you so much @irawandedy for the support

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 9 months ago 

Well done!!!! I applaud you for taking this on.
I think I would die if I had to run a 10 km race.
If you carry on, you can come and run the Comrades Marathon, which is right here on my doorstep. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Now, would that not be nice!
Start running, my friend.

 9 months ago 

Hahahah, I don't think you will die. You will just run at your pace. You are free to walk, run and rest in-between if you so desire and you can even choose to run just 1km. There was choices to make. Thank you for applauding me. The strength and energy must have come from somewhere else because I can't imagine I did it. Thank you so much

 9 months ago 

As Nike say... Just do it! Well, this time your get the ✔ behind your name.

Loading...

It takes a lot of determination and energy to complete a 10K, and not everyone can pull it off. So, Congrats for this amazing feat 💪

 9 months ago 

You are very correct dear friend. It wasn't easy but I had push myself to the finish. Thank you so much. I appreciate

That's what matter 👍 I hope it will be a habit in the future.

Congratulations, at least you didn't chose the least race to run, even if you didn't chose the longest you made it to the "not too weak and not too strong". You've really got real strength.

May Mama's soul rest in peace she was our neighbour many years back.

 8 months ago 

Thank you. I had to push myself to the finish.

Oh, you know her? It's a pity. Her daughter is my fitness friend.

Thank you for your comment

Always my pleasure!

Wow, this is really amazing I never knew you are this strong and energetic, I wish I could be doing this more often too.

 8 months ago 

I call it an exciting race, you really tried your best ma, I really love your courage. I won't blame you for not doing the complete 15 meters as those who did it completely are all physically fit young guys.

I love race alot and I can't wait to experience a running competition again. I miss those schools inter-house sports days. Have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44