A Video For Your Entertainment Dear Steemkids and Steemkids Lovers// Please Watch//10% to Steemkidss Purse

Hello kids how are you this day?
It's my pleasure to bring to you my cultural dance from my village Amaekpu Ohafia in Ohafia Local Government Area of Abia State, Nigeria.

image.png

I'll suggest for Steemkids Admin to Organize a Cultural Day for #steemkids from all countries.

image.png

The cultural dance you are about to watch is called Ohafia War Dance. This is a victory dance of the people of Ohafia. History has it that after conquering their enemies in the olden days, their ancestors composed this dance for their warriors.

The warriors were said to have come home with the heads of their enemies, so as they dance, they beat their chest and shake their chest vigorously.

In modern times, they no longer fight wars but this dance have become a well known dance for Ohafia men. At every festivity, during a burial of a very old man or at a welcoming ceremony of a top government official, Ohafia War Dancers often entertain the people.

Today, my village is celebrating what they called Igba OTA Omu (Retirement Ceremony) done for members of an age grade who have performed credibly to the village. So among many cultural dances in the procession was Ohafia War Dance.

Enjoy the war dance in two videos

image.png

This is just an except from the whole ceremony. After the dance, I traced them to where they were enjoying themselves with drinks and food. Then I took some pictures of them as shown below.

IMG_20211227_160606_319.jpg

What3words
The man that carries the bar of old skull.

image.png

IMG_20211227_160617_635.jpg
What3words
His right side man


IMG_20211227_160548_801.jpg
What3words
His left side man

image.png

IMG_20211227_160508_502.jpg
What3words
The group at a glance.

I hope you enjoyed the videos from my home town, Amaekpu Ohafia in Ohafia Local Government Area of Abia State. I'll bring to you another beautiful children video tomorrow.

Thanks for watching.

image.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you so much for sharing your culture with us here, I really enjoyed the video and I believe the kids will enjoy too. Thanks for your effort in the community we love and appreciate you 💕

I'm so grateful to have you as a colleague in this community. You are a hardworking lady @goodybest, I admire you. Well done.

 3 years ago 

This is great exhibition of the Ohafia dance group. I am familiar with it.
Cultural day is great idea. I think is something that can bring more fun to the community. Let's see how it goes. You can lead that project. What do you think?

It'll be my honor my lady @ngoenyi, I love culture in as much as it doesn't conflict godly principles. Let's think up how to project it.

 3 years ago 

That will be fine

 3 years ago 

Steemkids cultural day, It will create awareness in the community where it will take place, and that will be lovely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43