Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W1: My dreams in childhood by @marlyncabrera | #burnsteem25

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)

Hi, beautiful Community of SteemKidss!

I am happy to submit my first entry for the Season 3 of the Engagement Challenge. On this occasion, I will tell you about my dreams in childhood, which the contest proposed by #SteemKidss. You can learn more HERE.

image.png

image.png

Dreaming must be the special ability of every child who is happy. I was lucky enough to dream a lot. Oh, so many things I wanted to do when I grew up....

image.png
Some books I still keep next to my heart from my childhood

Sure, a Fairy!

Oh, how I loved fairy tales and their fantasies. I was an early reader; so by the time I was four, I was able to read stories by myself. It meant I read a lot in my spare time. As the youngest of six children, I had inherited lots of fairy tales, handed down by my sisters. Of course, I also had my own ones. The, guess what! I wanted to be a fairy. Not a princess, but a fairy. I am afraid this dream may never come true—although I keep my heart open, and an eye, just in case.

A Schoolteacher and a Seamstress

My mother was a schoolteacher, and I totally identified with her. Despite the fact that she had already retired by the time I can tell what I remember, she was my personal teacher and got me interested in reading and writing since I was three. When I saw everybody we came across in the street treated her with so much respect, I thought, Wow! My mom is some woman; I want to be like her when I grow up.

image.png
I was so excited because my first day at school was just the begining of the path to become a teacher

After she retired, she started sewing for a living. My mother was hardworking, and well, we were six kids to feed. She was really skilled, and I learned a lot just from watching her. I was able to use the sewing machine at the tender age of six, and so I thought, I will become the best seamstress in the world and will travel to places to show my beautiful designs!

An Astronomer

As I have told you, I read a lot and had plenty of leisure time to read. The first book I read was titled, The Secret of the Cosmos, It was part of a collection you would find in many houses when I was little: Salvat Library Collection. There I learned the sun would explode someday and everything I know would be over by the time may grand, grand, grand, …, grand…, grandchildren lived. Then I thought I should become an astronomer so I can learn more about this huge problem and perhaps I can help solve it. I was seven.

SNC01177.jpg
My mother and grandmother always encouraged me to become whatever I wanted to become

My sisters played the most important role in my life. As I grew up, I saw them always studying, always doing interesting things. And no, I never wanted to be a singer, actresss, model, princess, or superheroine although we fantasized a lot. But I did want to become a doctor--first.

A Doctor

When I was seven, my sister moved to another state to study medicine. She’d become a doctor. My eldest sister was my roommate, and the one I respected the most. You know, she was the biggest one. Besides, she was beautiful—she still is--, and did amazing things in her gymnastics class at school. I admired her so much that I soon felt I’d follow in her footsteps to become a doctor as well.

But this didn’t last much, as I grew up a little and discover my true vocation. I would definitely become a writer.


image.png

My grandfather on my mother's side

It happens that when we are children we see and listen, and understand more than adults are willing to realize. I learned from my grandfather on my mother’s side that I just loved how people could speak and write beautifully.

And let me tell you, I did not become any of the abovementioned. I became a teacher; I am a writing a literature teacher in the autonomous University of my country (Universidad de Oriente). While I was studying, I worked as a seamstress, I learned about the sky and stars, I became a fairy through the writings of famous authors whose work I teach now. And when the situation got difficult for us teachers in Venezuela, I studied a new career to become a technician next to my sister who is the chief doctor in my second job.

Life is so, so round, that we’d able to see our own backs of fifty years later if we sharpened our sight when we are five. Nothing has gone wrong. Circles are just perfect!

image.png

Thank you so much for your reading!

All images and text are mine.

image.png

What did you dream for your future when you were a child?

I invite @nanidi, @adyline, and @eglis to join in

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Hola Marlyn

Que cantidad de sueños, eras una niña con muchas ganas de ser lo que quisieras ser.

Tu mamá tenía una linda profesión, mis respetos para ella porque aún siendo jubilada no se quedó de brazos cruzados y dió todo por sus hijos.

Costurera, que bueno que pudieras aprender y no dejar que la edad fuera un límite.

Bendiciones.

Hola, @astilem :) Pues sí, qué cosas nos parecen imposibles cuando estamos pequeños. No muchas, aparentemente. Luego crecemos y vamos poniendo los pies sobre la tierra, pero creo que ese niño se queda por allí escondido y sigue soñando. Saludos y gracia spor tu linda visita :)

 2 years ago 

Woow I'm quite impressive with your dreams most especially with dream of becoming an Astronomer, only few children can dream of this because it's quit difficult to be an Astronomer. You had alot of dreams when growing up and even though you didn't accomplished all, I'm glad to hear that you are now a teacher which was also one of your dreams growing up since you usually admire your mom when she was still a teacher

Oh, yes, we dream a lot when we're little! It's a wonderful thing. Children ought to be able to believe in dreams, and as adults we should allow ourselves to believe a little, too, in our dearest dreams.
Thanks for your lovely visit, @chiabertrand 🥰

 2 years ago 

Yes you are definitely right my dear friend. It was really great reading your article..

Greetings from #Cameroon

It is interesting to see you were a wide dreamer, but in the end, none was achieved but you became something you like and you love now which is teaching, our dreams as a child sometimes are better left as dreams
Good luck I

Indeed, my friend. I love writing, and also, I love my job as a teacher. In the end we're fortunate to be able to do what we love or to love what we do. Thank you for your lovely visit, @olabillions 🥰

You are welcome, keep up the good work 👍

 2 years ago 

You picked up so ma y desires while growing some form what you saw around you. They are all wonderful dreams.

The book you read exposed you the the world of astronaut which also fueled the desire to become one...but you know we get to see life better when we begin to outgrowthe stage of a kid.

It's good to know you resolved to be a writer,you sound so fulfilled being one. I wish you the very best in this contest.

Regards
@lhorgic♥️

Hi, @lhorgic. I hope I can always remember all of these dreams when I'm old. And I also hope to reach old age, of course XD

Thank you for your lovely visit 🥰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39