Food challenge contest week #41|| For everyone (teach the kids how to cook by your entries)

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

flyerdesign_08102022_194408.png

Hello kids, you are welcome to my post. I am excited to have you here today my dear kid. This time around, you are going to learn how to prepare Egusi and Vegetable Soup.

In my previous entry, I shared how you can prepare my local meal known as Oha Soup. However, this time I want us to look at another delicious soup known as Egusi Soup in accordance with the contest that was organized by @steemkids in Steemkids Community.

In West Africa, egusi is a very popular name for the seeds of plants like melons, squash, and also gourds. When they are dried and ground, egusi becomes a very nice ingredient for making delicious soup. In particular, in Nigeria, Egusi is a very popular and rich soup that you can find in any restaurant, both local and classic, that is prepared and eaten with pounded yam.

Thousands of Nigerians love eating Egusi Soup with pounded, semovita or garri. In my case, I love eating Egusi Soup with pounded yam, but although pounded yam is hard to get, which is the main reason why I am replacing it with Garri, aka ebba.

IMG20221008143946.jpg

Egusi soup is a kind of soup that is thickened with ground melon seeds and leeks and other vegetables. It is the most common soup that you can see in any part of Nigeria and is basically prepared with goat meat, beef, fish, or shellfish etc. In this post I will teach you based on the ingredients that I used.


Ingredients used

IMG20221008134323.jpg

  • 2 cups ground Egusi melon seeds
  • 1 cup palm oil
  • fresh fish
  • canda (cowskin)
  • hotleaf & ugu leaf (vegetables)
  • onions
  • fresh pepper
  • spices
  • salt (to taste)

Cooking Direction

Wash your meat and fish very well. In my case, I washed the fish and canda and cooked it very well using the ingredients.

IMG20221008140147.jpg

Prepare the Egusi paste:
Blend the egusi with warm water and mix some ingredients into it and set aside.

tmp-cam-6572274434726113583.jpg

Also, you can heat the palm oil on medium for a minute and add your egusi.

In my case, while the fish and canda were on fire, I added palm oil and other ingredients, before I added mixed Egusi.

tmp-cam-2849222266838735474.jpg

After adding the mixed egusi, allow it to simmer for 10–15 minutes so the balls can cook through.

tmp-cam-7039539743744531572.jpg

Add other ingredients, such as Pepper, stock, fish, meat, and other ingredients that you like.

tmp-cam-6239695027714461891.jpg

Add the cut vegetable leaf.

tmp-cam-7537434232630312071.jpg

Stir,and check the seasoning and adjust accordingly.

IMG20221008144145.jpg

Now you can enjoy your Egusi soup with your favorite swallow.

Thank you for reading...


10% Goes to @steemkidss
Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Oh my Gee..... Your Egusi looks so enticing. I thought it was a lady who would put up this writeup not knowing it's a man. Some Men are better cooks than women.. thanks for sharing your food tutorial with us. Your ingredients are on point. I wish......

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for your sweet complement.

A delicious recipe. I look forward to tasting it. I am preparing it too. It looks like you have prepared the fish very deliciously. I feel its taste in its color. You are a talented cook. I am also interested in cooking. I learn a lot from such nice posts. First of all, thank you for sharing this kind of article with us.

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much for your compliment sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62667.39
ETH 2432.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66