Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W4:Childhood or adulthood, which do you prefer? by @jdkeys


1_20220809_161054_0000.png
Image design on Canvas


Good day Wonderful Steemians, Scrolling through various contests, I stumbled across Childhood Or Adulthood, which do you prefer and I had this brief smile because I recently asked myself how my childhood was and how my adulthood has been so far. I ended up getting amazed by the responses I gave myself.

I urge everyone to go through as you find out my end answer to the questions.

Who is considered as a child in your country? Include age

Firstly as a Nigerian there are levels of childhood and because of tradition and the society there are things that even as a child you are responsible for. Being a child (minor) in my country is from the date of birth till age 17 buh like I said earlier there are stages, which will be listed below.

STAGE 1

From the age of 1- 6 : The child is just a child who doesn't know anything or do anything as he or she is adjusting to the society and moral conducts of the country.


STAGE 2

From the age of 7 - 12 : Here the child has moved to another stage where he or she starts chores like sweeping, washing of his or her soft dresses as parents see it as a way to prepare them ahead for future duties. The children if this are most likely to be rounding up their primary schools moving to Junior Secondary school.


STAGE 3

From the age of 13 - 17 : According to the Nigerian Constitution, a person within this age range is still a child although might look like an adult. But from the perspectives of Parent it's the final stage preparing one towards adult hood, so the child is now officially responsible for things like; putting the house and surrounding to order, going on major errands, responsible for taking care of junior siblings if they exist.
Here they are mostly likely to finish their senior secondary school at age 18 of below.


Who is considered as an adult in your country? Include age

In Nigeria, one officially becomes an adult at the age if 18 and above. Compared to childhood, adulthood is a different ballgame entirely, there are various things that comes automatically as a adult.

Some of them are

  1. Responsibility
  2. Financial independence
  3. Independent Decision making etc.
Even after clocking 18 most of still had our parents making decisions for us because they obviously believe they'll make better decisions as they are more exposed. One major thing I noticed is the fact that no matter how hold one is parents always carry this burden of responsibility towards their children.

Growing up as a child who resides in Lagos, I always envied adult because I kept seeing them go out themselves and I always wanted to try it until I begged my father to send me on an errand outside my vicinity but he's response was **you are not yet ready my boy** I didnt understand until I started to experience it later on.

Childhood or Adulthood, which do you prefer?

To be honest Adulthood seems very interesting and adventurous but I honestly prefer Childhood (most especially stage 1) because all I get to do is to wake, eat, go to school, play around with friends, eat and the sleep; No stress of thinking of what to wear, what to eat, what to do, how much to spend, where to go. No matter the decisions made by my parents, at that stage it's always fine by me.

Give at least 3 reasons why you prefer Childhood or Adulthood

Reason 1:
The fact that I don't have any sense of responsibility towards anything is reason 1

Reason 2:
The fact that decision making is always done by my parents is another reason

Reason 3:
Being an adult finance is something unavoidable as it is needed for daily survival but as a child financial needs are covered by the parents

Reason 4:
The fact that as a child theres a general peace of mind that is found when we are with our parents is really amazing

Reason 5:
As an adult the word relationship is most times an headache especially for new adult and causes a lot of confusion affecting one mentally, morally, emotionally etc but as a child the only relationship you are interested in is the relationship with your family.

Pictures of childhood and adulthood

IMG-20200319-WA0005.jpeg

This is a picture of I and my senior brother just when we were about to start summer school of which I never liked. I always loved school because of the fun and i disliked school because of the learning.

IMG_4930.jpeg

This is a photo of me recently during my duty as a Nigerian Corp Member

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Saludos amigo prefieres la niñez porque no tienes ninguna responsabilidad solo jugar y divertirte más sin embargo fue a elección que tomaste para el concurso lo cual es válido es lo que nos piden elegir por cual nos decidimos te deseo mucha suerte

Thanks for the comment @rosselena....good luck

 2 years ago 

Great entry you have made here my friend, I'm happy you have start catching up, you prefer childhood because it does not come with any responsibilities. I wish you success in this contest my friend. Steem On!

Thank you my friend

Loading...
Loading...

The fact that I don't have any sense of responsibility towards anything is reason 1

Are you afraid of taking responsibilities? Be strong to take them .

The fact that decision making is always done by my parents is another reason

In childhood , this thing seems unfair because you have no control over self . However , it is true that better decisons are made by parents owing to our immature mental status .

The fact that as a child theres a general peace of mind that is found when we are with our parents is really amazing

That's one thing i really miss about childhood.

Good luck

Thanks @drqamu for your comments...I'm you went through the writing

Hola me diverti mucho con tu entrada, y por tu eleccion creo que prefieres ser niño porque eres flojo jajajaj.

Muy linda tu entrada a este concurso, para muchas es fácil decidir que prefieren y para otros es mas difícil.
Te deseo lo mejor en este concurso por tu linda participación.

Hahaha thank you @katherine12

Excellent choice of yours, you have your reasons for preferring childhood, adulthood is adventures as you have said and I like the freedom I get from it. You have shared the stages of life of a child and I agree with you, while adulthood is more of responsibilities

Thanks for sharing
Comments on my engagement publication will be appreciated
Greetings and blessings

Thanks....i really appreciate

You are welcome

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @Reminiscence01

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

Hello, I will like to invite you to the ongoing Power up promotion and stand a chance of winning 2000SP in delegation. This is a great opportunity you wouldn't want to miss to build your Steem power and win delegation rewards. Join the contest using the link below.

Contest Alert (#growwithsteem-naija) Let's Grow Bigger Naija (Powerup/Promotion) by @ngoenyi. Win Monthly Delegation

 2 years ago 

A stage free of worries and heavy responsibilities, the care of parents, and the family relationship, are some of the reasons that have made you prefer childhood.

Childhood is the stage where the dreams that will guide our adulthood are formed.

Successes in the contest.

 2 years ago 

Saludos! Que hermosa es la infancia, que viva!

Asi como tu, tambien la prefiero y añoro mucho. Nuestros padres siempre estaban con nosotros, cuidandonos y haciendo todo para que seamos felices. No teniamos muchas responsabilidades como las de trabajar, por ejemplo.

La relacion que nos importaba era la de nuestra familia, y tambien amigos. No teniamos miedo a jugar, saltar y vivir sin importar lo que dijeran los demas.

Lindas fotos nos compartes, bendiciones.

Thank you, Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79