Word Chest - Week 15 | English Modal Verbs: Can, Could, Be Able to|| by @imohmitch||01-09-2022

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

20220901_124716.jpg

CAN

My appreciation to @ukpono for this nice lesson, I have learnt a lot and I would be answering these questions from the exercises

Exercise 1

Think of something you can do now. Give at least three examples

  1. I CAN finish a pack of noodles alone
  2. I CAN run for five minutes without a break
  3. I CAN type an application letter using Microsoft word
    These are all things I can do, and I used the verb CAN

Exercise 2

a. What are the things you could do when you were younger? Leave your answers in the comment.

b. Rewrite the following sentences by changing the tense to the past form.

The man cannot see you.
I cannot open the safe.
Can he fix the antenna on the roof?

A
Things I COULD do when I was younger

  1. I COULD bite my toe nails when I was young
  2. I COULD crawl under the table when I was younger

B
Rewriting those sentences by changing it to past form

  1. The man cannot see you.------> The man could see you
  2. I cannot open the safe.------>I could open the safe
  3. Can he fix the antenna on the roof?-------> could he fix the antenna on the roof?
    I just changed the tense from can to could, I wanted to change/ add things to the sentence

Exercise 3

Write out three polite requests with the modal verb "could".

  1. @ukpono COULD you tell me more about roothub
  2. COULD you switch off the fan
  3. COULD you give me the cake

Exercise 4
Complete this passage with can or could.
Last year during the holiday, Olivia and I visited our aunt who lives in Ghana. Since we COULD not go sightseeing on the first day of our arrival, we decided to visit the zoo the next day. On getting there, we observed that the gate and cages had the notice. ‘You CAN take pictures but you should not feed the animals’.
Visitors COULD not get too close to the cages because of the barricade placed around them. This did not stop us from watching the monkeys and gorillas in amusement as they tried to mimic our actions. One COULD tell that they loved the attention visitors gave to them.

That is how well I understood this topic♥️
Achievement 1

Cc,
@ukpono
@ngoenyi
@patjewell
@disconnect
@alexmove.witness

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago (edited)

Hello dear, thank you fir actively participating in the steemkidsedu project. We are proud to see your entries.

Status Club
#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Verification date:
Voting CSI
10.5
Grade8/10
Verification date:
01-09-22


Period of: 1 month(s)):


Hi, the user imohmitch just made (in 1 month(s)):
  • CASH OUTS: 21 STEEM
  • POWER UPs: 22.963 STEEM

CLUB5050: ✅ Elegible. You should power up 0.000 STEEM
(❌club75) (❌club100)

20220516_232701.jpg

 2 years ago 

Thank you ma♥️♥️

 2 years ago 

Thank you for another great lesson!
Those can's and could's (•ิ‿•ิ)
I am sure that it is not only the kids which learn from your English lessons.
Keep up the good work!

 2 years ago (edited)

Yes oo😏

Thanks ma for your encouraging comments

 2 years ago 

The pleasure is all mine! 🤛

 2 years ago 

Imoh, I have gone through your answers and I am so impressed. One particular example made me smile. I will respond to it in the review.

Exercise 1

I CAN finish a pack of noodles alone
I CAN run for five minutes without a break
I CAN type an application letter using Microsoft word

Excellent! If I were to award you an extra point, then it will be for this using this expression “...a pack of noodles...”👍🏽

I just changed the tense from can to could, I wanted to change/ add things to the sentence.

If you wanted to use “could not” then you would still be correct. 🙂

@ukpono COULD you tell me more about roothub?
COULD you switch off the fan?
COULD you give me the cake?

Yes, Imoh. I can tell you more about The Roothub.

Last Friday, The Roothub ended the Kids Holiday Bootcamp but something better is here again. As part of the activities to commemorate the 35th anniversary of Akwa Ibom state, The Roothub is organizing its free digital skill training TECH101 AGAIN. I have attended TECH101 before. It was a pleasant experience. I will recommend that you register for this if you live in Uyo. Want to find out more?

1662400227223.jpg

THEN VISIT THE LINK BELOW.

The Roothub's post on Facebook

 2 years ago 

Wow
Great lesson, I really learnt a lot for the lesson, and hoping to learn more from your lessons to come☺️

Yes, Imoh. I can tell you more about The Roothub.

I can tell you have benefited alot from this internship program and I would love to benefit too, though the transportation cost from where I stay in uyo to the venue daily might somehow be a block to it😫.
Can I have your WhatsApp contact ??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83