The Diary Game: My State Creation Remembrance Day, Almost a Sad Day For my Family

in Steem Kids & Parents4 days ago

Introduction

Akwa Ibom State is one of the 36 states in Nigeria. It was created on 23rd September 1987. So, Monday, 23rd September 2024, was the state creation remembrance day and celebration of the state's 37th anniversary.

Green Tan New Summer Menu Items Facebook Post_20240927_191732_0000.png
Designed with Canva

For the citizens of the state, the State Government declared Monday 23rd a public holiday. For me as a teacher and for my children, it was a bit of fun for us as we already planned to visit the mall and some other places for sight seeing.

Earlier that Monday morning, my sister called to know if I'd be going out, I said no. She said she would be coming around so I could do her hair. I responded ok, in the positive.

Morning Period

We woke up late since it wasn't a work day, prepared breakfast to eat and my sister arrived at my house. Since I had clothes I didn't wash on Saturday, I asked her to wait so that I could wash the clothes and spread them before it rains. She said ok. So, I quickly washed and spread the clothes before we began the hair making.

To make my sister's hair, she didn't actually have a style, so I gave her options which she declined and decided I made braiding for her. She sat down and the hair-making began. My children were with their father, who wasn't feeling too well to leave for his work.

IMG_20240923_141744_393.jpg

IMG_20240923_122236_971.jpg

Afternoon Period

It was already noon as we started making the hair. My children felt hungry. They came to ask for lunch and I gave them to eat. Afterwards, I continued with the hair and, it wasn't too long, we were done with doing the hair. My sister and I dished out lunch to eat. I finished mine and grabbed my phone to steemit since I hadn't been on the platform since in the morning.

While on that, I remembered my son hadn't finished the homework that was given to him. He was in the room watching cartoons. I tried to make him leave the room. He refused, so I took the iPad he used away so that he could do his school work. At that moment, he got angry and walked to me to return his father's ipad they used in watching cartoon. I refused and asked him to do his work.

On saying that I ordered him to move, he got angry and began jumping. While jumping, he startled and slipped on the tiled floor. While forcing himself to stand up with anger, he turned his face and hit it on the edge of the table in the sitting room. I thought it was just a fall. I told him I'd been warning him to be careful, but he wouldn't hear.

Accident and Treatment

As he lifted his face, my son's face was filled with blood. I screamed and asked my brother who's living with me to get me cotton wool to clean him up. As I cleaned him, I noticed a deep hole that pierced through the side of the nose deep inside. I knew it called for emergency. I didn't wait a second. I quickly grabbed him and ran to the pharmacy close to my house.

IMG_20240923_193448_007.jpg

IMG_20240923_171732_543.jpg

The nurse there said the injury would be stitched after she asked me a few questions. To stitch the place was a difficult one because my son cried and stretched such that five people held him so that the nurse could stitch the wound. After she made the first stitch, she said she wasn't going to do it again because my son didn't allow her, saying the place would heal. At the end, the wound was dressed, he was given medication, and we went home. I was advised not to allow water to touch the wound to avoid further complications.

Evening Period

I got home and began to wonder what temptation that was. That evening, I was just so sober and almost sad, but I thanked God that it wasn't his eye or the upper part of the nose.

IMG_20240923_193419_013.jpg

That evening, I didn't just feel like eating. I remember I had a little flour at home. I quickly made pancakes, ate and just went straight to bed. My son didn't feel anything. He was just playing and making fun of the plaster on his face saying he was wearing a "Spiderman's face mask." I looked at him and laughed because he didn't understand what just happened.

This is me telling God thank you that it wasn't more than what we could manage. I have heard of situations like that which resulted in a child having a serious complication and even death.

Mentioning;

@ngoenyi
@goodybest
@okere-blessing

Pictures all shot with my phone itel A70

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 4 days ago 

I really feel for your son. They can be very annoying but then, we just have to find a way to help them grow into a responsible adulthood..you didn't do anything wrong by telling him to go and do his homework. All the same, I thank God that the injury didn't go beyond that. It could really be painful. Thank you for rushing him to the nearby pharmacy. He will be fine with time. Just the scare will remain as they already stitched it. My kind regards to him and just calm down and keep caring for him.

Thanks so much ma'am, I really appreciate the encouraging words.

 4 days ago 

So sorry about your son. I understand how you feel, but these things do happen. It's important to teach him how to manage anger and other emotions. Wishing him a speedy recovery!

Ai-free & plagiarism free

Thank you so much, I appreciate your lovely comment.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63312.28
ETH 2601.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79