Sort:  

It's just my sister and I who was sick and I doubt it's because of the cake. The doctor says Malaria is the problem and he prescribed the medicines below for me:

IMG_20211214_234746_250.jpg
IMG_20211214_234822_008.jpg

He says the first medicine is for the treatment of malaria and he also added the other ones for pain reduction and typhoid. (The brown and yellow capsule is for typhoid, it's called amoxil capsule, the other one is for pain relief, it's called Paracetamol)

I am sorry to read that you might have malaria. I wish it had been too much cake. The irony the medication for malaria also protects you from COVID-19.

Did your doctor mention Zinc when he prescribed the pills? Zinc works with the medication to fight viruses.

I did a quick search to find what foods are high in Zinc in Nigeria. I hope there is something on the list that is easy to obtain.

No he didn't mention zinc, but it's interesting to learn this from you. Yes, the list of foods are simple meals we take everyday.
I didn't know that medications we take for malaria also protects us for from Covid. I'm learning this for the first time but I'm also curious to learn how

Can you tell me your age? It helps to discuss this subject.

Viruses have a specific pH level (acid vs alkaline) they thrive. Zinc changes the pH level inside the cell, making it difficult for the virus to replicate.

There is a word, prophylaxis, that describes how zinc works. It is like brushing your teeth prevents cavities. Brushing your teeth cannot fix it if you already have a cavity. A virus will modify its host's cells to manufacture more of the virus. Zinc can prevent the change, but it cannot change it back once the change has happened.

Certain chemicals (called ionophores) help transport other chemicals into the cells. Anti-malarial drugs are zinc ionophores. These drugs will work if you have sufficient zinc in your diet to be transported.

For example, an average man needs 11 mg of zinc per day, and an average woman needs 8 mg per day. (This is why it helps to know your age) I see that in your diet you eat plantain

A bowl of cooked plantain offers 0.12 milligrams of zinc per 100-gram serving.
Source

While this is the wrong time of the day to do math in my head, I think on must eat 10 kg of plantain each day to get enough zinc.

Do you ever eat liver? A 67-gram slice of liver contains an average woman's daily zinc requirement.

image.png

If you compare columns for total cases per million between your country and mine, you will notice that Canada has far more. This difference might be due to reporting, the amount of sunlight (Vitamin D), the prevalence of malaria (requiring anti-malarial drugs) or a combination of the three.

We don't have malaria in Canada, so I supplement my diet with another zinc ionophore - Quercetin (350 mg). It is found in foods like red onions, but I take a pill since I don't intend to eat a truckload each week.

I'm 17 years old.
I think I now understand the work of zinc in our body. They serve as preventives to viruses. Having enough zinc in the body will help to lower the risk of viruses.
This is a very interesting topic. I think I've heard something similar in school

Here is an article that contains the upper limits for teenagers.
Should the Supplement Zinc Be Given to Teenagers?

For teenagers, the tolerable upper intake level, or UL, of zinc is 34 milligrams.

If you are infected with malaria, does it affect your appetite? I've never studied it.

Thanks for the article.
Yes I always lose my appetite whenever I have Malaria. It is part of the symptoms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36