"A story about Myself"

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)
What did I go through as a child and an adult, or how did I do throughout my entire life. When I read Dear @goodybest I thought it was my chance. So let me tell you, my life has had its fair share of struggles like everybody else's, even if they were not financial. I will tell you what those things were that brought me up or down. I will give you everything in my own way. Please be patient while reading my true story.

  



Source

I will write in second person, you know this is easy to write about one’s future because it's all speculation or because one can write about his plans to do what he intends to do in his future but to write about his past is not so easy ‘cause it makes one feel, “I wish I could do this or do that” But I will do this, honestly. So let’s start here.

Screenshot (543)111.png

Hi Dove you are six and big enough to keep your mum happy but you always annoy her with your naughty actions. I know you don’t like the thrashing you receive from her at least twice a week, so it’s time you changed yourself or face the music continuously. I will come back and ask you what did you change to make your mum happy! Yeah, that’s what would be the first line of my letter to my younger self.

Hi Dovy, you are seven now and still too small so not aware of what’s in store for you at this age so don’t try to annoy your teacher because your cute look and innocent face will not help your cause, but only your actions will. To be frank, you don’t know what’s good for you yet, but try to be a good child. I know you are not the happiest child cause your father doesn’t bring all the toys you ask for, but please stay satisfied with whatever he gives you.

Hi, I know your are now ten YO and in class 5, I appreciate your efforts that you have done to do your best in the last 2-3 years. I am surprised why you feel as if you don’t feel you fit in this world perfectly. There are a few reasons you feel that. We’ll get there.

Let me assure you you’re absolutely capable of standing up to the demands of your parents and teachers. I know you love playing cricket and badminton and a bright future is waiting in the coming years as a sportsman. I also know that your father is against sports as he wants you to become an engineer like himself.


man-5976216_960_720.jpg

source

Do you remember his dreamy sparkling eyes when he asked you, “What you wanted to be as an adult on your tenth birthday?” You almost said “A cricketer” but you stopped and said, “Engineer”. I know you did not want to disappoint your dad by revealing the truth. By the way, you were good at cricket and could succeed as a cricket player. However, you kept practicing at your school without bringing it to the knowledge of your father.

At fifteen, now you are in high school doing really well in your studies and your beloved game of cricket. Now that you have played in the prestigious inter-school tournament and got selected for the district team. According to your coach, your chances of selection in the state team next year as one of the youngest to do so encourages you to do even better. What a lovely feeling, and if you’re dreaming big as a future cricketer playing for your state and then for your country, you deserved it.

Screenshot (650).png

I was fifteen

I know it’s a hard feeling, but you knew what you’re thinking would not happen. Here you stand, almost five years later. You haven’t done it because your father came to know it through the newspaper that published the news of your school winning the interschool trophy with you in the team picture.

Dear Dovy at sixteen, I am sorry for you but your father sent you to a distant place for further studies for pre-college and then you had to forget all about your first love of cricket but concentrate on your studies.

I wish I could tell that you will not accept this situation so easily, but I know you’re a brave boy and will overcome this phase. I want you to know that one day, you’ll do it both with your love for games and also become a successful engineer. Cheers Dove, nothing to worry about! Now you are a bit different from what you were yesterday. But that’s life for you, isn’t it?

Dear Dovy at eighteen- Congrats buddy, you are an adult now and can use your right of voting. You’re in engineering college now, and I wish you all the best in your coming years. Well done for cracking the national engineering exam with flying colors and getting admission to one of the most reputed engineering colleges in the country.

I know you have forgotten the game of cricket now and keenly playing badminton. I was not surprised to see that you're a fast learner and with your kind of physical fitness and having the advantage of your height and reach, you’re doing very well.

Dear Dovy at nineteen, for the first time in your life I saw you blushing while talking to one of your classmates that said something you were least expecting coming from one of the prettiest girls in the engineering college. She said, “I have been through several attempts, but not getting entry in any of the badminton halls, so could you please help enroll me”.


potala-1567060_960_720.jpg

Source

I know you were nervous and probably she knew this too as she was smiling looking at your face. I am not surprised when you said a simple “no” to her and forgot the incident. Yes, I know you’re almost traumatized and still not comfortable with art and poetry. But I am glad you took to your newfound passions, the badminton, and the way you were picking the skill by the day. I am glad you made it to the college team.

A team that was most respected in the world of badminton since most national players started their journey as students of this college having the best coaches in the country. Now you were feeling more accomplished, as a sportsman. And being funny that you made you a little more popular. You were talented, and above all, strong that you always have been, a normal boy would otherwise break down what he went through at a young age.

Dear Dovy, you know if you follow your heart and passion, your choices feel like taking a new flight higher in the sky. This is better to adjust to the situation and devote your time to beautiful opportunities that life offers you from time to time. This is no good remembering the grief that will do no good to you but even suppresses you, making your life heck.

Dear Dovy at 23, now you’re an engineer, have a place in the national badminton team and got selected in a multinational as a trainee engineer and what’s more even your friend of two years is also in the same batch that got selected in the same company. She is full of hopes, but I am not so sure why you do not have the same feelings for her as she has for you.

I am surprised about your stance that you took while talking to the HR Manager about your choice of going to the marketing department rather than staying in the production that you’re chosen for. So you have got the sanction for joining the marketing department, but at what price? Now you will have to complete study in a business school before joining the marketing team, but now you will be a trainee for the next three years.

I know your ambitions about traveling over the world and your choice of joining the marketing team might fulfill your dream. That's not a bad idea, I want you to believe and accomplish all the things you planned for your future.

By the way, I did not like the way you discouraged the girl that was interested to go to the US for further studies but joined the same company as you did. It disappointed her but you knew it was not possible. I know you have been writing for a long time and I also know that it will not make you famous, but you have something in you to make this world happening and do something you care about. After all, you spent time with her and had a nice time together.

My dear Dove, the most loving part of your life is that you do whatever makes you happy or exciting. Keep it that way, ‘cause life is supposed to be all about discipline and sacrifice. I am aware that you did everything to live a disciplined life in school, back home trying to keep your parent’s happy proceeding through their desires, and finally obeying them as much as you could within your limit that it needs to, with joy, love, and whatever makes you feel happy and proud.

Dear Dovy, let me remind you you will face many situations in your future life in the form of social and economical pressure but you will come out of them as you came out of parental pressure. Pressures are part of human life, so please understand that they are giving all of us the opportunity to define ourselves.

Conclusion
The pressure is part of human life otherwise animals also live in this world but absolutely pressure-free.
My will Power and willingness to do better keeps me going and that's what is my message for all my dear fellow Steemians too.

We change as the time changes, and with changing times, our goals also change. When I remember my past, I feel sad at some points or just laugh at some of my past dreams. But I can say that I am still looking forward to fulfilling some of my dreams. I still dream big as I did in my childhood.

I invite my friends @sailawana, @lauureal and @amoakabraham to check this post and post your experience.

@goodybest


me.jpg

Your Freind @dove11

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello @dove11 this is simply breathtaking, I enjoyed each passage of your write up, indeed change is constant. You've successfully passed parental pressure, likewise others, so in one word I'll call you a fighter and a warrior by the way I feel you and that your girlfriend are good together 🙈 I hope to read more of you, Once again thanks 🙏

 2 years ago 

Thanks, but we are in different countries. She is in the US and still a good friend, and we often meet. We are both traveling the world, but separately, with our own partners. 😂But everything is fine. Do you want to read more? Sure, I am an open book. 👍Thank you for your kind words.

 2 years ago 

We are both traveling the world, but separately, with our own partners. 😂

🙀🙀🙀 Which is I've missed something, is it that I skipped that passage? You know what? You're just good at writing!

 2 years ago 

Thanks again and I feel you're too kind therefore, I am giving you something so you know I am a real naughty guy. Look I have something to prove that I did yesterday. With your permission
https://steemit.com/hive-179660/@dove11/steemit-engagement-challenge-s6-w1-list-your-childhood-outdoor-games-which-are-not-famous-globally

Don't forget you dreams! May be they change over the times - but they are a part of you!

 2 years ago 

No chance, my writing on this website is part of fulfilling my dreams. Thanks a lot.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for sharing the your quality content here.

Status Club
Club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI
7.2
Verification date:
22-11-22


Period of: 2 month(s)):


CASH OUTS| 0.000 STEEM
POWER UPs| 505.53 STEEM

20220516_232701.jpg

 2 years ago 

Thank you @drhira for moderation and feedback 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52