sknp-schoolrunsw7: My school experience

INTRODUCTION

School runs is popularly known among those who have something to do with learners. It means the activities that one has to do in the morning in order to be in school or take one's ward to school. It can be understood among mother's, teachers, pupils and students and even some father's. It's that activity related to school that is fine by mother's in preparing their children to school or while preparing for school as a teacher and by a student or pupil. Mothers who have to do school runs have to wake up their children early, bathe them, prepare their food, and take the children to school, all within 2 to 3 hours. To achieve this, they have to wake up as early as 4am. Pupils and students have to leave the comfort of their beds as early as 6am just to prepare for school runs in order not to be late for school.

IMG_20240301_144647_821.jpg
A parent doing school runs, picking her children from school

My Experience of School Runs

As a teacher, school runs for me is waking up as early as 5am. Then I start preparing for school. The morning hour is when sleep is sweetest but duty calls. As a teacher, I have a duty of being in school even before my students because I have to lead my example. I prepare from 5am to 6am, then I leave the house by 6.30am, most times i trek and I reach school by 6.45am.

My week as a teacher

I rarely stay away from school except the situation involved is very serious. I attended school from Monday to Friday this week, not missing any day. Being absent from school for a day means deduction from salary for that day, which I try to avoid. Being in school is not enough, but being punctual is important too, so I made sure I woke up early enough to make it to school before the time book is crossed. Where I work, by 7:06am, the time book is crossed and that means deduction. Before 7am, I'm always in school.

School Related Activities

On Mondays, we usually have Cultural day rehearsals where we practice for our cultural day which will be coming up at the end of this month. On Wednesday, we go to the field for sports competition. We also use this period to have fun. Asides from this, the children get involved in presentation of news. All these activities aside from learning in the classroom makes school fun. The saying goes that 'all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

Screenshot_20240301-193203~2.png
I got my students involved in jogging exercise

Screenshot_20240301-193419.png
The students practising their cultural dance

Screenshot_20240301-194043.png
School is not just about learning, but having fun too.

Screenshot_20240301-194317.png
I decided to take a shot while teaching my students March past.

Stress due to school activities

It's very stressful when one is working in a private school, buy if you truly love your job and enjoy what you love doing, you might not really focus on the stress. My job is very stressful because I am teaching literature in English and English language in all the classes, both junior abs senior secondary. This means that the least periods I can have in a day is 5. Apart from this, I'm also the school administrative staff. I have to attend to students and visitors or parents in the school. I'm also the ss3 class teacher, so I'm always stressed. I resume as early as 6.40am Abd close as late as 4pm, sometimes I get home by past 6pm. I also have to write my note of lessons, set exams questions and type them, record student's scores online. The stress, sincerely is burdensome but I love teaching. Teaching makes me research, read, write and keeps me up to date on what's happening. Ordinarily, I wouldn't be reading everyday, but as a teacher, I read everyday so as to teach my students. I would feel bad if they ask me questions I can't answer.

Screenshot_20240301-195742~3.png
The stress from students is a different one

Screenshot_20240301-201326~3.png
My face at the end of a stressful work day

My Expectations for the coming Week

The coming week will be a very busy week for me. As the admin staff, I have to be in charge to give satisfactory service to both student and visitors, this I'm planning to do effectively. The coming week will also be the week for the third continuous assessment test. This means I have to set questions I will be giving the students, I will also have to write my notes of lessons for the different classes and I also have to teach. I expect to teach to the understanding of the students and also achieve success in the new week. My expectations for the coming week is being able to cover my Syllabus, I'm.also expecting to be paid my salary for the month of February which I worked for. I have high expectations that the new week will be more satisfactory than the past week, I also have high expectations that my students will pass above average in the test they are going to take this week.

Why I wouldn't miss any school day

As a class teacher and subject teacher, I wouldn't want to miss my school day because any day missed will mean nobody being in my class to guide the students. Another reason I wouldn't want to miss my school day is because a day missed means more work on my table, it means what I didn't teach that day I missed will rollover the next day meaning stress for me. I love teaching and I enjoy it and since I'm doing what I enjoy doing, it means I can't escape school. I wouldn't even advise parent s to allow their children miss school because it means missing lesson. A child who is in class when a teacher teacher a particular topic understands it better than a child who just gets the note to copy without being present in class. School runs for either mother, pupil, student or teacher is stressful but it's worth it.

Screenshot_20240301-203700~2.png
With my student.
All shots taken by me from Infinix note 5

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71