Hive vs Steem from a Little Old Lady's Perspective

in Steeming Community4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20191006_160214381.jpg


I came to Steem to escape FB, hoping for a kinder place. Like any good Steemian, I set out on both discovering great content, and learning how to create great content of my own. I weathered a couple of hard forks, which both harmed the smaller accounts on Steem, but still I chugged along, watching my curation rewards from hours of curating every day sometimes make as much as half a steem a day. I somehow got in the middle of war among the gods on steem, and when Hive promised to be a kinder and more just place, I went along for that ride. What else could a little old lady do?

The airdrop was a good thing, I admit. I felt rich there all of a sudden. So I started a steem powerdown, intending to move it all over to Hive. My plan was that I would stay on steem until my sp was all powered down, and I would then move all my steem to hive so that finally, after two years of very hard work, I would have an appreciable upvote value.

But one day I noticed something very odd. Even though I have under 1000 in steem power but over 2100 hive powered up, my Steem maximum upvote value is the same as my Hive maximum upvote value.

I decided to stop the powerdown and stick around a little longer.

A second curious mathematical phenomenon has occurred: I am making quite a bit more curating the low paying posts on steem than I make curating much higher paying posts on Hive. It's nice actually. I like upvoting excellent low payout posts. I like seeing my upvote among the top ten upvotes.

I feel like a big shot now. How often does a little old lady get to feel like a big shot?

I have stopped the Steem powerdown, and am enjoying the higher curation rewards that are now coming into my wallet on Steem.


page break by @thekittygirl

All images are my own unless otherwise stated.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

owasco_banner.png

text16.png

text16.png

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Aside from the fact that the Steem wallets don't seem to be working at the moment, I've noticed pretty much the same thing. I have more HP than SP, but my curation rewards on Steem are consistently 2-3 times what they are on Hive.

Ultimately, I'm a content creator" and a "writer." I don't care much about the whole politics aspect and the "only here, never there" subtext that runs through many online platforms. I create content where I can find an audience. If I can't find one, I leave... or stop. The only thing I challenge myself to do is to create unique posts on all platforms I use... no "cross-posting." If someone finds my stuff, they get a unique set of content, wherever they might be reading...

So there IS something wrong with my wallet! I thought about asking in PHC discord, but there have been a great many times when I have asked a very stupid question there already. Thank you for that information, which saves me possible egg on my face.

There was someone on Hive who punished those of us who were using both, but I can not see the harm in it. If I can make an extra 10 cents a day, I do not see the harm. And as I said, I can upvote the low paying posts and make just as much if not more than I make on popular posts. I don't just upvote for the money, and actually read most of what I upvote here. I try to make sure I'm not supporting crap, and I get a special thrill when I upvote a low paying post of quality.

It's nice to know I am not alone in these observations and thoughts. Thanks for stopping by.

There has been hypocrisy.
Many users (hive-steem war generals) are still publishing on steemit and they WIN a lot!
Plankton, like me, have to work tirelessly for little reward.

I'm a tireless worker too! And a couple bucks makes me think I've hit the jackpot. A lot like the real world, for all the behavior rules trying to make it different. Some of the behavior rules have lifted on steem I understand. I like that.

I don't like cheating and I think someone's lying. I don't know who but someone's lying.
Decentralization is good and healthy. I applaud.
I'm still plankton; the base of the food chain in the marine world

Are you on Hive as well? I'm making so much more money on steem than on Hive. I wonder how that came about? I sure did not expect it. What makes you think someone is lying? I can see there are two different camps, but I mostly stay out of any decision making. I'm just trying to make content that pleases me, and maybe makes a couple bucks now and then. On steem, my curation rewards are far higher than my rewards on Hive, even though my upvote value is exactly the same at this point. I'm going to power up my liquid steem that is still here and enjoy that ride for a while. Why not? some Hivians might not like it, but then they also could be supporting me more robustly, so I don't feel bad about that at all.

I've seen how hard you work, curating all over the place, thoughtful comments too. I am surprised you are still plankton. That is not right.

Hello @owasco.
I see steem lost a lot of curators. Although I work hard my rewards are low.
The dynamics of the platforms are algorithmic and if the whales don't see me and vote for me I can't grow.

The curation rewards are much higher here for me though. I don't know why. Happened after that last fork. I like that.

On Hive I'm lucky to make 5 cents a day for all the curating I do there. Here I can expect closer to 20 cents or more as an average. More folks upvote comments on their posts too. I think that's kind of forbidden on Hive.

My upvote value on comments is still below dust level, so I don't do it. But I will!!

Fewer people pulling from the pie.
Even with the abuse currently sucked up by tptb they can't match what was happening before the fork.
They are trying, though.

Your rewards will go down when they succeed.

I'll keep an eye on that then. Thanks for the analysis. I'm sure you are correct. Tptb are tptb after all.

and what is the 'tptb' stands for?

I read it as the powers that be.

BTW, I posted this only on Steem, and used the tag #steemexclusive. Look at my rewards today!! My thanks to @tribesteemup for the generous support.

Oh, man. I'm not talking about you. You're honest! Hard-working and good writer.

Aw... So nice to hear. Carry on!!!

I blindly powered down my steem before I could read into whatever is going on at hive. I am thinking of separating my work to grow steem again but due to whodver threatened all of us not to cross post and keep his 0.03 rare (at least on my end) upvotes, I have been somewhat fighting myself over these communities. I am simply tired of the chain being this unstable and unpredictable!

I think that fellow apologized, has stopped downvoting dual posters. And I don't ever remember his upvoting me at all. Could be wrong of course.

Communities divided us, Hive v steem divided us, sbi hate divided us. For all the attempts to modify our behavior, the blockchains are still pretty much like the rest of the world right now.

What a disappointing end. I thought we were going to change the world... hurts to see greed roams everywhere.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Honestly, I have not cared enough to check my curation rewards, mostly because I don't spend time on Steemit anymore. I have powered down almost everything after all...

I think it's related to the last fork on steem - I think my upvote value on steem jumped up about then. I like making ten cents a day as opposed to 3 or 4 on Hive. Maybe by the time I die I can afford a plain wooden casket. lol

Thanks for coming back! I hope more people will start to realize that

Thank you for being awesome! You just got upvoted by the @steemingcurators. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator02 account to support the best content on Steemit!

Follow @steemingcurators and also the official @steemitblog for info about Steemit, contests and the Daily Diary Challenge! Share your stories on Twitter or other social media to get extra upvotes. Just comment the link in your posts!

Biggest Live Music contest on Steemit #MusicForSteem
Follow @musicforsteem and the official community on Steemit: MusicForSteem🎵
STEEM ON!

Thank YOU for the nice upvote! One of that size is a bonanza for the likes of me! @futuremind suggested that I try using it.

Maybe if bullionstackers wasn't such a dick, you would have more folks willing to post here that really care about the success of the platform.
It's hard to do that when all your rewards get wiped over some >.10 flags on that other platform.

But, you know, new boss worse than the old boss despite all hopes to the contrary.

They have the audacity to claim to be abuse fighting.
If I had flagged them incessantly for more than a pittance, I get their point, but that isn't the case and I am getting 25usd downvotes on posts with less than 1stu payout.

Reconcile that, or stfu.

Maybe bullionstackers won't steal your new found support.
I don't know how many more days I will have it, anyways.
The normal curator is due back any time now.

Oh you are really bringing me down man! I'm over here celebrating the largest payout I have ever gotten, and it might be wiped out?! That's the behavior that made Hive look attractive.

Yeah, it is hit and miss, maybe he doesn't have anything against you and won't downvote them.

Hi @owasco,

It took me a little bit to read this because I've had a very busy day. I have heard some others say similar things in regards to curation between Steem and Hive.

I decided to move my equity out of the two blockchains, while continuing to post on Steem.

I ended up moving all equity out of Hive and have kept a little in Steem to fund the leases I use to support content creators on here.

My experience with Steem just keeps getting better and better, and many others feel the same. Some are still struggling, and my heart goes out to them. I hope the one's who are feeling left out start getting some support too.

It's always been a pretty tough place in some aspects, and weathering all of the hard forks and political drama does take a toll for those of us who didn't come here for that.

I feel like a big shot now. How often does a little old lady get to feel like a big shot?

You're looking like a big shot! Great job with this post, and thanks for the shout out, I'm happy your post received some good support. Keep up the great work my friend.

You are a big part of why I am hanging in here. Thanks for you continued support!

its late to upvote this nice story, !trdo
I better just leave here a little brick of commenting: I read all of your story and I like the reading, will check the comments too, sometimes its the folks reaction that makes the deal even more intresting.
ps. as for me, I never started a powerdown on Steemit.. but delegated almost all of my SP to Qurator. now, as the Qurator is rounding up its activity here... sooner or later (probably, sooner) I will have to decide something to myself. but I totally agree with you -- it is nice to curate and to see yourself in top 10 section of upvotes )) very cool and rewarding feeling... unfortunately sometimes you dont have time for creating a cool longread posts, not saying about reading others posts, and commention, and curating them on everyday basis -- not speaking about doing it on Two Blockchains. so, delegating SP is an imminent thing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83