ALONE IN A STRANGE LAND by @jovita30

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

Experiences of life for memories to us, some are painful other are entertaining but generally we learn from them.

My High school started in the year 2010. Though i expected the admission but finacially i was not prepeared for it. I come from a family of 9 including my parents and my parents where traders.

When the new of my admission into the university broke out my family had a mixed feeling, they where excited and the same time worried about the fees, because there was no scholarship attached to the admission.

Few months after we decided to go ahead with the little fund my parents could source out. I traveled to Owerri the capital of Imo State in Nigeria. When i got to owerri, i could not afford a very nice and comfortable hostel, a friend a just met at the admission office, while we where talking offered me a plank house to stay for the main time. Though it was not much but i was greatfull.

The matriculation

When we where done with the documentation , the next phase was the matriculation.
This was usually a big celebration, as the matriculating student is been hosted by her family and the institution, to celebrate her admission into the higher institution.

For a fresher this is a dream come through. Everyone looked up to it including me.
Two days before my matriculation, i had called my Mum to i form her of the date, and immediately i mention it to her, i could literally hear her sub, she felt bad that they could not be with me on this special day.

My parent stays in lagos state which is 418 KM (kilometers) and 600 meters and cost about #10,000(90.90 steem) as at then per person.
So it was not just the distance that stopped them but also the travel cost.

On that day, i was alone and different because i could not even afford the matriculation gown talk more of a new dress for the occation. I tried to sleep on that day, but could not as i magined how everyone except me was having fun with their family and friends.
I was alone, i was lonely. I thought of just ignoring how i felt and going to the school at least to see how the whole thing happened, but yet again i sank into my sorrow.

I finally slept off after much crying, waking up it was already dark so i managed to eat somthing because i was so sad that i forgot i had not taken anything all day.

The next day i went to school with a swollen eyes as a result of much crying and few of my course mate came to me to know what happened, and why did they not see me during the matriculation ceremony.

I told them what happened and they felt sorrow for me, one even said i could have joined her family and celebrated together.

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9uG6onf3cy5ET49tixke4DBTgmLQLZUPM2bj948FZWcdfzgcwssL34NXgGpmwQUKRoZ2yP3c7cZEjJWSkBM9yQUznRg6tnJ.jpeg
picture i took with my course mate a day after matriculation

We took a picture together after that discussion and i would forever cheerish that picture and i learnt a lesson from that experience. You would never know who is willing to help untill you ask. No matter where you find yourself, you can make a home from it.

Thank you for visiting my post, it's always a pleasure to share with this amazing community.
Thank you verymuch @fabio2614 for always putting it all together.

I invite @ceendy20 @ruthjoe @ngozi996 for this contest.

Sort:  

Wow! Such a huge experience!

 3 years ago 

Yes it was ma

 3 years ago 

!zen 30

Helloo, It is Alejandro. I just pass by to tell you that I have curated your post using Steemingcuration account. Keep up with the good work 😊

Notes: none.

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 130%

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much. I really appreciate

 3 years ago 

You are welcome 😊

 3 years ago 

good that you have nice friends then🙂

Thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much @fabio2614

 3 years ago 

Dear steemians @jovita life always gives us a lesson sometimes unnecessarily, we must "Learn" to ask for help since people are not Guess and we can never know who we can count on or trust. I loved your story because I know what that is and your optimism when sharing it.
I congratulate you and bless you from Venezuela 🇻🇪🤗🙏🏻.

Dear steemians @jovita life always gives us a lesson sometimes unnecessarily, we must "Learn" to ask for help since people are not Guess and we can never know who we can count on or trust. I loved your story because I know what that is and your optimism when sharing it.
I congratulate you and bless you from Venezuela 🇻🇪🤗🙏🏻

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much for your kind words they are sincerely appreciated by me. Thank you @teretiti

 3 years ago 

To orden friend @jovita30 🤗

A la orden amiga @jovita🤗

 3 years ago 

😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63