Steem Feedback Contest Entry Post; @event-horizon

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!!

My name is Hira and I am from Pakistan. I joined steemit in 2018. I got to know about it through a facebook group. I am a Computer Science graduate and aslo a mother. I was looking for some online flexible job. The idea of steemit was very appealing because that's what I was looking for. Flexible hours and no pressure. I used to write computer science articles for @steemstem. It was a very well organized community. But then with the fallen price, almost everyone left the platform.

Fast forward to 2021. I got to know that crypto currencies are in full swing once again. I randomly checked steemit and was surprised to find many innovations and a lot of active users again. I must say, it has improved a lot since the last time I used it.

However, I still have some suggestions in mind. I am glad this contest is taking place because as a user we have got a chance to communicate our suggestions and ideas.

I would like you to read them and want the steem team to consider them if they find these appropriate and realistic.



1- As a member of Steem community, what improvements would you like to see on the social platform steemit.com?

As a content creator/writer, we hear on daily basis that your each post can't get upvotes. That's quite understandable because one can easily miss the posts while curating. However, it takes a lot of effort to write a quality post. When one spends hours compiling a perfect post and it gets neglected then it's really demotivating.

In some communities, few quality posts are selected and upvoted on daily basis. But do you think if there are 100 posts coming in a day then selecting only 5 is fair to the rest 95? I am sure there must be quality content among those 95. Even the selected posts sometimes don't get the deserved votes.

Right now, everyone's eyes are on @steemcurator01 account in hopes to get a vote. But it is really hard for one account to upvote hundreds of posts. I think there shoud be proper trustworthy curating team of few people who should look out for under rated content and forward those posts to steemcurating accounts. Present curator accounts can delegate their steempower to the curating team members or they can follow their voting trail.

Curators must be chosen carefully and it's better if they are appointed to their respective area of interest. I mean you can't expect a foodie to evaluate a book review.

Different time slots can be assigned to curators according to their time zone. Like if there are three curators then they can work in shifts. Posts coming in from 6am to 2pm will be taken care by person X, 2pm to 10pm by person Y, 10pm to 6 am by person Z.

With the increase in steemit users, proper curating structure is much needed.


2- Which other features, tools, improvements and functionalities do you believe will benefit the user experience and improve the usability of the steemit.com social platform?


Someone wrote that what's in steemit besides reward system?

I totally agree with this statement. I am an instagram blogger and to be honest if there was no reward system in steemit, I would never post here. Why? It's not much user friendly. Being a social media platform, the user interface or front end should be appealing and easy to use.

Drag and Drop Editor
For instance, writing a simple post in here is so difficult. Everyone doesn't know html or markdown to begin with. We are in advanced age, there should be a nice drag and drop editor. It's the era of mobile phones, I would like to write my posts through my mobile but it's really a pain in the fingers to type html through mobile. I have to take out my laptop at the end to make my post presentable.

Newcomer Guidance
Secondly, when I joined steemit, I was clueless what to do after signing up. There was no newcomers' community back then. It's established now and they are doing a perfect job. But still not everyone knows about this community after signing up. I think when someone signs up, he/she should be directly referred to the newcomers' community through a link.

Live chat
If there has to be no DM(direct message) feature then atleast there should be a live chat option where lost and confused users can ask their queries from the steem management team.

Saved Posts
There should be a Save Post feature so that we can save others' posts and read them later on.
I know there is a resteem option for that but every contest rule is to resteem the post so the blogs' panel is already messed up with resteemed posts and user's personal posts.

Engagement Meter
There should be an engagement and vote meter on each user's profile. That meter should indicate how much the in question user is engaging and voting on others posts. If he/she is not doing that enough then meter should indicate low level. Constant low levels can get you flagged or atleast people will know that this user doesn't engage on others. This will encourage everyone to engage and vote on other's posts.
Now this can be set according to user's own posting activity. The ratio between user's posting activity and engaging activity should be maintained. Engaging activity shouldn't be low all the time.

Multiple Drafts
It would be life saving if there was an option of saving multiple posts as drafts and set to timer or reminder to post on fixed time.
As a mom, when I have time I try to write multiple posts but can't post them at the same time. So this feature would be great in my opinion.

User Verification
User verification is going on in @steemitfoods. I understand the concern behind it. But as we all know this place has no privacy, everyone is not comfortable with sharing their pictures in each post. It's a suggestion that steem team can ask for a picture or ID on signing up and don't disclose it. This way each user will be automatically authenticated.


3- If you are the owner or manager of a steem community, tell us more about what you believe will improve the communities update and it's management system?

I am not an owner or manager of a community but in future if I plan to do that I would like to keep tabs on my members' activity through charts or graphs.



I hope my suggestions and feedback will be of some use.
I am nominating @hassanabid, @vvarishayy, @aniqamashkoor to share their feedback.


Sort:  

Thank you For your Delegation.


Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka Community Curation Trail.

Steem Sri Lanka Discord Channel

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵

Join With
steem-sri.lanka
Curation Trail For Better Curation Rewards

 3 years ago 

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your entry into this contest.

We all wish those features would be on Steemit soon! I use steempeak before the clash of community on steem, now I really hope steemit UI will have great development soon.
Suggestion on the link to Newcomers Community is great, steemit team actually pinned the post about steemit guide on trending page, hopefully people will read them and discover newcomers community from that post.

#steemfeedbackentry67

I haven't used steempeak, so don't know. I have always been a steemit user, I'm kinda used to its UI. But still life would be easier if it gets better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47