You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Community Building with steemingcurators Community

Dear @cryptokannon

Friend of mine shared with me link to your publication. And I'm not sure if you value my feedback or not. I understand your reasons and thought process, however I believe that measures introduced are to drastic. And will only result with you losing many valuable members and many people being upset that their post is being muted (I consider it myself to be worse than receiving downvote).

I only figured that perhaps my 2 cents will make you think twice about your solution.

ps. out of curiousity -> how do you support your community members? Your expectations are quite drastic, so I presume that you're capable of giving those who participate something in return (that's how we all humans work, in community mutual benefit is crutial). Do you manage some account with solid SP, which you can use to support those who follow those strict rules?

Yours, Piotr

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Hi @crypto.piotr thank you for your concern and of course as part of Steemit Community, I appreciate any constructive feedback if that will bring improvement to the community as a whole.

I think we admins have "abandoned" this community, without any rules for more than 4 months already.. and the users who been posting in steemingcurators community have received quite good support from The Steemit Team curation. I believe if they regularly post on this community, they have received quite good earning already and can afford to delegate to the community curation account, or at least join the curation trail for valid membership, note that we don't put any amount of SP to join there.

I agree with you that we been a little bit drastic because we have muted their post so that they pay attention to the community's new guidelines and membership. That's only our intentions.. otherwise, they are welcome to the community as long as they adhere to the community new membership, vision, and mission.

I actually never posted in any community so I don't know the feeling of being muted in any community, I didn't know it will be such a big deal/worst than being downvote as you stated.

how do you support your community members? Your expectations are quite drastic, so I presume that you're capable of giving those who participate something in return (that's how we all humans work, in community mutual benefit is crutial). Do you manage some account with solid SP, which you can use to support those who follow those strict rules?

The Steemit Team have announced on their blogpost about community support program, they will support any genuine community who wants to build their community SP to become self sufficient. I'm relying on that for now and the constant curation support they give to the users that posted in this community.

Thanks again for your concern and feedback, I appreciate it. 😊

Appreciate your reply.

I agree with you that we been a little bit drastic because we have muted their post so that they pay attention to the community's new guidelines and membership.

Perhaps I didn't make myself clear. I do not consider "muting" as something to trastic.

I simply think that introducing new "rules" or ideas need to take time. Executing new rules within the same second when those rules are being implemented - that causes confusion, build feeling of uncertainty and many more negative emotions, which do not help to achieve planned goal.

Also it's important to realize that content discovery is really bad on Steemit. And you won't be able to reach most of your members with this post. That's reality. So warning members and giving them time to learn about upcoming changes -> that perhaps could make things more smooth for you and others.

I actually never posted in any community so I don't know the feeling of being muted in any community, I didn't know it will be such a big deal/worst than being downvote as you stated.

The problem is that your post is then not only muted within community, but is pretty much INVISIBLE on entire chain. Noone will see it on their feed. Content discovery is going all the way to zero.

Stay safe

 4 years ago 

@crypto.piotr yea I agree on bad content discovery too, but this post as you see being pinned on the trending page of this community. The chance of it being not discovered is low if they come into this community and post their content into this community.

Then I think by muting the post of the users on this community will speed up the reach out. I see it works, just that has some negative effect. But I think they would understand that we just trying to get their attention and reaching out to them as fast as possible. We will unmute their post once they do what needs to be done.

Ok, I can wish you only good luck @cryptokannon

Hopefully your decision won't result with your community losing many members.

All the best,
Yours, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76