CONTEST ENTRY ON MY FAVORITE OPERATING SYSTEM BY @jimah1k

in Zero to Infinity3 years ago (edited)

Hi guys;

I’m very humbled and grateful to be part of this noble community. My special appreciation goes to the organizers of this competition Bravo to you all. There are lots of operating systems in this world but Linux operating system is my favorite, I will tell you guys what it is, why I love and so many cool and interesting aspects of it. Let’s go



FDE90CE8-951B-4C23-A617-AAF265E2CDAB.png

source


Basically an operating system manages the computers affairs without it the computer is useless. They also serves as a bridge of communication between the computers hardware and software. Some examples of operating systems Microsoft windows, Linux Apple macOS and many more.

What is Linux?



B958AAE2-AA40-4410-8A8C-8F2829A276D0.png

source


It was developed in the early 1990’s by Linus Torvalds. He programmed Linux to be a free and open source software this means users have the right to use, learn and edit to their satisfaction. In this modern world Linux has been divided into different versions called distribution or distros just to suite the users. There are over 100 distros in the world and each performing certain unique functions. Here are some examples of popular Linux distros;



CE836E57-C671-4FE0-A99D-08C81944AE45.png

source


  • LINUX MINT
  • MANJARO
  • DEBIAN
  • UBUNTU
  • ANTERGOS
  • SOLUS
  • FEDORA
  • ELEMENTARY OS
  • OPENSUSE

Why I love Linux or why you should choose Linux

I have friends who complain of their computer which runs on other operating system being attacked by viruses, regularly freezing, crashes and many more I have personally been using Linux for over 5 years and I haven’t experienced Any of this problems.

Remember I said Linux is open source which means you can run any program without any restrictions for me the main reason why I choose Linux is because if freedom and security and I believe it’s the main reason so many users choose Linux

Another reason is with Linux operating system you can add or delete any feature for example on my computer I have installed amazing graphics to make my desktop look wow.



1E34D788-243A-457E-95E3-074EDF68B940.png

source


Variety to choose from, Linux has about 100 distro to suit anyone if you aren’t a Pro in programming you can use UBUNTU which is for beginners whiles if you are good in programming another distro is made specially for you to choose from.

Linux is very cheap as compared to other operating systems. Linux can be downloaded for free it comes with GNU Which stands general public license this means you don’t have to pay for license unlike windows you have to buy.

These are some of reasons why Linux is my favorite operating system I hope you guys will try it

Thank you.

Sort:  

Screenshot_6.jpg

Nice to read your post .

Keep posting and stay our community.

Thank you .

Linux has about 100 distro to suit anyone

What is this distro means?? Is this some sort programming/instruction?

You have been upvoted by @tarpan A Country Representative, we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update. You can also check out this link which provides the name of the existing community according to specialized subject

There are also various contest is going on in steemit, You just have to enter in this link and then you will find all the contest link, I hope you will also get some interest,

For general information about what is happening on Steem follow @steemitblog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78