MUSIC FOR STEEM WEEK 4 - @esouthern3 and @cmp2020 Vienna

in Music For Steem 🎵4 years ago

Hello everyone! This week Emma and I decided to do Billy Joel's Vienna for our Music for Steem submission. I picked this song because I have always liked Billy Joel's music (ever since I was in grade school). It has been a part of my life for so long, and I have always particularly enjoyed this song. I thought it would sound nice with Emma singing, and I thought the piano part would be fun to play. Sadly it was a little more simple than I'd expected. I spiced it up a bit towards the end. Whatever the case, Emma's voice sounds beautiful on it!

Here are the lyrics and the video. After the video I will also include a little bit about what the song is about.

Slow down, you crazy child
You're so ambitious for a juvenile
But then if you're so smart, tell me
Why are you still so afraid, hmm?

Where's the fire, what's the hurry about?
You'd better cool it off before you burn it out
You've got so much to do and only so many hours in a day-ay

But you know that when the truth is told
That you can get what you want or you could just get old
You're gonna kick off before you even get halfway through, ooh
When will you realize, Vienna waits for you?

Slow down, you're doing fine
You can't be everything you want to be before your time
Although it's so romantic on the borderline tonight
Tonight

Too bad but it's the life you lead
You're so ahead of yourself that you forgot what you need
Though you can see when you're wrong
You know you can't always see when you're right
You're right

You've got your passion, you've got your pride
But don't you know that only fools are satisfied?
Dream on, but don't imagine they'll all come true, ooh
When will you realize, Vienna waits for you?

Slow down, you crazy child
And take the phone off the hook and disappear for awhile
It's all right, you can afford to lose a day or two, ooh
When will you realize, Vienna waits for you?

And you know that when the truth is told
That you can get what you want or you could just get old
You're gonna kick off before you even get halfway through, ooh
Why don't you realize, Vienna waits for you?
When will you realize, Vienna waits for you?

About the song

If you want to learn some more about the song, here is a video where Billy Joel explains it:

Hint for next week's song

Next week we are doing a song that Emma picked. She has already revealed that it is a Disney song. I will give one additional hint that it is a sad song from a movie that came out in the late 90s.

Sort:  

Amazing job @esouthern3 and @cmp2020! I really appreciated Emma's enunciation of each word when she is singing. I think that is a really underrated vocal performance skill that is often overlooked. Also, nice page turning. And Christopher, what can I even say at this point? You are so good at playing piano that I have nothing else to compliment you on.

Thanks JMOR! We'd love it if you submit a clarinet performance. Again, if you need me to make a backing track, I'd be glad to.

Debe ser genial ustedes dos juntos, real book...Esperaré esa propuesta seguramente será un éxito

Both AMAZING! Also, love the lower voice of Emma, very powerful. And if you want to hear Christopher his solo, at about 2.16 he goes WILD!

Thank you for the Music for Steem!!

Thank you for being awesome! You just got upvoted by the @steemingcurators. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator02 account to support the best content on Steemit!

Follow @steemingcurators and also the official @steemitblog for info about Steemit, contests and the Daily Diary Challenge! Share your stories on Twitter or other social media to get extra upvotes. Just comment the link in your posts!

Biggest Live Music contest on Steemit #MusicForSteem
Follow @musicforsteem and the official community on Steemit: MusicForSteem🎵
STEEM ON!

Gran trabajo, felicidades a los dos por esta puesta en escena, me sigue sorprendiendo tu forma de tocar el piano... Gran Performance musical, sensibilidad y matices....

¡Mucho Gracias!

Thanks so much! If its not You´ll be in my heart, we request this song for another week! Tarzan <3 (Tissues will be needed)

Thank you for this song! It was great again!
Hmmm next week is also bugging me! Just a wild guess: You'll be in my heart??

I am sorry, but that is not what we have planned, but I texted Emma, and she definitely wants to do it at some point!

hmmm, well its also not the Lion King.. Maybe something from Toy Story 2 but I am out of free guesses.

Wow

This was quite an impressive performance Emma and Christopher. Well done 👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28