What if You Got A Chance To Time Travel... Which Era It Would Be & WHY?? Entry by @sanyazulfiqar

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! This is the first ever contest I am participating in and frankly, it is pretty exciting.

Time travel to the past:

What could be better for an avid reader than to get a chance to travel back in time and meet their favorite author? In my case, it is the Queen of Crime, Agatha Christie, whose riveting suspense novels have compelled me to turn from a mere reader to a fanatic. Therefore, the era I choose to travel is the 1920s England or as most people call it the ‘Roaring 20s’.

standard_Agatha_Christie.png
source

Witnessing Christie penning down her lead character and the fandom’s favorite Belgium sleuth, Hercule Poirot, for the first time, would be a treat in itself. However, I equally look forward to sightseeing. I mean who wouldn’t? Especially when you have just travelled back a hundred years!

Dressed in my sequined evening dress, adorned with a pearl necklace, and T-strap heels, whether I can walk in these or not is another story (and a stunning fuchsia hat – the 20s staple), I head towards my lavish black carriage, waiting on the hustling bustling streets of London, which will take me to my destination - the grand Vaudeville Theatre. Am I interested in watching theatre dramas when I can comfortably sit at home and watch Netflix? Not really, but when in Rome, do as the Romans do! So here we are doing the most English thing one can do from the era – watching a romantic play and sobbing!

Channeling my inner time traveller, who is still human enough to get famished, considers it a sin to not try the famous English tea and biscuits or suet pudding or a pineapple upside down cake (attaching a picture to confirm I did not make that up) while here. It’s the era of jazz, and I am tapping my feet to the rhythms of Fats Waller and Jimmie Rodgers while having a delightful supper.

5060858499_4a35fae5f4_b.jpg
source

Lastly, here’s me ticking off ‘spending a breezy evening on top of a bridge across River Thames’, off my bucket list because here we are! The grandeur and magnificence of the view makes one feel so ordinary yet leaves you in awe.
Thank you admins for this opportunity that brought my imagination to text.

Best regards,
@sanyazulfiqar

I am tagging:
@event-horizon
@aniqamashkoor

My achievement 1

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

This is literally the best and most precise time travel story I have read so far. Hats off to your imagination. I literally felt like I was teleported to the 20s. lol

Best of luck!

Here is the alternate upvote for your achievement 1 post.
You have been upvoted by Haidermehdi, a member of Newcomers Greeter team and we are voting with steemcurator03 to upvote achievement posts of new users.
Happy steeming.

 3 years ago 

Therefore, the era I choose to travel is the 1920s

Quite awkward but interesting from my point of view!
Many people would think of going to their future and see what they hold, some might go back to their childhood to relive the cherishing and soothing memories they had!

This one, witnessing your favorite author? Out of context but fits perfectly on an imagination story! Yes for a reader/writer of your level, i think this could be the best depiction of how you could enjoy the moments..
I am already a fan of christie just by reading your words and your vocabulary 🤣😁

I could feel the breeze sitting near the bridge🥺

Welcome to STEEMIT PAKISTAN community.
Yours, Haidermehdi.
Admin STEEMIT PAKISTAN.
Country Representative Pakistan

Hi @haidermehdi. Thank you. I am glad I could make you a Christie fan by my writing :)

 3 years ago 

good strory thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65