Steemit Engagement Challenge Week # 3 || Defend The Statements || Court is in session!

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN2 years ago



Image Source

I studied law at the age of 36 but I never got to do my internship as I mainly studied it to better myself.

I’ve often wondered how lawyers get it right to defend their clients even if they know deep down that they are in the wrong. Best of all, how can they defend someone who has clearly committed a murder.

Well I suppose today will be the day for me to defend two statements which I am not convinced is 100% the correct statements.

As a human it is our right to have defense. It is also no the lawyers job to decide if a person is guilty or not so good luck to the person who must make the judgement in the end.

As for you, members of the jury, please take your seats.

Case 1 – The state against “A woman's place is in the kitchen”

Your honour, I do believe that a woman’s place is in the kitchen and I hope to proof it to you and the jury.

As my first witness I call Mr. Tshabalaha.

Mr. Thabalaha is still from the “old school” but he is supported by thousand other men in the society. There is a big physical and mental difference between genders. Men are leading the way in doing more physical work, work where more strength is required. Women on the other hand is the softer version. They do less work where physical strength is required therefor the kitchen is where they belong.

Mrs. Smith is my second witness.

She believes that men in general doesn’t care how they do things. All that matter to them is to get the job done. They don’t care how the food look or even taste as long as they can eat. Women cook from their soul. They put effort into the food they present to their families and friends as they care about their cooking.

My last witness is a young man, Joseph.

It is Joseph’s believe that the relation between a woman and kitchen has been there for many years. It is tradition. Therefor it should be treasured and not be broken. For him as a youngster it is the beauty of his expectation for his new bride. As part of a new generous he will help her where he can and will also cook but the kitchen belongs to her.

In closure I want you to close your eyes and take a seat in the kitchen. See your mother standing behind the stove. Smell the aroma hanging in the air. Hear the chatting and laughter of the rest of the family. It is only a women’s cooking that can create this ambiance.

The kitchen for me is still the heart of the home and the kitchen is where the woman belongs!

I rest my case!

Case 2 – The state against “Punishment never has a good effect”

Members of the jury my first witness is Dr. Louise.

According to Dr. Louise the punishment on the long run has no effect on the behavior of children. It is the same for women when they give labor. The pain is almost unbearable but not even a month later they’ve forgotten how intense the pain was as the beauty of a child has replaced it. The same with punishment. It might be felt right at the moment but a few hours later it is forgotten and have no effect.

Dr. Louise who is the mother of two children and two stepchildren has first-hand experience thereof.

She also claims that putting children through punishment can cause mental problems like depression and anxiety. This can result in children being less sociable which is so needed when they are children.

Children needs friends and they need to be able to develop their own personalities.

My last witness in this case is Professor Knowall.

According to the professor we need to look at two scenarios, the parent and the child. When parents enforce punishment it so often can go wrong and lead to physical abuse of the child. This can then also become a habit and lead to serious injuries. On the child side children who receive punishment often become aggressive when they grow up.

Your honor and members of the jury, our children are our most valuable assets and parenthood is a gift from the Almighty. There are so many other ways in which we can reprimand and teach our children what is right and what is wrong.

I strongly believe that punishment never has a good effect.

I rest my case!

Case 3 – The state against “Votes are not guaranteed SC01”

The defense calls SC01 to the stand.

Members of the jury, I have two questions for you.

Is there anything in life that you can for certain guarantee?

I must have read the word “vote” a thousand times on Steemit! Vote up, vote down, up-vote and down-vote.
I also read about cast votes, witness vote, voting power number of votes, votes received, votes cast, active votes and more.

In one article the word vote was mentioned 66 times!

Not once have I read about guaranteed vote! This as far as it goes for guaranteed vote in general and for sure about guaranteed vote from SC01.

Now, take a good look at the accused on the stand and tell me, is it fair to want a guarantee vote?

And... that is where I rest my last and final case.

Court adjourned.



Image Source

*All names, case etc. is of my own thinking

20% to @pak-charity

Sort:  

Wow, coming from a lawyer, am impressed with my self t participating in this contest.

Ma, I love your article and must say that I wish this articles will be publish for the world to see them and read especially with the fact that children are really suffering this punishment thing.

Children are supposed to be corrected with love not pain.

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! Thank you for your kind words!
Children are the future and we cannot afford to harm them.
It is so wrong! People who harm them should be put away for life!

 2 years ago 

I really liked your approach to the challenge. Thank you for taking part in this critical thinking contest and making valid points to defend the statements.

Don't forget to interact with other contest participants by commenting and upvoting their posts.

Quality ChecksStatus
Plagiarism-Free
Bot-Free
Steem Exclusive
Club100
Word Count~915
Beneficiary to pak-charity20%

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the feedback! I appreciate it! :-)

 2 years ago 

I have read your case through and it all hold water. Your client is guaranteed of win. The jury will have the final say anyways but the cases are well defended. I think I will have to consult you for my case. Please what's your charges like? I am a poor lady seeking for justice

 2 years ago 

Haha! What a reply! You've made my day!
As a friend to a friend, no charge! A big hug will do :-)

 2 years ago 

Sealed, I will relate all the truth to you, then you will defend me. Let's see how it goes

 2 years ago 

Thumbs up!! :-)

Wow. It's very great to read that you studied law. It is great to see someone who follows a course, not for a certificate but for the love of it

The way you presented your argument, the mark down. I am sure you will make a great lawyer.

Overall, your presentation was spendid. Thank you for sharing. You can engage with me through My link

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading my court cases :-) I've enjoyed your feedback.
As for your post, I've paid you a visit. Keep up the good work!

On a second thought, i think you are a lawyer😄, well, i wont argue with your judge i will just respect it.

I hope to pass my statement on each of these cases when i dropped my entry soon.

This is a great approach 👍 😊

 2 years ago 

I’m glad you’ve like it.
Thank you for being a juror in my coourt!

You are welcome my lord😊

 2 years ago 

Haha! Smart one!

Interesting as I was reading o imagine the scene and it looks as if I was in a court, you need to listen to how I changed my voice to depict each character in the court thank you so much for bringing out points to this critical thinking I appreciate your great work it is understandable, I will drop my entry soon

 2 years ago 

Then it is for me to thank you for being a juror in my court. 😊
I’m looking forward to your entry.

Oh yes the kitchen is the heart of the home and where a woman belongs.
Punishment rather makes children stubborn because they know after a crime, all they will get is punishment and they sometimes get too use to that. So it's not the right thing.
Votes are not guaranteed.
I enjoyed reading through as usual.

 2 years ago 

I’m so glad that that you were a juror in my court.
With you on my side I can only win the case.😊
Thank you for taking part.

And finally you have practiced what you have studied... I really like the creativity with which you put to this post. It's one of the best articles I have read today. You really defended the statements you chose professionally.

I'm thinking one of these days, I will sign up for the "School of creativity" with you and learn from your reservoir of knowledge.

Thank you @patjewell for sharing your opinions with us.

Kind regards.

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! Thank you so much! Your words are a true inspiration to me!
Yes! With a reply like yours I truly feel I can say “I had my first case”.
Thank you!
No need for your to join a school or class from any kind. You ate doing great as is 😊

Wow!!! It felt like I was in the law court until I got to the comments session🤔🤔😳😳.
Steemit doesn't have to hire a lawyer for court cases at all.
We're discovering talents here😄😄.

Well done, Mummy. I wish you success in this Contest 💪.

 2 years ago 

Awh thank you! With a juror like you on my side I can only be victories in court!
Thank you!

Wow!!! This entry is amazing and superb. Reading through it I saw myself in a court room witnessing all of these happen like for real. I could see the accused trembling with fear as every fingers pointed at him.

Honestly I love your initiative with the contest

Truth be told punishment is never good, votes are not guaranteed and a woman's place is not in the kitchen

 2 years ago 

Awh! Thank you for enjoying it!
I hope I got you as a juror on my side! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31