Biggest Achievement of Your Life | Contest by @huzaifanaveed1 | #CLUB100

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN3 years ago (edited)

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT OF YOUR LIFE.png

Hello steemers! Hope you all are doing well. I would like to thank @huzaifanaveed1 for arranging this contest. I'm glad that we're finally getting to see interesting contest topics on steemit Pakistan; it's such a refresher!

Now coming to the topic of this contest. Well to be honest, all my life I have been just an average person. An ordinary student who was average in studies and below average in extracurricular activities. I don't remember doing or achieving anything extraordinary in my student life ever. The only thing I would say I was a little good at was arts and cooking, but since I never got the chance of actually exploring my potential, I never really achieved anything in these domains either.

Anyway, life went on and I got married while I was still in university. Gave birth to my now two and a half year old daughter just after completing my degree. Due to my husband’s job nature I had to leave my home town which is Karachi and move to a very small town in KPK. In the beginning, life was busy with a new born baby and I was excited to move to a new place. However, soon life got really monotonous and boring. The stress of not being able find a good job started taking over. I thought If I'm not able to earn money for myself then I'm just wasting my degree and my life. I would feel sad and spend most of the days wallowing in self pity thinking my life is now all about changing diapers, thinking about what to make for dinner today, cleaning the house and waiting for dear husband to get back from work.

My only entertainment was participating in events and activities organized by the ladies club of the community I live in. One day I was informed by the head of the ladies' club that Mrs. Chief will be visiting our Base and I’d have to make a dessert for her and other senior officer wives of the Base. I happily agreed to it as I have always enjoyed baking and making desserts. So I planned to make chocolate brownie trifle and prepared all the dessert bowls one day prior to the event.

thumbnail_Screenshot_20211102-145759_Instagram.jpg

The next day my dessert was served to the guests after lunch. While I was enjoying my food in the same hall, the senior lady of our Unit came to me and told me Mrs. Chief wants to talk to you. At first I got really nervous but then mustered the courage to go up to her. Now, I was sure I had made a good tasting dessert but did not expect the kind of response I got from Mrs. Chief. She first asked what my name was and then showered me with the most amazing compliments I have ever received in my life. She excessively thanked me for making the most delicious dessert for her, asked for it's recipe and also suggested that I should give classes to other ladies on the Base. Not only her but all the senior ladies who tasted the dessert gave me great compliments. After Mrs. Chief left, the senior lady of our unit came to me and showered me with unlimited hugs and kisses and told me how truly happy she was for me. I felt really shy in that moment and did not know what to say so I just stood there in complete shock. I then thanked Allah in my heart for blessing me with immense respect from my seniors. My husband also got to know about the great appreciation that I had received from Mrs. Chief and I could sense him being really happy for me from the big smile on his face.

Then one month later, I was informed by Mrs. Commandant that the Chief will be visiting our base soon so she wants me to make the same dessert again since previously his wife loved it so much. I was over the moon and agreed to it instantly but little did I know that I’d have to go through a list of protocols in order to prepare this dessert for him.

Two days prior to his arrival, I had to get my corona test done. I was not allowed to leave the base until I had prepared the dessert. While shopping for the ingredients, I was accompanied by a few men for supervision and also had to prepare the dessert under their supervision. Moreover, I was informed to submit a sample of the dessert to be tested in lab before it is consumed by the Chief. This whole process got really frustrating for me at one point and I was actually regretting agreeing to this task. However, my husband made me realize that it's an honor for us to be appreciated so much and approached again. He encouraged me to whole heartedly do the job I was given so I did as he said and prepared the dessert to be served to the Chief guest.

thumbnail_1635848550360.jpg

And so this has been my greatest achievement so far; To have the opportunity of preparing delicious dessert for Mrs. and Mr. Chief twice and receiving the best compliments for my skills from people who otherwise wouldn't have known I even existed. The fact that all the senior ladies of our Base were also appreciated by Mrs. Chief because of me is what makes this achievement extra special.
Now, whenever I meet Mrs. Commandant, she greets me with so much love and respect. Once at a dinner gathering she said to me 'We will not remember you by your husband’s name, we will remember you by YOUR name' and her words made me feel greatly humbled and honored. I now also realize that its not the materialistic rewards that matter in life. Sometimes, it’s the respect, recognition and appreciation the biggest reward that you could get for your efforts.
This event has truly been the highlight of my life so far and I couldn't be happier. I feel confident about my self now and think that my passion for cooking can make me achieve many more great things in life, one of them being starting my own food business someday.


Thank you for reading my post!
I now invite @dabeerahmed , @afifaasif and @ayeshakhaan to take part in this contest.

My Achievement 1

Steemit Pakistan Footer 1.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

This is such a realistic post and it is so beautifully written. It brought a smile on my face while reading that Mrs chief loved your dessert however I don't understand the Protocols associated with Mr Chief wtv his name is. Tbh I have never developed a liking for army personnels and their officers because they're mostly arrogant and all about themselves, however you can disagree with me.

I would like to say a couple of things to you. Whatever degree you have, make sure you work in that field. Do not waste your time and your potential. Or else when you're in your 40s and 50s, you'll be surrounded by regrets and questions like 'kya zuroorat thi mujhe itna parhne ki' and stuff. I've seen it all around me. Thoughts like these lead people to depression. Just my two cents of advice. Hope you don't mind it.
Have a good day.

 3 years ago 

Tbh I have never developed a liking for army personnels and their officers because they're mostly arrogant and all about themselves, however you can disagree with me.

Military Personals are the most amazing and fun-loving. There are no such friendships, love and respect in civil like in military life. The thing you are calling arrogance is discipline and a senior/junior protocol. It's a part of their training. There must be some nut-cases but so are in civil. So we can't judge a whole society based on one bad experience. :p

 3 years ago (edited)

There are no such friendships, love and respect in civil like in military life.

True. They're excellent friends and cover for each other alot as well. Not denying that. But do they respect 'ordinary civilians'? :P

 3 years ago 

Lol Ordinary. Yes, I can't recall if I ever met someone who degrades civilians. In fact, we are envious.

 3 years ago (edited)

Thank you so much!
I didn't understand the protocols either at first. In fact, it's funny how I wasn't asked to follow any such protocol when I first made the dessert for Mrs. Chief. My friend even joked about it saying 'that's because she's replaceable but the Chief is not.' ;D

But I now believe these protocols were not unreasonable. One, obviously because he's a VVIP and second, if God forbid he had fallen sick after consuming the dinner and my dessert, then at least I wouldn't have been held accountable for it as I had prepared the dessert under supervision and had even sent a sample that was tested.

And about people belonging to the forces being arrogant, Well I'd say that all kinds of people exist everywhere. Maybe you have unfortunately only met the bad ones but I can assure you that in my 4 years of experience, I've never met any officer that has given off such a vibe. Most of them are humble, respectful and hard working people. :)

And yes, you're right and I agree with you. I do plan on studying further and then finding a suitable job. But the problem is that I have a degree in Psychology and degrees related to my major are not offered in Universities where I live. Aur phir isi sey related chotay shehron mein job milna is another hurdle. Anyway, thanks for the concern. Maybe when I move to a bigger city I can then think about pursuing my Masters in Psychology.

 3 years ago 

Hey! You didn't tell me this. I am so proud of you. I have tasted your desserts and they are mind-blowing. Although, I lack sweet tooth but your desserts, anytime. :D

 3 years ago 

Haha yes, this happened. Chalo now you know! :D

Thank you so much! 😊💖

 3 years ago 

So nice @lolitsmaryam ♥️
You explained everything with full emotions and maybe one day I can taste your desert when you start your business someday :)

 3 years ago 

Thank you Varisha! :)
InshaAllah I hope that day comes soon!

 3 years ago (edited)

Thankyou for inviting me💖
You described everything so beautifully tbh. I also would not want to be home doing nothing or just being an ordinary house wife when I come to your stage. So yeah I like this💥❤

 3 years ago 

Thank you!
Yess girlll! Work hard and achieve your dreamss! <3

 3 years ago 

Mash Allah your post is too good as usual 👍👍you wrote your post like an intrusting story all the best for contest.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much for your appreciation :)

 3 years ago 

Most well come

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65