You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contest Alert ! Biggest Lie Ever, my article

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN2 years ago

Yes, fixed and nobody knows how far away they are how can they be a reference point? For a reference point to work in this case, you absolutely need to know its distance. I have asked this question of lots of people, I get kind of esoteric answers but in the end they just say, look I can't explain it but it works. And frankly I am too old to believe in that kind of justification.

Sort:  

Now finally I can see what you called "the error in this" - it is in the diagram itself!
I didn't look at this carefully since I regard it as a symbolic picture. And this it is!
It's not a real diagram of angles and distances.
The scale is completely distorted!
In real life the distance tu Proxima Centauri is more than 100.000 times of the diameter of earth's circle round the sun.
So the diagram would have to show the star about 3 km (!) to the right.. Or earth's circle smaller than one single pixel. Both is obviously impossible, but the imagination may show you that you are right in regard to this poor diagram...

I have asked this question of lots of people, I get kind of esoteric answers but in the end they just say, look I can't explain it but it works. And frankly I am too old to believe in that kind of justification.

I agree!

nobody knows how far away they are how can they be a reference point?

It is not necessary to know their exact distance, it is enough to know that they are very, very far away - so far away, that they seem to be fixed and therefore usable in the triangulation. As if they would be in an infinite distance.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66566.79
ETH 3333.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70