Weekly Engagement Contest - My favorite sibling

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN3 years ago (edited)


(This is my favorite picture so using again as cover.)


Not always eye to eye but always heart to heart.

-Sam Levenson

This quotation pretty much explains everything about the world's most cute and affectionate relationship which is SIBLINGS. We are three siblings. I am the eldest one and I have two younger brothers. We all have very small age difference which made the fights fierce and bonding powerful. I will be sharing about my immediate younger brother. We are 1.8 years apart.

Now let me share the conflicts on everything small and big over the years. lol

  • He was good in studies but I was better. He used to blame me that because of my better grades, he gets scolded by parents.

  • He was outdoorsy, always wanted to hang out with his friends and I was comfortable at home. Again the blame was on me because he was labeled "is ka ghar dil nhi lgta".

  • He had to watch football matches and I had to watch soaps. This resulted in most common tv remote fights.

  • He wanted "chana palao" and I wanted "matar palao". We gave a hard time to our mom on this.

  • He liked KFC and I liked Subway.

  • He had to demand every new toy, every new game CD, every new mobile phone and I was content most of the time. This labeled him "farmayishi".

  • He liked fast food and I wanted home cooked.

  • For higher studies, he moved to IST and then NUST Islamabad and I moved to UET Lahore. Then the debate lead to which (whose) city and university is better.


We were not eye to eye on so many things. I have just written the ones that came to my mind now. But after all, we are siblings. The bonding was strong. We used to fight like murderous cats at home but in front of others we always had each others back. I fought for him and he fought for me. Even we used to go to our parents to ask for special permissions of things for each other. On each others face, we used to threat each other about telling parents if someone was doing a mischief.

Now he is content with everything he has and I have sudden urges to get everything I like.

He has become less outdoorsy and If I don't go out for more than two days, I get cranky.

We both like Subway now. He took me to satisfy my sudden craving for Subway, the last time I visited.


on the way back with subway takeaway

(This picture may seem normal to most people for us it was special because we were together after six months being locked down in different cities due to pandemic. And after this, another six months have passed and I haven't seen him.)

We have both said our goodbyes to Islamabad and Lahore and now we both are in love with Karachi. Although I have left Karachi recently but he lives there nowadays because of work.

I am married now so we see a lot less of each other. Even before my wedding, the day we stepped out of our parents home for higher studies, we could only meet on Eid holidays. Other than that our routine always clashed.

Even now, I'm visiting my parents home after 6 months but we will not be able to meet because he will arrive the day after I will leave back for my home. That is life.

Still he is the favorite Mamu (uncle) of my children. My elder son has a very sweet bond with him. They both enjoy each others' company a lot.


In short, despite all our clashes, we have grown to respect our differences. We are protective of each other. In childhood, I thought he was careless but over the time, I have learned that he is the most protective, sensitive and caring person. Not only to humans, he is extremely caring towards stray animals. Wherever he goes, he makes friends with a cat or a dog.


I pray for his good health and successful career. I hope he finds himself a nice bride soon. :p


P. S. I haven't deliberately mentioned in some pics who is the brother I'm talking about. Can you guess?


Sort:  
 3 years ago 

It was so loved and satisfying, reading your love for your brother. I have always wished for a brother just because I feel after father they are the best protector, either they are younger or eldest, they know how to do this. Still Alhamdulillah I am very much blessed and happy with my one and only sister <3. This lockdown has changed many things. May the love keep growing between you all siblings.
Aameen.

P.s the side rack in your picture (the rack that joins in step with three pillars), we used to had the same at our place in my childhood. Now I believe at that time they were very in.

 3 years ago 

Thankyou so much for the prayers dear!
I don't have a sister and I have no idea what it feels like to have one. I'm sure it must be great.

Yeah that rack was in trend in those days. This picture is from late 90s.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31