Steemit Engagement Challenge Combines with Steemit Pakistan Community || Cameroon 🇨🇲 🇨🇲 (Africa in Miniature) || "The Three Rs and Three Cs"

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN2 years ago (edited)

Hello my esteem steemians, accept greetings from Cameroon. Thanks to steemit Pakistan community and steemit team for this challenge that will enable us know more about many countries in the world. Some of us are not opportune to visit these countries, but this challenge will make it possible for some of us to visit some countries due to their touristic attractions. That said, permit me share with you guys a brief introduction about my country (Cameroon or Cameroun).

Introduction

The name Cameroon came from Portuguese explorers who came to Cameroon in the 15th and 16th Centuries and settled around the estuary of River Wouri, and the name “Rio dos Camarões” was given by the Portuguese, which means “River of Prawns” Source . After the Portuguese left after facing serious resistance, the Germans came and the name “Kamerun” was given to their protectorate territory. They equally faced stiff resistance from the people and they eventually left. The British and French finally were the last to annexed Cameroon. Cameroon was partitioned and ruled by the British using the indirect rule system and the French using assimilation.

French Cameroon gained its independence in January 1st, 1960. In 1961, British Cameroons voted to join French Cameroun through a plebiscite organised by the United Nations.

This beautiful motherland shared boundaries with Nigeria🇳🇬 being our neighbor in the Northwest, we have Chad 🇹🇩 in NorthEast, Central African Republic 🇨🇫 with Congo 🇨🇩 in the Southeast, Gabon🇬🇦/ Equatorial Guinea 🇬🇶 in the South and finally the Atlantic Ocean in the Southwest.

CF1E4367-5922-4D55-8731-CBF89FD887DB.gif
Source

Cameroon also well known as “Africa in Miniature” is known for her linguistic, geological and cultural diversities. This means that almost everything you can find in Africa is present in Cameroon. We have over 253 ethnic groups with different languages but our two official languages are English/French.
CD6268B6-8962-4B63-8B41-6E63ECCA88C0.jpeg
Source

The Three Rs that Makes me Love my Country

There are several reasons I love my Country Cameroon but I am going to talk about the most important three Rs which are as follows:

  • Culture and Arts
  • Food
  • Hospitality

Permit me explain in details the reasons stated above.

Culture and Arts

I am a lover of culture and arts work and all this is what my country cherished a lot. Remember I earlier said we have over 253 ethnic groups and this alone should tell you the diversity in culture and arts. Though we have over 253 ethnic groups with different languages, the two harmonised official languages is of great importance as it enable us to easily communicate not only amongst us but to the outside world.

These ethnic groups have different traditional regalias and I so much cherish them. One of the traditional regalias I cherished most is that of the grass field which I am from.

9C3E4364-435F-4C4F-B628-E0911E8E5431.jpeg
Me in My traditional wear

Arts work is also one of the things that makes me love Cameroon. I am from a royal family and in each fondom, a lot of art is used to decorate the palaces. Even in our national and regional museums, it shows we love art work. This has attracted many internationals to travel to Cameroon. This is one of the industries in Cameroon that generates a lot of income from tourists.

EE1979EA-8A4E-4A00-BDEE-9185307697CD.jpeg
Front View of the National Museum in Yaoundé

Food Diversity

Another reason I love my country is the abundance of food. We are blessed with good soils that enable us to grow variety of crops. Because of our cultural diversity, we have different delicacies and its impossible for someone to visit Cameroon and complained of food. Some of our delicacy dishes include; khatikhati eaten with fufu made from corn flour, Ndolé eaten with Miyondo, fufu and Eru, Bongo Chobi eaten with plantains, Achu made from cocoyam eaten with yellow soup etc. These different dishes are prepared by different ethnic groups in all regions of Cameroon. Each dish is unique in taste and flavour.

I love thSome of the dishes I prepared are as seen below👇 👇

0F808CA2-D3A3-4E28-A377-F3307189F98D.jpeg
Fufu corn and khatikhati, a delicacy in the Northwest region of Cameroon

28233AF0-383A-4273-996B-E39A7A70B8DE.jpeg
Garri and Okra soup mostly consumed in all the regions

D6B61DB8-0DE3-4A97-B29B-7181C65DBC0E.jpeg
Ndolé with miondo

BA7C2F45-97AC-4772-BCC8-7F999E991681.jpeg
White yam with Okonghobong soup

CFB1A536-599F-40B2-B15C-84BEE61A8532.jpeg
Egussi pudding with Sweet yam

9A8499F7-E8E0-4AAE-B2E3-7921D2E28C0A.jpeg
Boiled Cocoyam with huckleberry

9BF94257-268C-4852-A837-1C9F04340FB8.jpeg
Ekwang, a delicacy in the South West region of Cameroon

From the images, it is clear that the food diversity makes me love Cameroon.

Hospitality

Cameroonians are loving people and are welcoming as well. They accommodates everyone and treat everyone as a family. In most of our markets, most of the shops are owned by Nigerians, Chinese, etc and you see the way they interact and operate their businesses with no issues. Because of our hospitality, this has equally attracted tourists to our country. We benefit from the revenues collected from them during their tours to touristic sites and taxes they pay.
5CEBC99D-80C3-4CA5-AECA-27E4C917D74F.jpeg
Tourists Visiting Mount Fako in Cameroon

Three Changes I Wish Should be Done

The following are the three changes I wish should happen in Cameroon. I will further explained them after outlining.

  • Change of Power
  • Improved Road Networks
  • Improved healthcare

Change of Power

One of the things is change of power that is the president should be changed. Since independence, we have had just two presidents and all are from the French speaking Community. An Anglophone has not been the president and I believed that if they are given the opportunity, a lot of things will change in Cameroon. The numerous crisis we are witnessing is due to sit in tight president. A lot of embezzlement and high level of corruption. This has led to the promotion of hate speeches and name calling. The presidency should rotate and a president should not be voted more than two terms in power. If this is done, I think it will help solve a lot of issues going wrong in this beloved country, Cameroon.

Improved Road Networks

There is a saying that development comes where there are good roads. Most of the communities in Cameroon are still suffering from bad roads. Roads that were constructed by our colonial masters, till date have dilapidated and nothing is done. Poor farm to market roads, has caused many farmers to suffer as their produce ended up getting bad along the way to the market. If this is improved, it will be beneficial to both farmers, sellers and consumers.

Improved Healthcare Services

We have poor healthcare facilities despite the fact that we have enough resources to sustain the development of our country. But it is sad, that our politicians are there to fill their stomachs and when sick, travel abroad for medical care with the money they embezzled. The poor masses are suffering while the rich working class are enjoying. Most local communities do not have standard health care services and equally healthcare providers are paid little amounts as salaries. This has made most of them send to local communities to stay back in the cities and operate private clinics. These private clinics are not affordable to the poor as their services are too expensive. If the healthcare sector is improved, a lot of lives wasted through illnesses will reduced.

Conclusion

The bottom line is that there is no country without issues. It is man that has created these problems and so only man can bring changes to the problems. I wish these problems were never created but as it is, we all as citizens have a role to play to better our country. Special thanks to steemit team for this challenge.
CC:
@steemit-pak
@hassanabid

Sort:  

I'm proud to be a Cameroonian and we're blessed with all these beautiful delicacies.

Mount cameroon aside from hosting tourist all over the world, is a great place where our annual race takes place.
You look beautiful in your traditional regaliatoghu as we called it in the grass Field.

The change of power is what we pray for because it's may surely our an end to this ongoing crisis claiming numerous lives daily

 2 years ago 

Thanks for going through my post. I am happy you like my traditional regalia.

The change of power is what we pray for because it's may surely our an end to this ongoing crisis claiming numerous lives daily.

I strongly believe if an Anglophone is given the opportunity to rule this country a lot of changes will happen.

Wow! Wow! Wow! 👏👏👏👏

I have been hearing of Cameroonian delicacies and I have only seen ndole but have not tasted it because I do not have the recipe.

Please, can you share with me?

You post is commendable. I wish you success in the contest @chant

 2 years ago 

Oooh I am glad you visited my post and equally amazed with your love for one of our delicacy (ndolé). One thing about our ndolé is that it’s time consuming. So in order to maximise time, you can prepare some of the ingredients the previous day to cook the next day. For instance, you can wash the bitter leave and keep on the refrigerator, even boiled your meat, and groundnuts and preserve in the refrigerator.

For the recipe, the following ingredients are required;
Bitter leaf, groundnut, onions, garlics, basil, crayfish, meat, vegetable oil, salt, white pepper, water.

Process of cooking

  • Boil the groundnut abit for about 5minutes
  • Peeled the groundnut and grind or blend with onions, garlics, white pepper .
  • Pour in the pot and boiled with meat, cow skin, smoked fish.
  • Grind crayfish and add with Maggi if you are a Maggi lover or just salt but put enough crayfish😜😜. I love sweet things lol
    -After you stir to ensure the groundnut doe not burnt.
    -Add the washed bitter leaf and stir. Allow it to boil for some time but you constantly check so that it should not get burnt.
    -Add a bit of vegetable oil.
  • Cut onions and fry with vegetable oil for some few minutes and pour it in the cooked ndolé.
    -Stir it abit and have a great taste as mine below 😋😋😋.

B2A564FC-D5A8-484D-A072-4BDE7B1F5B97.jpeg

96878CD9-FBCA-4480-B8B0-BCF433B62693.jpeg

I hope this helps.

Wow, This is Amazingly wonderful. You have truly talked on a broad part of our beautiful country @chant. What a milestone challenge you just set for us to match up, bravo👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻.

I am dropping mine soonest

 2 years ago 

Thanks for going through my post and I can’t wait to see your entry post.

Your country really has food diversity and they all appear delicious. I hope your post and thoughts is read and motivates the needed change to make your country better.

Best Wishes

 2 years ago (edited)

Thanks for going through my post and I’m happy you like our delicacies. When it comes to food, we have varieties. I have just name a few of them here. At times you see us traveling to other countries, we carry mostly food stuffs and ignore dresses. You will hardly see a Cameroonian travelling abroad without luggages filled with food stuffs😜😜. We love food ✌️

Wow…..food all the way😁💃🏾.

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! Another post of Cameroon! Thank you!
I have learned such a lot from your country... clothing, art, nature, food and of your love for your country.
Thank you for sharing all the info and photos with us.

The bottom line is that there is no country without issues.

These are very wise words. Of the 195 countries in the world I can agree with you, not one of them is without problems!

Ps. You look awesome in your traditional dress!

 2 years ago 

Thanks for going through my post. I am glad you learned a bit of history about my country.

Aweeeee I’m blushing 😊. Thanks for the compliment.

Hello dear @chant, you have made a very wonderful publication about your country.

You've covered every aspect of the country in great detail. You have made some excellent proposals for improving the country.

I have also made my post about my country. Hope you will like to read my publication.

wish you good luck for the contest.

 2 years ago 

Thanks so much for going through my post and I am happy you found it worth a read. I will visit your entry right away.

 2 years ago 

Hey chant, good to see you here participating in the contest.

I see many interesting cultures of Africans in my community. They all are very fascinating.

Quality ChecksStatus
Orignality100%
Bot-freeyes
steemexclusiveyes
club75yes

Thank you for your participation. Don't forget to interact with other participants.

 2 years ago 

I see many interesting cultures of Africans in my community.

Ooh really, meaning if I come to Pakistan I will easily acquaint. Thanks for reading my entry post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49