#2 – 1891-CC $10 Liberty Head

in Silver Gold Stackers4 years ago (edited)

I originally posted this on Steemleo. I'm not sure if I like the way it's set up on that site so I'm going to repost this here and keep posting on Steemit for the time being. I also added a reference section for your viewing pleasure. I apologize in advance for any confusion.

1891-CC_ob.jpg

1891-CC_re.jpg

1891-CC_PCGS.jpg

1891-CC $10 Liberty Head
PCGS MS62
Mintage: 103,732
PCGS Population: 479
PCGS Population Higher: 120

The $10 Eagle was minted from 1795 – 1933. Originally designed by Robert Scot, the $10 Eagle saw three major changes in its lifetime. The initial design has the head of Liberty facing right wearing a stylized freedman’s cap, which is commonly known as the CAPPED BUST. The second, designed by Christian Gobrecht, has the head of Liberty facing left and wearing a crown with the word “LIBERTY” inscribed. This one is known as the LIBERTY HEAD. The third, designed by Augustus Saint-Gaudens, has the head of Liberty still facing left, but her headpiece has been replaced with a native American ceremonial headdress with the word “LIBERTY” still inscribed. This one is referred to as the INDIAN HEAD.

The $10 Liberty Head was minted from 1838 – 1907. Designed by Christian Gobrecht, the $10 Liberty Head was a “cleaned up” version of Scot’s Capped Bust. This design was wildly popular and ran for an astonishing 68 years. In all that time, the coin only saw one notable change. The change came in 1866 with the addition of the banner “IN GOD WE TRUST” on the reverse above the eagle.

While the $10 Liberty Head was minted at a handful of US Mints throughout the States, one of the most popular for collectors today is the coins from the Carson City Mint, located in Nevada. The Carson City Mint was constructed from 1866 - 1869 and started producing coins in early 1870. It ran until 1885 and was shut down for political reasons under a Democratic administration but reopened in late 1889. The mint started producing coins again until the spring of 1893 when the mint ceased operations for good.

The only gold coins minted at Carson City were Half Eagles ($5), Eagles ($10), and Double Eagles ($20). Out of the 299,778 $10 Eagles that were produced at the Carson City Mint from 1870 – 1893, the 1891-CC stands out with its impressive 103,732 mintage number. This number actually accounts for over one third the entire production run. To show how impressive that number truly is, the next closest mintage is the 1892-CC with a whopping 40,000 minted. While over 100K isn’t a very large mintage number for coins, it does make this $10 Eagle the most common date from this mint.

I picked this coin up sometime in 2019 from my buddy Chris who owns a coin shop up in Long Island. I met Chris through Instagram, and since we both have similar backgrounds and interest in coins, we became friends. He posted this coin on his page and I instantly had to have it. I had some time off so I took a trip to see his shop and while I was there, I scooped it up. If I remember correctly this is the most over spot I ever paid for gold. At the time, I was focused on gold bullion and I wasn’t used to paying way over the spot price.

For only being graded at MS62, this coin features a lustrous sheen on the obverse as well as the reverse. The “LIBERTY” on her crown is clearly stamped with little to no imperfections. The 1891 has beautiful lines and has been well preserved throughout the years. On the reverse, the eagle is proudly displayed in almost perfect condition. The motto “IN GOD WE TRUST” can be clearly read and all letters are intact.

This particular example of the coin may be the 1891-CC FS-501 variety due to what looks like, under the macro shot, as a repunched mintmark. I guess the only real way to tell would be to send the coin back in and have PCGS look at it once again. I'll post an example below and you tell me what you think...

My Coin

1891-CC_501.jpg

Example from the PCGS website

FS-501_PCGS.jpg

I do enjoy doing the research on these coins and I will do my best to post often.

Till next time…

Ian

References:
https://www.usmint.gov/news/inside-the-mint/history-of-carson-city-mint
https://www.southgatecoins.com/carson-city-mint-mintage-totals
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0794822541/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1 Encyclopedia of US Gold Coins 2nd Edition
https://www.pcgs.com/coinfacts/coin/1891-cc-10/8720
https://www.pcgs.com/coinfacts/coin/1891-cc-10-rpm-fs-501/145728

steemsilvergold.png
20190410_164552 (1).png

Sort:  

Cool. Now, with references, some people will understand that you have not all the data in your head...:=)
As a side, I seconded your nomination to ssg-community, unless, of course, you do not want to be part of it.
https://steemit.com/hive-136819/@vgholdingsllc/steemsilvergold-official-nomination-post-2-23-2020
Another side is that the name is steemsilvergold, not steamsilvergold (that was my OCD).

Ok, I'm going to see if I can do this... Every time I try to post a reply it tells me I don't have enough Steem so I'm going to try everyone at once.

@ronaldoavelino Good catch on the hashtag, I'll update it when I get enough Steem. Also thanks for all the guidance so far, much appreciated. And catching up on all the comments, thanks for the vote.

@kerrislravenhill Thanks for the comment. Its one of my favorite coins in my collection and I greatly enjoy doing the research. Also thanks for the welcome, Ronaldo has been great.

@tuanis Thanks, I'm excited to be here...

@elizabethbit Thanks for the thumbs up.

@dfinney Thanks!!! I was just looking around and saw the hashtag and picture that some folks were posting ton there feed.

@vgholdingsllc Thanks for the mention in your post. I am already doing research on my next coin.

@silvertop I love me some Pre-33 gold, you'll be seeing more of it my friend.

I will try to read up on this more to understand what I need to do to be able to post more... Thanks for everything.

I have just delegated 50SP to you. Now you will have no problems with replies. In a future, when you get to your own 50SP, you tell me and I will undelegate them. No worry. :=)

Dude you are too kind... This is going to be an awesome community to be a part of.

Congratulations @anchormetals! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Very nice to see @ronaldoavelino seconded your nomination to ssg-community🤗
This is a wonderful community, very glad to welcome you @anchormetals!!!

Thanks buddy!!!
So far everyone has been extremely helpful and kind. All the mentions and welcome posts are awesome, glad to be here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50