#3 - 2019 1 oz Germania Oak Leaf Silver Round (BU, Capsule + CoA)

in Silver Gold Stackers4 years ago (edited)

Here’s a little something to look at while I do the write up for my next Pre-33 gold post.

Looking at @saffisara post about her 2018 Rwanda 1 oz Silver Lunar Year of the Dog round it got me thinking.

Like I said in my reply to her post I never liked buying the rounds with high premiums. When I started selling on Instagram I realized folks like all kinds of things so I started buying everything I could get my hands on.

One of the high premium rounds I now have is this 2019 1 oz Germania Oak Leaf Silver Round.

The obverse of this round features a beautiful oak leaf with an acorn by its side. It is believed the Germanic people treated this plant with the greatest reverence, they worshiped the oak and believed that ghosts and gods lived inside it. It was also believed, that its fruits – acorns, were responsible for fertility, which was one of the magical abilities of an oak tree.

IMG_3762.jpg

The reverse has one of the coolest designs in my opinion. It features a two-headed eagle, this is a symbol appearing in Roman mythology associated with Janus – the god of all origins, guardian of doors, gates, passages and bridges, the patron of allied agreements and arrangements. Heads facing the opposite symbolize the past and the future. The lightning bolts held in the claws of an eagle are a divine attribute, symbolizing strength and the power of creation and destruction.

IMG_3763.jpg

These 2019 Germania Oak Leaf Silver Rounds came in a plastic capsule and come with a Certificate of Authenticity.

IMG_3765.jpg

IMG_3764.jpg

Some of the other features of this round I'll post below:

• Limited mintage of only 50,000 rounds!
• Contains 1 Troy oz of .9999 pure silver in BU condition.
• Bears a nominal value of 5 Mark from the Germania Mint.
• Obverse features the image of an oak leaf and acorn.
• Reverse features the double-head eagle crest of the Germania Mint.

I hope you all enjoyed this round. I had no clue until I looked this up what the oak leaf and acorn represented. And then the two-headed eagle on the back... Awesome.

Till next time.

Ian

References:
https://www.jmbullion.com/2019-1-oz-germania-oak-leaf-silver-round/
https://germaniamint.com/oak-leaf-2019/
https://courses.lumenlearning.com/boundless-worldhistory/chapter/the-germanic-tribes/

steemsilvergold.png
20190410_164552 (1).png

Sort:  

Ohh my..... I love the reverse too, and I can understand about the premiums on coins.
Everyone is in a different spot when it comes to coins and collecting and or stacking. So nice of you to share this beautiful coin, and looking forward to your future post!😀

I’m so glad to you like. Ima dig through my stack and see what else I have like this.
The high premium coins usually have great eye appeal and photograph really well.

Nice, I don't have this particular Germania except for the Great Britain and Germania allegory.
They definitely have their own style of coins and pretty steep premiums too.
I think the Druids also revere the Oak in a similar way.
And of course Oak was a valuable resource needed in building ships of trade and of war.
Thank you @anchormetals for sharing.

It was definitely a great read learning about this round. The history was fascinating and I am looking forward to learning about my others rounds.
Thanks for commenting, it really helps me know if I’m doing ok on here 👍

I think that Germania Mint is not a Germanic Mint. I have some German rounds and they never use the word "silver". They use the German "silber"...

I'm not sure if there is a Germanic Mint, I'll have to do some digging.
I found a website that says "The term “Germanic” originated in classical times when groups of tribes living in Lower, Upper, and Greater Germania were referred to using this label by Roman scribes." I'll post the link here, it's a pretty cool read on the history of Germanic Tribes.
https://courses.lumenlearning.com/boundless-worldhistory/chapter/the-germanic-tribes/

Lovely silver round! Thanks for sharing.Take care 🥰🌺🤙

It's funny. I always thought that a "Coin" had an external value other than the precious metal content and a "Round" did not. This Round has a value of 5 Mark, does that not make it a Coin? How much is 5 Mark worth anyways??? Ima do some more research on all this...

Thanks for checking it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50