2019 1 oz 40th Anniversary Canadian Gold Maple Leaf Coin

in Silver Gold Stackers4 years ago (edited)

2019 1 oz 40th Anniversary Canadian Gold Maple Leaf Coin

This was my first 1oz Gold Maple. I bought it because of the 40th anniversary and the limited mintage of only 15,000 coins. I sent it off to PCGS for grading and it came back MS69. I was kind of upset, but that's ok it's still a cool coin.

Looking further into it there were only 3 graded at MS69, mine included, and none higher. So I thought to myself "Well it may not be too bad of a grade after all." Since then PCGS has graded 10 more MS69 and only 3 at MS70.

I posted this up for sale shortly after I got it back from grading. I figured the limited mintage and the fact there were very few graded it would sell for a little bit more of a premium. It didn't. I held onto this coin for a few months, randomly posting it for sale with no takers. It wasn't until gold spiked that someone bought it, and for more than I wanted for it in the first place.

It's funny how sometimes FOMO can get folks to open their checkbooks.

Featured below is the 2019 1 oz 40th Anniversary Canadian Gold Maple Leaf, enjoy 👍

2019 1 oz 40th Anniversary Canadian Gold Maple Leaf
PCGS MS69
Mintage: 15,000
PCGS Population: 14
PCGS Population Higher: 3

IMG_3647.jpg

IMG_3648.jpg

IMG_3650.jpg

IMG_3649.jpg

photos by @anchormetals

Thanks for looking... #steemsilvergold


Proud Member of the @ssg-community

steemsilvergold.png
APM_Logo.png

Sort:  

I have a few Canadian gold coins that comprise a part of my Core Stack, nothing really extraordinary, just the basic Maple Leaf. Yet have a few smaller Commonwealth for variety. Great that you got our price for this graded coin.
Tanks for sharing @anchormetals

Posted via Steemleo

I have some 1/10 and 1/20 gold maples that I keep in stock to sell but nothing in my permastack. I mainly do AGEs/ Buffalos, random gold bars and Pre-33 gold cons. I'm going through my silver now to see what I want to move around for other goodies.

Posted via Steemleo

It is interesting that I have the silver 2013 25th Anniversary. That means that the gold Maple Leaf is 9 years older than the silver one.
!trdo

Posted via Steemleo

Very cool. Is your 2013 graded?

Posted via Steemleo

Congratulations @ronaldoavelino, you successfuly trended the post shared by @anchormetals!
@anchormetals will receive 0.75096113 TRDO & @ronaldoavelino will get 0.50064075 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Wow, that’s a sweet piece of Gold there, I would have wanted to hang on to it!!!
But if you can make a good deal on it, I can see selling it.

I was thinking about holding onto it. Since I'm into Pe-33 gold I see that all kinds of stuff that has lesser mintage go for less than what this was worth. I figured if 100-year old coin with less minted didn't command more than this thing, then this thing would not see crazy returns as I wanted.

I guess only time will tell.

Thanks for your comment 🙏

Posted via Steemleo

Gold is always good to buy and sell. But im.not a fan of grading modern gold coins only old numismatic ones. Glad you got more then you wanted.

I'm pretty sure I feel the same way as you about modern gold. The Reverse Proof Gold Libertad I have I think maybe good one day, but the Maple I bought just to resell.

Posted via Steemleo

Thats a very nice Canadian Maple leaf! Interesting how the .9999 Gold content changes the color a bit. That was the first thing I noticed when I picked up one of these Maple's. I'm glad the market ran up and you got a good price, maybe we will see some more price movement!!🤗

Gold did go up $30ish USD today.

I like .9999 or .999 gold products. I collect American Gold Eagles and Gold Buffalos. I prefer Gold Buffalos when I have the option. I think they look better.

Posted via Steemleo

They are both beautiful, and I keep watching and waiting for the spot!!😇😀

.9999 fine gold! A cool design with the numbers 40 on a Maple Leaf. They they say where this coin falls short of 70? Do you think that the subjective assessment of the grader may have caused it to be 69?
Thanks for sharing this beautiful gold coin,@anchoremetals. Have a wonderful evening and take care.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Unfortimnaly they did no say. If you look at the bottom rim of the coin it looks a little rubbed, probably from being in the tube with other coins. That's really all I could see wrong with it...

Posted via Steemleo

Nice looking coin you have there my friend! I like it, but I too prefer the Gold Buffalo. Thanks for sharing.👍😎

I'll be doing a post on those soon 😉

Posted via Steemleo

Congratulations @anchormetals! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @anchormetals, your post successfully recieved 0.75096113 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@ronaldoavelino earned : 0.50064075 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61670.63
ETH 3448.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51