Spanish lessons through literature/creative writing: "clase n.7 tercer acto"

in Knack4buzz8 days ago

EL DIARIO DE DIEGO: clase n.7 tercer acto (el humo hasta puede matar)

Hola, mis queridos amigos y amigas, apuesto a que ustedes, a su vez, están muriéndose de curiosidad. Ustedes quieren que les cuente lo que Miguel y yo escuchamos a través del cerrojo de la puerta de la pieza de mi abuela. Sin embargo, la pura verdad es que Miguel y yo no logramos escuchar naranja, pues fuimos agarrados antes de conseguirlo. Y ya saben lo mucho que se enojó mi mamá. Solo unos días más tarde me lo contó mi abuela en gran secreto. Mejor dicho, nos lo contó a mi hermana y a mí. Ocurrió que el señor Isidro, el papá de Miguel, hace una semana se fue al kiosco a comprar puchos y nunca más volvió a casa. Entonces, doña Angustias quiso venir a desahogarse con mi abuela y mi mamá. Hay que saber que mi papá se lo había advertido varias veces al señor Isidro que parase de fumar, como que un día pudiera hacerle daño el humo. De tanto fumar, hasta te podés morir...

Dictionary and slang:

APOSTAR (here conjugated in the simple present tense, first singular person -APUESTO-): literally it means TO BET, but in the context of this lesson means TO BE SURE.

NARANJA: literally it means ORANGE (both the fruit and the colour), but in this text is a lunfardo slang, meaning NADA (the learned word) = NOTHING.

KIOSCO = KIOSQUE, TUCKSHOP

PUCHO/S: another lunfardo slang word, meaning CIGARRILLO/S (the learned word) = CIGARETTE/S. To not confuse with PUCHERO/PUCHERITO = STEWPOT.

DESAHOGARSE = TO BLOW OFF STEAM (in Spanish is a reflexive verb).

FUMAR = TO SMOKE

HUMO = SMOKE

Here the video-slide with the pronunciation:

I registered the pronunciation and I added an image for the video-slide from Pixabay, among those can be freely used. You find it here:
https://pixabay.com/es/vectors/de-fumar-cigarrillo-tabaco-5130939/
Video-slide prepared with the free tools Slideshow Creator and ClipChamp default for Windows11.

Did you read the lesson and watched the video-slide? Very well, let's go now to see the English translation🤗:

DIEGO'S DIARY (=EL DIARIO DE DIEGO): lesson n.7 second part: smoke can even kill (=clase n.7 segundo acto: el humo hasta puede matar)

Hello, my dear friends, I'm sure you, in your turn, are dying of curiosity. You want me to tell you what Miguel and I heard through the keyhole on the door of my grandma's room. However, the plain truth is that Miguel and I didn't get to hear nothing, because we were caught before we got to it. And you know how angry my mother was. It was only a few days later that my grandmother told me in great secrecy. Or rather, she told to my sister and me. It happened that Mr. Isidro, Miguel's father, a week ago went to the kiosque to purchase cigarettes and never returned home. So Mrs. Angustias wanted to come and blow off steam with my grandmother and my mum. You have to know that my dad had warned Mr. Isidro various times to stop smoking, as one day smoke might harm him. You can even die from smoking...

Previous lesson:

https://steemit.com/hive-135004/@pousinha/spanish-lessons-through-literature-creative-writing-clase-n-7-segundo-acto

Sort:  

"Wow, what a fascinating story! 🤔📚 I loved how you wove the Spanish lesson into a engaging narrative. The slang and vocabulary explanations were super helpful too! 😊 Great job on creating an entertaining and educational post.

I especially liked how you used real-life situations to illustrate the importance of not smoking. It's great that you're sharing your knowledge with us in such a fun way. 🌟

Did you know that you can also earn rewards by engaging with our community? 💡 We'd love for you to share your thoughts, ask questions, or even create a post related to this topic! 😊 Just click on the "Comment" button below and start the conversation.

And don't forget to vote for 'xpilar.witness' at https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses. Your support means a lot to us, and it will help our team continue to improve and expand the ecosystem! 🙏 Thanks for being part of this amazing community!"

 7 days ago 

Dear friend, yet voted a long ago:
xpilar.witness.png

About the story: I'm a teacher and my principal teaching subject is Spanish language (I have an university degree and a postgrad on this purpose). I'm familiar with this teaching method through literature, as it was an ordinary approach in my former country when I was still a primary student. Despite the only languages taught at school during my times were only English or French (we could choose only one), I began to love Spanish through my musical education subject book, showing many Spanish songs. I had also lived a while with my mother's family in Buenos Aires, that's why I particularly got in touch with this Spanish variant. Years ago, I wrote my first complete story in Spanish, same variant, to teach to my first Spanish students, my niece and my nephew. And it was the diary of little Diego's elder sister😂. When Knack4buzz was born, my dear friend @wakeupkitty.pal showed the aim of the community was the entertainment, so why not teaching my beloved language through entertainment? Hoping my explanation will be helpful, thank you for appreciating my story.

UMMER(4).jpg

 3 days ago 

Thank you very much for appreciating and the cute colourful image!

Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37