Steemit Engagement Challenge / S19/W2 - "Inspired by DAGWOOD beauty."

in Knack4buzz2 days ago



Crazy! Yes, I can see you all saying that. What does a dagwood have to do with beauty?
Well, let me tell you that making a dagwood is like creating a beautiful culinary masterpiece!

Those of you who still know what a roadhouse or a diner is will all too well know what a dagwood is. For those who don’t know, it is THE ultimate sandwich. It is a high-stacked, multi-layered sandwich that is built with various meats, cheese, and a variety of condiments. Of course, if you are a veggie-lover, you won’t forget to add them.

Dagwood Bumstead was the playboy son of a millionaire in the American newspaper comic strip, Blondie.

Britannica.com will tell you that;

Blondie (begun 1930), has achieved unparalleled international renown, syndicated by the turn of the 21st century to 2,300 newspapers and read by some 250 million people in 55 countries and in more than 33 languages. Twenty-four Blondie films were made between 1930 and 1950.
Image Source

Soon, restaurants, roadhouses, and fast food outlets started adding dagwoods to their menus.

As kids, it was a highlight for us when Dad would take us to the roadhouse for a dagwood on a Friday night before we went to the drive-in. When I grew older and it was the male friends that took us, my female friends were too scared that they would have sauces all over their faces and would politely say… No, thank you.
I, on the other hand, was too glad if someone else was willing to pay for my dagwood.

This past weekend, I decided it was spoil time!
I love the two men in my life, and I could think of no better way to tell them how much I love them than with a beautiful dagwood.

Here is how I spoiled them.

I started with a sturdy foundation of two thick slices of our favorite bread. Toasting them lightly not only gives them some crunch but also helps to keep the dagwood together.

While the bread was in the toaster, I had a frying pan on the stove to cook the meat. Now, a true South African dagwood consists of a hamburger patty.
I still had two Wagyu burger patties in the freezer.

I first fried some bacon, then added some parsley butter to the same pan, and then the burger patties. When they were almost cooked, I added some chopped onions and fried them with the meat.

I grated some cheese for the top. Sometimes I wonder if I am pregnant, as lately I crave Gouda cheese.

I spread a generous layer of Steers barbeque sauce (the men’s favorite) on both slices of bread. This will serve as the base and help bind the layers together.

Now, the fun part begins: layering!

I first started with a layer of protein, the hamburger patties. To that, I added more barbecue sauce.
I then generously pile on fried onions. This is as much vegetable as they like on their dagwoods and burgers.

Next, it was time for the bacon, which I had cut into smaller strips to make eating easier. On top of the bacon, I added some Wimpy mustard, another favorite of the two men.

Another must-have for a South African dagwood is a soft-fried egg for an indulgent touch. This was the last thing I cooked to ensure the eggs stayed soft and runny.

Once I have added the egg, I will round the dagwoods off with a big handful of cheese. Yes, it was the Gouda that I have been so hooked on lately.

image.png

I finished it off with the top slice of bread, pressing down gently to hold everything in place.
Finally, I sliced it diagonally for that classic presentation.

All that was left was for the men to tell me... “We were inspired by these beauties" and to see who finished them first.



Note:
Except for the source image, all other images are my own, with the main image designed with Canva.

image.png

I invite @solperez @edgargonzalez and @zorajaime to take part in this contest

Account detail:
Transfer to vesting: 4,842.000 STEEM
Normal transfer: 91.000 STEEM (charity and contest prizes)

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Pues mi querida amiga la comida entra entre algunas de las bellezas que nos da la vida y tu Dagwood no solo se ve hermoso sino imagino como sabe😋

Yo creo que eso chicos que no se van a querer comer esa belleza 🤭

You will be surprised. The whole dagwood disappeared in only a few bites. The beauty for them was in the taste. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thanks for the visit and the engagement! 🎕
It is always nice to read your comments.

Guao. Ese dagwood se ve delicioso. El paso a paso muy bien explicado. A mí no solo me resultó una belleza, sino también una delicia.

Ya hice mi entrada en este concurso, amiga. Te deseo mucha suerte.

Awh! I missed your enty. I will go look of it.

The reason why I invited you was that I was sure you will say something about the fact if dagwoods are available in Venezuela.
Now I am curious. Are they?

Hay árboles de acacia. De hecho vivo cerca de un sector que se llama: "Las acacias". No sé si utilizan la madera de estos árboles. Tengo que averiguarlo, jeje.

La belleza también se refleja en el arte culinario, sin duda lograste abrirme el apetito. Es una belleza a la que nadie puede resistirse.

Gracias por compartir.

¡Saludos y buen apetito!

Hello, and thank you!
Not only for the visit but also for your comment.
I've come to the realization that if I need something badly, all I have to do is make a dagwood.
It melted their hearts!

¡El dagwood es tu arma secreta!
😁

Wow, that must have been a delicious meal, perfect to eat while watching a movie together at home.

The men enjoyed it.
They even asked this morning if it was dagwood day.
This time I suprised them with waffles.
Thanks for the visit! ☕🧇

 22 hours ago (edited)

The meaning of beauty is different for you, and I admire it. I regret being a vegetarian otherwise I would have tried some of these. Hey, I wouldn't mind if someone asked me to accompany them for such a treat, man or woman. After all, I'm not a sexist 😄

What is life without a bit of fun, my friend?
There are so many beautiful things around us that I could not decide what to write about. Then I remembered the faces of the two men.
It was priceless and... beautiful.
I am so glad that you are just like me... We won't say no. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 10 hours ago 

That and the fact that Dagwood is otherwise a very popular product with a huge fan following for its ingredients and size. It's soooo important as a part of the Carnivals downunder for obvious reasons here too.

It's great to see that you are a reader lover and enjoyed series by having delicious and delectable meals. Hopefully it was the most fun and memorable time you have spent with your family. Have a good day ahead. All the best :)

Ah! Compliments to you, my friend!
You saw exactly what my intentions were with this post: the beauty of fun times. Well done!

Thank you for the visit! 🎕
PS: Don't let the beauty of fun times pass you.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

@tipu curate

;) Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

Come on, I am already Salivating and will wish to have a taste

Haha! Men! They are all the same.
Come to South Africa and I will gladly make you one. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71