Bael (Beli) Fruit

in Steem Sri Lankalast year

Hello everyone. Today, one of my neighbors gave me a fully ripe Bael (Beli) fruit. I was wondering whether I should make a drink out of it or just eat it with sugar. Anyway, I finally decided to eat it with sugar, which was delicious.

image.png
Image source

When I was younger, in our backyard of our native place, there we had a Bael tree. When my grandmother visited our home, she taught us that every part of the Bael tree can be used. However, in today's society, most people know only to eat the Bael fruit and are unaware of the value of the other parts.

When we go on picnics to Anuradhapura, Mayangna, and Polonnaruwa, most vendors prepare Bael flower drinks for us to purchase. This drink is very popular in rural areas, and it is usually use with jaggery. It is very good for thirst as well as diabetic and dysentery patients. During the Dansal season, Bael flower can be found all over the country.

In our childhood days, our grandmother used to cut unripe Bael fruits into pieces and dry them in the sun, grinding and gave us to drink. She said that it was great for kids like us who had diarrhea. One of my neighbors recently came to my house to ask for some Bael leaves because we have a small plant in our garden. She said that she dries them, grinds them, and drinks them like tea.

When we suffering from constipation, our grandmother would give us ripe Bael to drink, and she told my mother to use unripe Bael when we had diarrhea. It is said that many diseases, including indigestion, pain, vomiting, dysentery, and asthma, are cure from the roots of the Bael fruit.

You can understand now how much we value this Bael tree; it is like a gift to us. So, let us protect this type of valuable plant by growing more and more plants in our garden.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!


This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project. Your post was promoted on Twitter by the account josluds

@tipu curate

Thank you so much for sharing this valuable information with us I didn't know that wood apples have numerous uses like this. Indeed bael tree shot be preserved!

 last year 

Thank you for reading my post and providing such thoughtful feedback.

yes its very worth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61703.75
ETH 2432.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63