A long Awaited Moment | Hornbill | 10% to SL-Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

photo_2021-11-06_17-31-10.jpg

Saturday was cold and dark due to the continuous rain. It was around 4.45 p.m. We were having tea by sitting in Varanda. Suddenly I saw the movement of a giant bird on the Rambutan tree. I had a clue about who is this because I saw him multiple times at our garden a few days ago.

Within a few seconds, I attached the lens to my mobile phone and came out without making any rush. Now I have used to set up the mobile phone with an external camera within 30 seconds.

Even though my mobile camera (Samsung Galaxy M21) gives very clean shots under daylight, it performs very poorly under dark as same as the majority of other mobile phone cameras. Because of that, today's shots are not clean as the photos I took during day time.

I notice a bird that is a bit larger than 1 feet sitting on a branch. The beak was black, and he is not the one in the first picture. he/she was hiding among leaves and suddenly I noticed a movement as fast as a light of the flash. Same time I heard the sound of wing clapping.

photo_2021-11-06_17-31-15.jpg
A second bird came to the same position

A second bird with an orange beak was sitting in the same place instead of a black beak bird.

I was surprised on what just happened. Now there were two birds, of same kind, one with an orange beak and the second with a black beak.


Let's Get to Know this Bird



orientalbirdimages

According to resources, this bird is Sri Lanka Grey Hornbill (ශ්‍රී ලංකා අළු කෑදැත්තා). I was aware of the bird called "කෑදැත්තා - Hornbill" but never knew this one is it. This one is an endemic (ආවේණික) bird to Sri Lanka.

The beak of the female one is black and the male one is cream-colored (what I called as orange). The size is given as 55 to 59 cm which is pretty large compared to a crow. For more details, you can read Wikipedia


Back to the story, the female one (black beaked one) flew away first. The male one spent more time on nearby trees. It seems he doesn't like to expose out. On another hand, other birds were trying to attack him.

photo_2021-11-06_17-31-10.jpg

He moved to multiple trees. Another specialty is, he flies from 2-3m high to the ground. Once he flew so close to me and I was really afraid.

The bird was a little fidgety sometimes. He moves to multiple branches of the same tree.

photo_2021-11-06_17-31-06.jpg

I wish I could take clear photos than this. Perhaps I can do it on another day. I am very happy about taking photos of කෑදැත්තා because I was waiting for a long time for this.

Sort:  

I've heard it's name. But l've never seen that bird before.

I have heard name and also seen before this one. But yesterday only I knew this is him🤭

I really like your articles.When it is published in this way, it is read and knowledge is gained for it.You write these in a way that makes it interesting to read.

I could make some lucky observations on birds these days.

I have not actually seen this bird, when you say this bird descends to the ground and is very close to you, very good to catch. lucky time to see this rare bird

It is native to Sri Lanka.. luckily you saw him now

looks like @randulakoralage hasn't had any luck this time. but the existing photos are also not too bad for the poting. It's just so hard for me to take such a beautiful photo

It is very difficult to take them when rain

I have heard the name but not sure whether I have seen one. Has a kind of majestic look.

Yeah.. like in movies

Oya lens eken uparima weda gannawaa wagei...

parisarayata adarei karana ekath godaak agaya karanna oni...

Oya lens eken uparima weda gannawaa wagei...

thwa tikak loku unama lassa ekahamarak ekathu karla cam ekak ganna ona. aran gedara idala wedak nane

awidinna oni... ow ow..

You have been fortunate enough to capture it. Most of the times, birds who are not visiting our gardens often , are very shy and they don’t come out easily.

buy a lens sister... you can find hidden birds

තව ටික දවසකින් අපිට පුලුවන් Randula's Nature Photography කියලා album එකක් හදන්න...

Hola amiga @randulakoralage son buenas fotos y si que son difíciles de conseguir ya que las aves posan muy poco ante las cámaras jajajaja

Yeah.. recently I purchased an external lense for mobile to special take bird photos.. Love them

Vaya que bien me alegra mucho 😊 y es una buena inversión.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62