Steem Sri Lanka - Contest Series | Round 02 | Week 04 – Memories of 2020 : MY 2020😊

in Steem Sri Lanka4 years ago

image.png

Hi Everyone!

I am here to share the memories of 2020 with you and thank you sister @sandu for this wonderful contest.

2020 may be the worst year of my life but there are many happy moments happened in 2020.

The year started with one of the happiest days in my life. It was the first day of my university life. I could get qualified to University of Moratuwa to study engineering. It is the same university where my sister is.

20201218_165508.jpg

First day we went to the university with our parents and there was an orientation program for us for a week. After that there was a program for two weeks to enhance our English knowledge. And then the academic word started.

IMG-20200225-WA0010.jpg

I stayed at the hostel in the university. It was a new experience for me but in some time I had many friends there and it was a home for us. Six of the friends were very closer to me.

IMG-20200925-WA0101.jpg

While the academic work we had fun with our friends when we had free time. Somedays we went to a nearby beach to had fun.

20201218_152435.jpg

During the weekends we could take part in a charity program organized by our university to help the students in rural schools. We were happy to help them and they were inspired by our work.

IMG-20200302-WA0001.jpg

I did some tuition classes to Advanced Level students also.

While life was going on like this, the corona pandemic started. So I had to stop all my academic work, tuitions and also the charity program and stay at home.

There was curfew for many days in the country and we were asked to home quarantine. I did not go anywhere for months. During those days I didn’t have a specific task to do. So I spent much time with my hobbies, specially cooking. We made many new dishes at home and also made many crafts. I spent some time to learn sewing from my mum.

20201218_172820.jpg

My mum's birthday was on March and me and my sister made a cake for her.

20201218_143551.jpg

Meanwhile we were assigned with some academic work by the university saying that the exams would be held just after the university started. So, we had to get ready for that.

After months of waiting at home, Corona pandemic decreased. So mother allowed me to go out. So finally, I went out from our gate after months. I went to beach with my friends and had fun. I still remember that day as it was the first time to meet friends after quarantine.

IMG-20200614-WA0058.jpg

One of my cousin sisters was to marry in following months. I and my sister were asked to be the bride’s maids in her wedding. But both of us had to refuse her request as we had a doubt that our university exams would fall on her wedding days. However, we got ready to her wedding by buying sarees, jewelries and make up stuff.

20201218_144937.jpg

And then came on of the most memorable days in the year for me. It was my birthday. It was on 8th July. My family, relatives and my friends wished me and some of my friends had arranged a surprise to me. They had bought a birthday cake for me.

IMG-20200709-WA0014.jpg
I gave them my birthday treat and we spent some hours together.
20200709_182737.jpg

Even remembering that day make me smile.

20201218_144147.jpg

As Covid-19 has been decreased, we were informed that the university would start soon. So I and my friends did studies together.

My sister’s birthday was in the month of August. It was her 25th birthday so we want to do something to make her surprise. Me and my family invited some of her best friends to our place secretly and surprised her. We arrange everything and made some dishes for her friends. It was a day full of fun.

20200808_155846.jpg

In August, our university started for a 1/3 of our batch to keep social distance. We had to be alone in a hostel room for a week. But we were afraid as the hostel seemed ghostly to us. So I and my friend came to the same room at night and study.

20201218_145126.jpg

Unfortunately, the wedding of my cousin’s that I mentioned earlier was in the same week. I could not attend it as this week’s work was compulsory. So my family attended it without me. I was so sad.

20201218_145413.jpg

After 3 weeks the university opened to all of us. We came to the hostel again and studied together as we were to have exams in two weeks. We watched movies and had chats to make the exam stress go away. We could not go home for weeks but we were happy as were like a family.

20201218_150058.jpg

Finally the exam was held. In the evening of the last day of exam, we went to Galle Face with our friends. That journey expelled the tiredness in us because of exams.

IMG-20200927-WA0016.jpg

In the next day, I came home after about a month for our two-month vacation. We had many hopes to spend the vacation. One of the first days in the vacation, we went to see Hummanaya, a natural blow hole in Southern province.

20201218_150239.jpg

We had planned many trips to go in the vacation. But again, the Covid pandemic rose, destroying all of our plans. I had to start staying at home again. I was back to cooking and crafting again.

Father’s birthday was in October and we celebrated it with family. We could not arrange it best as we were unable to go to buy things.

20201218_150315.jpg

Meanwhile the results of the exam that I faced came and I had good grades. Then was the time to choose the field to study. I chose Chemical and Process Engineering as I like it. Now I am having online lectures in that field.

This is the best memories of my 2020 and I hope you enjoy it.

Covid pandemic is not showing us the signs of its end till now. I hope it will be end in 2021.

Thank you for reading. Have a nice day!

Sort:  

finally you are in.
and i know many of the incidents happened with your life. 😊
and we could do many things, we could learn many things and at the end you joined steemit too. 😍
and I wish you happy 2021 in advanced.
hope you will find happiness and success in everything in the upcoming year.
thank you for participating.

Entry number 25

i know many of the incidents happened with your life.

Yeah, definitely😊

at the end you joined steemit too. 😍

I wanted to write it too as it is a turning point to my life. But I have missed it😢

I hope you also be blessed with all the joy and happiness in the world.💕

Good luck for the contest. Thank you!

It is the same university where my sister is.

Now, it's same Department too🤭

Somedays we went to a nearby beach to had fun.

Oh no.. Those photos.. look at Bhanuka in 2nd photo 😆😆

I and my friend came to the same room at night and study.

Breaking the law 😦😦

Now, it's same Department too🤭

Yeah🤩😋

look at Bhanuka in 2nd photo 😆😆

I could not find another photo😂

Breaking the law 😦😦

Yeah, we had to

Thank you for reading💜️

Give downvotes to @steemitblog posts is a very bad move in my opinion

IMG_20201218_200550.jpg

I am really sorry. It was a mistake. I was going to upvote that post.

Thank you for showing her mistake.

Wow @dasuni you had a beautiful year.It is full of memories.

Best regards

Yeah, corona destroyed some plans. If it was not there, this may have been my best year.

Thank you!

Thank You For Your Entry.


Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵
Steem Sri Lanka | Contest Series | Round 2 | Week 4 | Recall Memories of 2020

Win Amazing Vote Prizes upto 50% from @ steemcurator2 + more prizes

You have been upvoted by @besticofinder,A Country Representative from SRI LANKA. we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and check the ongoing contests : Check here

An year full of nice memories! ☺️❤️

Yeah, if corona was not there. This could be a best year for me😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49