TIME FOR HEALTH writing contest | Week 01: My way to be healthy

in Steem Sri Lanka4 years ago (edited)

“Arogya Parama Labha – Health is the greatest gift” – Lord Buddha

Let me tell you a story. Sri Lanka is a country which have various types of traditional rice with medicinal value, world best spices and tea, delicious fruits in every corner of the country. 😍😍 Have you ever talked with your parents, or grandparents about their experiences? They would have plenty to tell. But now our food culture, daily routines has been completely changed. 😕😕 I can’t understand why modern ladies use soup without the spices. No wonder, for the increase of non-infected diseases in the country.

When I was a child, I didn’t care about health at all. Just ate whatever the sweets or short eats or cool drinks. So, as a gift I got gastritis from it. 😕😕 Then I started to care about me.
So, let’s see my habits to maintain a healthy life.

stopwatch-time-health-concept-37462496.jpg

Source

Actually, it’s hard to manage all of these regularly in the university, with lack of facilities. But now I’m in the home due to the unexpected situation which has been arisen from Covid-19, which gives me all the freedom.

Drinking of water

The first thing I do in the morning is drinking a glass of water. It refreshes my whole body. After a long sleep without any water consumption, drinking of water helps the body to be rehydrated immediately. That should be the reason for me to feel so fresh after doing so. Apart from that, I drink plenty of water daily. We should at least drink 4L every day, it helps me to stay hydrated for whole day. And also, I don’t forget to drink some water before bed. It also promotes my sleep.

   Don't forget to drink water

IMG_20201015_232801.jpg

Mind healing techniques

When it comes to the topic of health, we cannot just focus on our physical body, ignoring mental health. Most of us doesn’t know the value and power of the mind. It affects how we think, how we feel and act, how we handle the stress and make choices, productivity etc.

So, relaxation of the mind is very important for a better life.

Morning View –

Usually after getting up around 6.30 a.m. in the morning, I go to our garden and spend some time walking, getting some fresh air, listening to the amazing sounds of nature and enjoying the beautiful morning view. It makes me happier and my mind is filled with good and positive thoughts. It gives me stress released mind which helps me to manage my daily activities with a free mind throughout the whole day.
And don’t forget to feel the morning sun.

 Sun is peeking through the trees

IMG_20201010_081049.jpg

Meditation and Sermons –

Meditation is a must in my schedule. Usually I do it at night before the sleep. At first, I close the eyes and listen to the sounds which are coming from outside for few minutes without thinking anything. It helps me to gather my scattered thoughts and focus my mind on only one thing. Then meditate for few minutes and focus on positive affirmations. I practice different types of mediation. At the hostel I normally follow the sound healing guided meditations.

Sufficient sleep –

I always try to have a sleep around 6-8 hours. Having a good and sufficient sleep is one of the most important things which helps for both physical and mental health.

Balanced and nutritious meals

I prefer eating more fruits with having balanced meals. Since now I am at my home, organically grown fruits and vegetables can be found easily. And my mother makes various types of herbal congee, herbal drinks (Ranawara, karapincha, koththmalli), products from grains (Thalapa, green gram, beans) frequently. So, they are rich in nutrients and free of poisons.

     Manioc for the breakfast 

IMG_20201015_081433.jpg

        Glass of herbal gruel

IMG_20201016_073225.jpg

   Fresh watermelon, guava, papaw

IMG_20201014_170440.jpg

But in the university, it’s very hard to manage a healthy meal. I prevent from quick foods as much as possible. And try to have fruit juices regularly.

So, apart from them of course I brush my tooth twice a day, and wash the hands before eating, and admire the cleanliness etc.

So, that’s almost it about my daily health practices. Hope you guys will enjoy it and take some tips for your lives.

Thanks @anusha96 a for hosting such a great contest.

Thank you!
Best Regards!

Sort:  

Good article full of good healthy habits..

Having a good and sufficient sleep is one of the most important things which helps for both physical and mental health.

That is so true friend..

Yeah without a sufficient sleep, next day is very difficult to handle

You have been upvoted by randulakoralage a Country Representative from SRI LANKA we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community

Regular water, sunlight, good sleep, and those fruits, a very healthy and simple thing which we all should do/follow.

It's great that you are taking this situation as an opportunity and enjoying your time at home with your family and friends.

Thank you for posting this.

Thanks for reading my post.. Yeah, simple and easy things, but most of us miss most of them.

Superb!! 🙊
Thank you for joining in...

Thanks dr...

Just sent your prize @damithudaya.
image.png

Yeah received.. Thanks friend... 😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82