Setting a new recovery account as done by an imbecile.

in Fuckit4 years ago (edited)

So to be clear I wanted to type retard but felt it is a bit old school.

Recently I read this post by Ausbitbank and like many, I decided that I should indeed change my recovery accounts.

It is nice to be able to then be in control of that and when things go wrong you only have yourself to blame. Effectively you become customer support. I bet you will be a lot nicer then won't you?


So obviously I head over to Steemworld.org because we all know that if anyone was going to do something right it is The Chiller.

image.png

WTF

I tried it a few times and then decided I will use the Steempeak option, who does not like shiny new features.

I head over to Steempeak and proceed to do the same, change my recovery account and take my first steps into customer support.

Oh for fucksakes, you motherfuckers. What the fuck, build things properly. Really this is to be expected, damn tards always fucking shit up.

So after my little rant, I go to repl.it and start a node container with steemj.js so I can just do it myself. Just like women have told me in the past, "You did it wrong I am going to do it myself". I have learnt from those wise ladies.

Well, fuck me. Obviously, the chain is broken, right? These bloody people, typical. Giving more focus to a feature that does not work. Half-arsed wannabe fucks, I am so sick of this shit.

Why can't there just be a database for everyone that partakes in strikes and riots so companies refuse to employ the retards. Why can't we just burn down parliament with everyone inside. Why is it wrong to say stupid people are not allowed to be in government or vote. Why can't anyone see that what is popular is probably utter shit or at the very least people should stop looking up at people and just fucking take everything with a grain of salt. Goddammit.

Ok, let's see. I was going to just leave it be because it makes no difference to me but now I also wanted to know what the fuck is up.

So I logged into Steemit. Yes Steemit. I wanted to compare my master key. Guess what? Steemit logged in with my master "Key" and it then showed me the master "Key".

Password you fucking moron!!

Yes the "Key" I was trying to use for over an hour was my master PASSWORD not my master key.

So I finally copied my key from the interface and now it is finally stored savely with the password and I went to change my recovery account with a simple Steem.js call to the chain.


image.png

Then I had to go apologies for being an inbred retard who is lucky covid cares about health issues over IQ.


image.png

Read the very first error from Steemworld again and you will see just how unnecessary all this was. I repeat Master Password is not your Key.

Sort:  

Lol dumbfuck.... Says the guy who hasn't tried yet😂

Fair enough, it does not make me any less a dumbfuck if you also struggle lol that just makes two dumbfucks :)

You know, the same thing happened to me too. Didn't try to do it by coding but did try several times from steempeak and steemworld and I was thinking... WTF!!!

And yes, now I also have aaaaaaaaall my correct keys and passwords.

Something good came from all this.

Did you also login to the steem wallet to check the key?

Checked from steempeak.

cool, I also check from there earlier so now I am only aware of steemit and steempeak as places that ask for the master password. I will wait for some steem then I kinda want to make an account from each method and see what keys I get given.

How stupid I've been all this time, swarming around without my owner key.

Thank you very much for teaching me how master password and owner key are 2 different things, I'm surprised that after all this time I didn't know.

I think it comes from the old steemit signup process, because the accounts I have made via steemworld only have the 4 keys I actually need. The master password seems to be one steemit issued so you can actually then reve4al the master key in the interface. I could be wrong but I also think that it can get a lot of people in trouble all because it is not made obvious. Then again my account is 2 years old they may have told me about the password back then :)

I've already set up a couple of accounts for relatives and given them all their keys, but I didn't have my master key! And the worst thing is that I didn't notice.

By the way at steempeak you can also reveal all your key and do the whole process of changing your recovery account, you can also change your keys. The steempeak interface is very complete at the moment.

Yeah definitely a bit worrying, I am actually not sure how I created my other account because I see it also only had the master password but not key now that I doublechecked via steempeak since you mentioned it :) It did see they mention master password so maybe because we use it so little the difference just never registered.

I only checked it via my steemit wallet because I figured since I created the account via steemit maybe my master password is specific to that since the chain itself still only cares about the main 4 for auth.

Sorry about the flagging, my aim isn't as good as it used to be, I was shooting for the green one. Anyways, I'm clinically too retarded to figure out the 4 password system.

Haha not sure I would have noticed a flag but thanx for letting me know :) I don't think you are that bad, you maybe just don't give a shit ;)

Nice job @penderis √ have some !trdo for your efforts.... :)

Congratulations @andy4475, you successfuly trended the post shared by @penderis!
@penderis will receive 0.19810575 TRDO & @andy4475 will get 0.13207050 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @penderis, your post successfully recieved 0.19810575 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@andy4475 earned : 0.1320705 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

According to the Bible, Is there such a thing as untimely death in the Bible?

Watch the Video below to know the Answer...

(Sorry for sending this comment. We are not looking for our self profit, our intentions is to preach the words of God in any means possible.)


Comment what you understand of our Youtube Video to receive our full votes. We have 30,000 #SteemPower. It's our little way to Thank you, our beloved friend.
Check our Discord Chat
Join our Official Community: https://steemit.com/created/hive-182074

I am so tempted to click this, but I can't afford to join another cult at this time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43