Premier League Review || The "Promoted 3"

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago

I've shared my views on "the big-6" (North and South) and "the closing pack", so my penultimate article will review the promoted teams and how they can feel about their season. This means that I'll be covering Leeds United, Fulham and West Brom.

image.png
Source 1 License 1 Source 2 License 2 Source 3 License 3 + Lots of Photoshop (more than usual)

Leeds United (9th)

What I liked about Leeds this season was that they didn't compromise on the way they play. Man-for-man all over the pitch, working hard, pressing on the basis that they could win those match-ups. Whether they were playing Man City or Sheffield United, their approach didn't change. So to finish 9th, meant that it worked more often than it didn't.

image.png
Source

The big question for me is whether it will work as well for them next season. It's not uncommon for a particular playing style to work wonders in their 1st season in the Premier League, only to be found out in their 2nd season. The mighty Reading finished 7th in our 1st Premier League season only to get relegated the year after. A more recent example being Sheffield United, who also finished 9th and then had a woeful 2nd season this year.

Are Leeds any different to Reading and Sheffield United? We'll have to wait and see.

Verdict: Staying up would have meant success so to finish 9th is an excellent achievement

Fulham (18th)

When Fulham beat Liverpool in matchweek 28, it didn't come as a huge surprise. Fulham had been playing superb football at that point, defending well but lacking the cutting edge up front. Fulham's season can be split into 3. They started badly, couldn't defend and struggled to convert the chances coming their way. They then had a good patch in the middle - their defence tightened up, they dominated possession but still struggled to convert chances. Once they secured Josh Maja on loan, I expected their fortunes to change. It didn't. Fulham started making too many mistakes in defence again and any hope of staying up quickly evaporated.

image.png
Source

I'm disappointed Fulham couldn't do enough but unlike the Championship, if you make mistakes in defence, you get punished and this proved to be the case for Fulham. With their squad consisting of a lot of loan players, I don't expect a quick return to the top flight but they appear to have a decent manager in Scott Parker who could certainly prove me wrong.

Verdict: Disappointed

West Brom (19th)

Once Sam Allardyce replaced Slaven Bilic, you knew that Total Football wasn't going to be something the West Brom fans would be seeing this season. It looked a strange decision to replace Bilic after a hard fought draw against Man City but the West Brom board decided that Allardyce was the man to keep them up. They were wrong. What Allardyce did introduce though was a consistency the likes of which the Premier League has probably never seen before. He kept his team in 19th place for every game that he was in charge.

image.png
Source

One thing I'm fairly certain of is that West Brom fans won't miss Big Sam and whoever replaces him will be a more popular choice. Front runners appear to be ex-Sheffield United manager Chris Wilder and Lincoln's Michael Appleton, both of whom could do a decent job. Personally, I'd like to see Zinedine Zidane take charge.

Verdict: Disappointed


euro-banner-top.png

Fantasy Sports Euro 2020 Fantasy Football Contest is now open with a current Prize Fund of 200 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.

euro-banner-bottom.png


Euros Banner Images: source 1source 2 + lots of Photoshop

Sort:  

Hi @the-gorilla. I personally love the Premier League. As in other European leagues you see and feel the difference between the teams with more Euros, however in the Premier the "small" teams can dream and win.

As for your observations, I think Leeds in 9th place is an excellent result. It was in the top half of the table. I don't like their goalkeeper and I think it's a weakness of the team but you can also think that there are flaws in the defense.

I laughed when I read "Personally, I'd like to see Zinedine Zidane take charge".... Zizou is very astute and he is not going to manage an English team in the second division, hahaha.

however in the Premier the "small" teams can dream and win.

This is so true. Although there is little hope in finishing high up, Reading once finished 7th and I remember us beating Liverpool and especially West Ham (6-0). I often complain about the Premier League as a supporter of a small club but it does make these moments more special.

I don't like their goalkeeper

How mean 🤣 He's still only 21 so it's good experience for him and he should improve (he gets plenty of practise). I agree that their defence is a weakness and this could probably be blamed on their midfield too as they don't get enough protection. Which could be blamed on the high intensity when out of possession in chasing the ball so much.

I laughed when I read "Personally, I'd like to see Zinedine Zidane take charge"

I like to check that people are paying attention 🤣

I was happy to see Leeds stay up. Hopefully they can cement their place next season. They played a nice attacking brand of football.

I must confess to being conflicted. "We all hate Leeds s***" but you're right, I like their football now. But I dislike the way the-gorilla-in-law and his family keep switching between supporting Hull and Leeds. So I'd like to see them embarrassed and break Derby's record.

But I dislike the way the-gorilla-in-law and his family keep switching between supporting Hull and Leeds.

Ah here! You can't be doing that! But, regardless of team, I like to be able to appreciate good football, rugby etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63