Premier League Review || The "Big-6" (Part 1 - The North)

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago

What? An article that isn't about the Champions League final?! Are you crazy?!?! Perhaps. But I didn't watch it. So I'll write about what I've been thinking about writing about since 6pm last Sunday.


It feels like a lifetime ago that the Premier League season ended and it surprised me to discover that it's been a week. Just one week and I'm struggling to cope without my Fantasy Football.

It already feels like I'm late in sharing my thoughts on this season but I'm going to do it anyway by looking at each team and if I think they've had a successful season. When I initially thought about this, I decided that most teams will be disappointed but we'll see. So today, I start with "the big-6". That's Man Utd, Man City, Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal and Spurs - the teams that account for roughly 70% of all Premier League revenue. I had intended to cover all 6 in 1 article but I'm only part way through and it's getting a bit lengthy so I'm splitting it into "North" and "South".

big-6-north.png
Source 1License 1Source 2License 2Source 3License 3 + Lots of Photoshop

Manchester City (1st)

Where else do we start other than the champions, Man City. It's a long time ago now, but the season didn't start well for City and after the first 8 games, they found themselves 13th in the table. That's right, 13th. Who remembers this? And why should you? It was a catalyst for them to go 19 games unbeaten in the league and go on to run away with the title.

image.png
Source

My thoughts - As far as the Premier League goes, they've got to be happy. They managed to win the league by 12 points, utilising their entire squad (much to the annoyance of most FPL players) and helped the likes of John Stones, Ilkay Gundogan and Phil Foden to shine. It didn't feel like the total dominance of 2017/18 and there is at least 1 obvious problem that Guardiola will need to look at for next season (they need a decent striker). But the record books won't care, their 5th Premier League title.

Verdict: Successful but lacking some of the flair of previous title wins


Manchester United (2nd)

I think this is a difficult one to assess - a 2nd placed finish is fairly decent but I don't think it reflects the optimism going into the season. Man Utd finished last season strongly with Greenwood, Fernandes, Rashford and Martial in great form and there was talk of a title challenge. After 19 games, Man Utd briefly topped the table and that's when Fernandes seemed to run out of gas and Man City had the squad depth to ease home.

image.png
Source

My thoughts - Like I said, I'm undecided here. 2nd is an improvement on last season, finishing 8 points better off so it's progress and that's always a good thing. What's clear to me though is that Man Utd don't have the depth to cope with injuries or poor form and in my opinion don't have the defence required to seriously challenge for the league. Having said that, Luke Shaw was exceptional this season, defending superbly and offering an attacking threat. Similar to Man City, I believe they need a striker with Edinson Cavani unlikely to get through the 50 games required to challenge on all fronts. Greenwood has deputised reasonably well with Martial a player that does nothing but frustrate. I also don't think their centre backs are good enough. Maguire, Lindelof and Bailly don't have the air of premier league winners about them.

Verdict: Reasonably Successful but would have liked to pose a stronger title challenge


Liverpool (3rd)

If you'd have told me on the 8th March (the day after Liverpool's 1-0 defeat to Fulham) that Liverpool would finish 3rd, I'd have wondered how. Liverpool were languishing 8th in the Premier League and the idea that Klopp might lose his job was being taken seriously.

image.png
Source

They then went on a run of 8 wins in 10 Premier League matches to get themselves up to 3rd in the league and secure themselves Champions League football.

My thoughts - Only knowing their high intensity "gegenpress" style of football, the lack of a summer break was perhaps responsible for a lack of energy in many fixtures with Scott Parker's Fulham claiming "Liverpool weren't up for it". Injuries were blamed on a heavy schedule with Virgil van Dijk, Joe Gomez and Joel Matip in central defence all getting injured and could be considered unlucky. Their metronome in midfield, Jordan Henderson also getting injured damaged the spine of the team that had been so strong in winning the league last season. Salah, Mane and Firmino seemed to be shadows of their former selves and their brightest spark in my opinion was Diogo Jota.

Being reigning champions, they'd have hoped (and expected) to put up a better fight in defending it and I think we all expected the same. In the end, I think Liverpool will be happy that they got themselves into a Champions League spot but if you'd have told them at the beginning of the season that they'd be finishing 3rd, I don't think they'd have been too happy about it.

Verdict: Disappointed and would have expected a stronger title defence


euro-banner-top.png

Fantasy Sports Euro 2020 Fantasy Football Contest is now open with a current Prize Fund of 200 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.

euro-banner-bottom.png


Euros Banner Images: source 1source 2 + lots of Photoshop

Sort:  

I did watch but I wasn't really interested so I just watched the first half.
Looks like you were busy with the other "gorillas" I think.

the-mummy-gorilla and the-grandma-gorilla came to visit so we'd had a long day. If you only watched the 1st half, does that mean it wasn't very good?

It was very good. A lot of chances in the first half. I just had this personal issue so I just lost interest. But I watched the last minutes of the next half and I was glad Chelsea could win(only because of guys like Mount and Reece James; I feel they deserved it).

the-mummy-gorilla and the-grandma-gorilla came to visit so we'd had a long day

Hope you had a nice time??

And Reading, you were 7th this season??

I hope everything sorted itself out for you.

We had a lovely time, it's always nice to see them and for them to spend time with their grandchildren / great-grandchildren. It's about 2 hours drive to see each other which is a shame.

And Reading, you were 7th this season??

Yes - we needed to get promotion so I fear for what we need to do in the summer to "balance the books". We've spent too much in trying to get promoted and now we need to pay the penalty for failure. I think we have a tough few years ahead now.

We had a lovely time, it's always nice to see them and for them to spend time with their grandchildren / great-grandchildren.

That's great to know

Yes - we needed to get promotion so I fear for what we need to do in the summer to "balance the books". We've spent too much in trying to get promoted and now we need to pay the penalty for failure. I think we have a tough few years ahead now.

I think it's the same with United.

But I didn't watch it

Neither did I.. 😁😆

If you'd have told me on the 8th March (the day after Liverpool's 1-0 defeat to Fulham) that Liverpool would finish 3rd, I'd have wondered how.

That's the beauty of the Premier League isn't it? Absolutely unpredictable.

I prefer the league below - the Championship. Now that's unpredictable!

Do you follow the Championship as well?

I'm a Reading fan so have spent more time watching that than the Premier League. Supporting a small club in the Premier League is like me turning up to play in the IPL.

Yeah I remember you're a Reading FC enthusiast, I commented on one of your post some weeks back.

So this year's Christmas gonna be your 150th foundation day!!!!

Forgive me, I normally remember the comments I receive 😣

So this year's Christmas gonna be your 150th foundation day!!!!

I didn't know that!!!!! Very interesting indeed.

Btw m in your Euro fantasy league @the-gorilla. Do I need to comment elsewhere for confirmation?!

If you resteem the competition post and reply to that then I'll give you a thumbs up 👍

Forgive me,

That's ok brother. Not a big deal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47