Crystal Palace Sign Michael Olise From Reading

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago (edited)

image.png
Source + Photoshop (I couldn't find a royalty free image of Olise in a Palace shirt so I used the image from my previous article 🙂)


Back in March, I wrote an article titled "Remember the Name - Michael Olise" in which I wrote about an up and coming Reading player.

At the time, we (Reading) were chasing promotion to the Premier League and the hope was that he'd represent us in the top flight. But having missed out on the playoffs and our transfer embargo due to Financial Fair Play breaches, I expected us to have to sell. And with Olise being one of the few players to make the Championship Team of the Year and not gain promotion, his departure felt inevitable.

At the time of my article, he was being linked to Chelsea, Leeds, Wolves and Liverpool and I wrote:

At his age though, I'd like to see him stay with us for a couple more seasons until any move that he makes secures him a guaranteed 1st team spot. Too often we see young talents like this move on and disappear into the reserves, never truly flourishing again.

Transfermarkt had him valued at £10.8m at the time (they now have him at £13.5m) so the believed to be fee of £8m perhaps represents a bit of a bargain.

He has become Patrick Viera's 1st signing since taking charge and with Eze rumoured to miss the start of the season, Olise could find himself given an opportunity from the outset. If not, I don't think it will be long before he breaks into the Crystal Palace 1st team so as far as his choice of club goes, I think that he has chosen wisely and I wouldn't be surprised if this is a stepping stone to a bigger club.

Under Roy Hodgson, I'd have been concerned for Olise's future but under a more attacking manager in Viera, he could flourish - especially given the improvement we've seen in Wilfred Zaha since joining the Eagles.

Crystal Palace have a tough start to the season (Chelsea (h), Brentford (a), West Ham (a), Spurs (h), Liverpool (a)) so it's going to be sink or swim for Olise and I wish him luck!


image.png

Fantasy Sports Fantasy Premier League Contest is now open with a current Prize Fund of 300 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.

image.png

Sort:  

I just hope he plays well in these upcoming matches which look quite tough and I'm not really sure we will base on his performances in these early matches to rate him because like I said, they are tough matches. Brentford here looks like the weakest of the teams but a newly promoted team can be really lethal

I echo those thoughts. I'm expecting Brentford to have a good season - they're an attacking team and I think they'll be underestimated by opponents. Ivan Toney in particular could be devastating - much like Reading's 1st ever season in the Premier League when we finished 8th.

Yeah... I wish them well.
I wasn't really a fan of football during the Reading times, but I really want them to come back to the Premier League. 🙂

I don't know if I do 😆

😂😂😂

 3 years ago 

I think he will be of great help to palace the next season

I hope so. I think he needs to get stronger before he really shines in the Premier League but from what I've read, Crystal Palace already know that.

 3 years ago 

Sure they have that covered

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63