BEST XI CLASSIC: CONTEST ENTRY by @jehoshua-shey

in World Of Football ⚽4 years ago (edited)

Contest entry: My Best Retired XI


A lot of great players have graced the game of football that it's truly difficult to pick a best eleven. However, for the purpose of this contest, I'll stick to the BEST XI I would field to play any match were I given the opportunity.

Kindly note:

This is my own opinion and I'll try to explain as much as I can.

So, here they are...





I'm lining up with a 4-2-3-1 fluid formation. This is because I'll like to put up a dominating display in the middle as well as provide more bodies at the back in the case of needing to defend. More on my tactics later.

Here are my players.


Goalkeeper


1. Peter Schmeichel (Denmark) - Jersey no.1

Famed for his starfish saves, he was the backbone of the dominant Manchester United of the early premier league era. He stood between the stakes when united became the first English side to ever win a treble. He also captained united in the famous 1999 champions league final, putting up a man-of-the-match display. The great dane's commanding presence and goalkeeping skill all but secures your last line of defence. He'll wear my jersey no.1


Defenders


2. Roberto Carlos (Brazil) - Jersey no.3

Brazil is known for the kind of legendary players they've paraded on the football pitch. One of such legends is Roberto Carlos. His probably known mostly for his free kicks but he's also a very proficient left back. His successes at Real Madrid and brazil shows that he is indeed a great left back.


3. Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany) - Jersey no.5

When you have 2 ballon d'Ors and appear in bundesliga's team of the season for 12 consecutive seasons, then captain your national team to win a world cup, then may be you could be as good as Beckenbauer. He's absolutely the best defender the world has ever seen.


4. Ronald Koeman (Netherlands) - Jersey no.6

Let's pretend he didn't give Barcelona their first ever champions league trophy from a late direct free kick, this guy has scored 253 goals as a central defender. You win matches by goals and that's why Koeman has a place in my team.

5. Marcos Evangelista de Morais aka Cafu (Brazil) - Jersey no.2

It's not because I know him. This guy has the most caps for brazil, played in three consecutive world cup finals and won two. He was also brazils captain when they won in 2002. He also won the champions league in 2007 with A.C. Milan. If Cafu is not at my right back, it's because I'm not playing a right back.


6. Zinedine Zidane (France) - Jersey no.10

Zinedine Zidane is not only a spectular coach as you might have seen at madrid, he also has multiple ballon d'Ors to his name as well as a world cup, league titles and a Uefa champions league as a player. He was the best no.10 in the world when France won the world cup in 1998. His pattern of play makes him the perfect no.10 for my team.


7. Patrick Vieira (France) - Jersey no.4

Patrick Vieira was at the heart of Arsenal's engine room when they went invincible in the 2003-2004 English premier league season. His leadership qualities were brought to the fore when he help Arsenal lift their maiden premier league title. He was also part of the france team that won the world cup in 1998. His experience also saw him win seria A as well as Euro championships in 2000.


8. Ryan Giggs (Wales) - Jersey no.11

Ryan Giggs is one of the two players that haven't won a world cup in my team. But when you are the greatest player of the premier league era that have seen players like C. Ronaldo, Lampard and Steven Gerrard, you have a starting berth in my team. He has 12 premier league trophies more than any of either Arsenal, Chelsea or Man city. Only Liverpool has more top flight titles than Ryan Giggs.


9. Ronaldinho (Brazil) - Jersey no.8

When you talk about the beautiful of the game of football, if you keep talking, soon you'll definitely mention 'Ronaldinho'. He mesmerized both opponents and fans alike with his amazing dribbling skills. It is difficult to see an opposition fan who doesn't fancy Ronaldinho's display. He was an epitome of entertainment in football. He has trophies too. Uefa champions league and World cup inclusive. He's in my team for obvious reasons.


10. David Beckham (England) - Jersey no.7

Take a bow Beck, you're part of my team. If you are looking to send crosses into the box you'll need Beckham. He's got magic in his feet and he's also a galactico. One of the icons of Manchester United iconic no.7 shirt. He has no world cup but that takes nothing away from him. His goal against Paraguay in world cup 2006 clearly states what he can achieve on the grandest stage.


11. De Lima Ronaldo (Brazil) - Jersey no.9

De Lima Ronaldo is probably the best striker I've ever seen. He offers the full package. I don't want to talk about his world cup titles or his ballon d'Or or Fifa best player awards he won on three different occasion. He's in my team because I consider him the most complet striker to ever grace the game. He's got pace, power, technique, skill, name it. I pick him ahead of any other retiree any day.


So back to my tactics,

When in possession, the formation of my team changes to a 2-1-4-3 to foster a dominating attacking display.


lineup (2).png

When out of possession, the formation of my team changes to a 4-4-2 to foster a solid defensive display. I believe in defending in numbers, mounting two lines of four to compact the zone and make attacking difficult for the opponent while providing excess bodies to close down the opponents, giving them no breathing space in or around our danger area.


lineup (3).png


That's my retired best XI. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited)

What a top-tier team and a great choice of selection @jehoshua-shey. Very good writing as well.

You should visit here for more info on free images WHERE CAN I GET COPYRIGHT- FREE IMAGES FOR MY FOOTBALL POSTS?

Thank you for staying active in this community.

This post has been rewarded by @njaywan from @steemcurator04 Account with support from the Steem Community Curation Project." Keep sharing good content and follow @steemitblog for more updates.

You can learn more about better life with steem here.

An excellent proposal as a selection, Roberto would feel at home to have that huge lead.

Good presentation, my friend @jehoshua-shey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59